We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Georgian
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Albury
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Always good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have stayed here 3 times now, and always found the room well appointed and clean. The beds are comfortable, and you get a good nights sleep, which is great if your stopping on a long drive. I found the showers wonderful for a hotel, none of that small dribble you get at most places, but a hot full burst of water. The price is great for what you get. I have actually tried other hotels in Albury, and checked in and then checked straight out again. I am happy to recommend The Comfort Inn & Suites Georgian.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kittenb20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert D, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Georgian, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hi Kittenb20. Thank you for reviewing our property.
I agree that there is nothing greater than a good night’s sleep when you are on the road, particularly on a long journey. It makes all the difference. Our pillow-top mattresses are second-to-none. It is, after all, what we offer – a peaceful, comfortable, restful experience for all our esteemed guests.
I’m glad you mentioned the showers. It seems like a small detail, but how delightful is it to immerse yourself in a full, hot shower at the end of a long day’s travelling? All showers at the Georgian are strong, and we never run out of hot water.
I hope you had the opportunity during your stay to sample the delicious cuisine of our onsite restaurant, Rosina’s On Young – even just to find out what all the hype is about.
Thank you again for your positive comments. We look forward to welcoming you at the Georgian again soon.

Regards,
Robert Day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    70
    22
    2
    2
See reviews for
58
74
11
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edenderry
Level Contributor
146 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We were surprised to see steps everywhere - up to room, from Reception into Dining Room and then we had to step over a 10" tiled lintel into the shower.

The hotel was almost full so we had to take a family suite - this had a double room and a family room with 2queen beds and one single. There was one shower room which included the toilet. I'm just glad our room was not full to capacity!!

Beds comfortable and rooms spotlessly clean. The pillows have some kind of covering that acts like a balloon so that when you lie against them or put your head on them, they gradually deflate until they become a normal size. If you lift your head, or move, they seem to reflate and then deflate again on pressure. Very weird sensation and not one I've come across in any other hotel.

Double room had no window to the outside. Separate TV in double room and family room. (The TV in the double room lost its signal at 09.00 in the morning. It came back again after a bit of flicking, but it was odd)

Basic finishes in rooms - doors very plain and poorly finished. And for whatever reason, whenever people in other rooms used their showers, our room was very noisy. Using our own shower made no more noise in the bedroom than other people's showers.. So we were probably situated right beside the water services for the whole block. No chance we were going to oversleep or get to sleep too early.

Very thoughtful Receptionist included breakfast in the price of $165.00 per night. Breakfast finished at 09.30 which we thought very early - earlier than at any other hotel at which we've stayed. Albeit that we arrived in at 09.30, we were greeted very brusquely with the finish time being restated, as soon as we indicated that we were not having a cooked breakfast. The man advised he could give us 10 mins to serve ourselves before he cleared the buffet! The buffet was very bland - cornflakes, All Bran, rice crispies and muesli. Fruit: fresh and dried - apples, oranges and bananas; dried - apricots, dates and nuts. Juices were apple and orange. There was a good range of teas and I think only one coffee. The man did go some way to redeem himself somewhat when he offered us more orange juice before he removed it.

We found the hotel didn't have a great customer centered corporate culture. Very different from our experience in the Ibis in Canberra.

After our experience at The Comfort Inn and the meal at Albury Manor we didn't even bother going in to see the city and its sites but moved on to Beechworth instead.

If we come back we won't be using either of these establishments.

It was 100% better than anything on offer in Holbrook. So it was Ok but wouldn't be rushing back.

Room Tip: Don't take one on the corner of the block
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank contactcarmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert D, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Georgian, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hi contactcarmel. Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
I wasn’t quite sure, at first, just how to respond to your review, being so disproportionate to the majority of feedback we receive from our guests.
We always cordially welcome constructive comments, wherever warranted. Still, I struggle to see that much of your review is in any way constructive, as it is neither an accurate nor realistic representation of the Georgian.
There are a few specific points I’d like to address:
Firstly, I trust that you spoke to our reception staff regarding any grievances you had during your stay. We are staffed 24 hours a day to help you with whatever needs you may have.
After randomly coming in off the street, you made the conscious decision to stay, with full knowledge of what your options were.
The Georgian is an older building; hence there are certain things that are beyond our reasonable control, such as the plumbing layout, and stairs, etc. We have personally scrutinised each room, at all times of the day and night, and have spent a lot of time ensuring our guests have a quiet night’s sleep. We have attempted to recreate the noise you speak of, without success; which leaves me wondering in regard to the loud noises you speak of.
Usually downstairs rooms are available upon request, depending of course on availability. Most two-storey buildings feature stairs between the ground floor and second storey. It would be completely unfeasible to install an elevator for a one-storey rise.
As you mentioned, we were indeed quite busy the night you stayed, and a more suitable room was simply not available. Such fullness is testament to the popularity of the Georgian – a very rewarding aim that we have striven to attain over the past years, which I believe is self-evident. A motel does not become so popular by being bad at what they do.
Our focus is entirely guest-oriented. Everything we do is with our guests in mind, ensuring what is, for most, a very pleasant and comfortable stay. We are constantly improving, and building upon this solid foundation. A great deal of our guests are repeat corporate visitors. Considering that you were a walk-in guest, and not booked-in as a corporate guest, I’m left wondering how you can comment in regard to our corporate commitment.
All our comfortable, high-quality pillows feature water-resistant pillow protectors, to keep the pillows hygienic, sanitary, and in pristine condition.
In my experience, a 9:30am breakfast cut-off is not unusual, considering that many motels in Australia observe a 10am checkout. I was at reception to personally witness you coming in for breakfast at around 9:40am. Our chef handled the situation very professionally, and warmly welcomed you to partake in our extensive continental buffet. At the time you seemed quite happy with the service. If only you’d have voiced your disapproval at the time, instead of expressing it through an online review. It’s much easier for us to address it then and there, than after the fact.
On a side note, we actually offer three separate complimentary coffee options, and additional espresso for only $2.80 extra.
Unfortunately you were not able to treat yourself to a meal in our renowned onsite restaurant, Rosina’s On Young. The food is deliciously mouth-watering.
Also, you missed-out on experiencing the many splendid wonders of Albury, Wodonga, and the surrounding region.
It’s a strange irony that you had such an excellent experience at the Ibis Styles in Canberra, and not with the Comfort Inn & Suites Georgian. If online reviews are anything to go by, most guests tend to have the exact opposite experience.
We welcome all our guests with a smile, for we enjoy what we do, and we know that we provide quality service and accommodation.
As I’ve said, we genuinely appreciate you sharing your opinion. If I could offer some advice: a realistic approach, based upon facts rather than opinion, is far more conducive to helping other travellers make an informed decision.

Regards,
Robert Day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa queensland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed at the Comfort Inn & Suites Georgian last night, beautiful meal in their restaurant and wonderfully comfortable room. Highly recommend you stay next time in Albury. If planning a trip make this a definite to break your journey.

Marg

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 304margareth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert D, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Georgian, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hi 304margareth. Thank you for your splendid review.
We’re glad that you chose to stay with us, and enjoyed the comfort of the Georgian. Evidently the meal in Rosina’s On Young did not disappoint.
Albury is certainly a great town, and the Georgian is a fantastic accommodation option for a stopover.
We look forward to welcoming you again during your next stay.

Regards,
Robert Day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leumeah, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Very comfortable and clean!. Our 10th night on the road and one of the best motels we had stayed in. I was a bit worried it would be noisy as not far from the main road, but it was one of the best nights sleep I had had. Re the swimming pool comment below (I cannot delete it),we didn't try the outdoor spa but quite a few people were in it the night we stayed and seemed to be enjoying it! My only complaint would be the charge for WiFi (a lot of places on our trip were free or maximum of $5.00)

Room Tip: We were around the back on the top floor good quiet area - except you can hear the conversations fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nettee1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert D, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Georgian, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hi Nettee1711. Thank you for reviewing the Georgian.
I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you had a great night’s sleep. Our Crown pillow-top beds are, from personal experience, extremely comfortable. It’s difficult to not have an incredible rest on our beds.
Young Street surprises many people – one expects it to be noisy, being a major thoroughfare, but the traffic is really quite minimal after business hours.
Our above-ground heated outdoor spa is a big hit with many people, especially families with children. Often they get a little excited, but I guess it’s to be expected when they’re having fun.
There’s a fair bit of variety between motels in regard to WiFi charges. We charge, others don’t. It’s a small price to pay for quality accommodation.
Thank you again. We hope to be able to welcome you to the Georgian again soon.

Regards,
Robert Day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Vic. Australia
Level Contributor
461 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We were a group of four from one family and chose a townhouse, at the rear of the complex, for our accommodation. It comfortably housed the four of is and also had an extra sofa bed if required. The bedroom accommodation was extremely comfortable and very good value for money. One bedroom was upstairs, the other downstairs with a large bathroom, as ensuite, to the downstairs bedroom. It also contained a spa. The beds were very comfortable, as were the pillows and with good bed linen provided it made for a very peaceful nights sleep.

Room Tip: If in a group of more than two people, the rear townhouses are great and good value accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blossom55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert D, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Georgian, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hi Blossom55. Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
Our two-storey townhouse apartments are quite the hit with families, couples, and even solo travellers alike. I’m glad that they were a hit with you also. They are ideal for those looking for that little bit more than just a standard motel room, as they are almost like being in the comfort of your own home – a home away from home, I guess you could say. Also it is delightful to be able to slide into a hot spa at the end of a long day.
Our apartments are great for an overnight stay, and for those who choose to stay in Albury for several nights and explore the many wonderful delights that our region has to offer.
I do hope you took the opportunity to treat yourself to a meal in our onsite restaurant, Rosina’s On Young, while you were with us. There’s every reason why we proclaim the best steaks and lamb shanks on the border.
Do consider us again the next time you stop-over on the border. We will be glad to welcome you back.

Regards,
Robert Day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed only one night whilst in transit back to Canberra. We booked through a 3rd party to gain benefits but this made no difference in how we were treated. The welcome was delightful and the service continued to be excellent. Our room was in the older part (upstairs at the back) and was recently renovated. It was a large room with good bathroom facilities. Parking was off street but a bit tight due to the many clients staying on the same night. The restaurant is small and is nothing fancy. However the food is another story. Other reviews have praised the chef for his lamb shanks. His reputation is well deserved -they were fantastic! It's easily accessed off the Hume Freeway and close to the centre of town (Dean Street). We will certainly return when the opportunity presents.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petsaloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert D, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Georgian, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hi petsaloz. Thank you for reviewing our motel.
I must say it is very gratifying to know that one’s efforts are appreciated. At the Georgian our focus is on you, our guest. Everything we do is geared toward you having a wonderful stay with us. It’s a lasting experience that you can take away with you, and we feel that this is very important.
I’m very glad that you got the opportunity to sample the delights of Rosina’s On Young, and in particular the lamb shanks. It certainly is our star dish, and you now know why.
Thank you once again. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Regards,
Robert Day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We were a group of 4 at the end of a Sydney to Melbourne road trip and stayed for 1 night on a very hot January day. The 2 bedroom apartment was modern, well laid out and had all the we needed and the hot tub was a blessing after the long trip ! The downstairs bedroom had no airconditioning which was the only minor problem ( air conditioning unit was in the lounge next to the bedroom so would have been fine if slept with the bedroom door open I guess ? Also the 1 bathroom had a sliding door into the downstairs bedroom and lounge which is not very private for anyone in the downstairs bedroom. Despite some confusion over the room rate which turned out to cover costs for 2 even though we had selected 4 and chose a 2 bedroom room this we resolved by the manager and we enjoyed our stay. Shame the bar and restaurant were not open on a Sunday night but there was adequate dining options a very short walk away. Buffet breakfast was a nice extra include in our rate and would definately stay again !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alpenglow7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert D, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Georgian, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hi alpenglow7. Thank you for your review of the Georgian.
Summer can be a very trying time, especially when you’re travelling. It’s wonderful to have comfortable airconditioned accommodation waiting for you at the end of the day.
I’m glad I was able to resolve the room rate issue for you. We focus on ensuring that our guests have a pleasant and comfortable stay.
It’s a pity you didn’t have the opportunity to sample the fine cuisine of Rosina’s On Young. You would not have been disappointed.
The good news is that Rosina’s is now open 7 days a week, from 6 to 9 pm. The next time you stay, you’ll be able to sample the delights of our fine restaurant, on any day of the week.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Regards,
Robert Day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albury hotels
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn
0.7 mi away
Atura Albury
Atura Albury
#4 of 31 in Albury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
1.2 mi away
Albury Paddlesteamer
Albury Paddlesteamer
#7 of 31 in Albury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel on Olive
Quality Hotel on Olive
#9 of 31 in Albury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.0 mi away
Albury Manor House
Albury Manor House
#2 of 31 in Albury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quality Resort Siesta
Quality Resort Siesta
#3 of 31 in Albury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Georgian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Georgian

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites Georgian
Address: 599 Young St, Albury, New South Wales 2640, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Albury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Albury
#4 Business Hotel in Albury
#6 Luxury Hotel in Albury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Georgian 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albury's finest 4 star family and corporate accommodation - right in Albury's CBD! The Comfort Inn & Suites Georgian provides some of the largest, modern and most comfortable rooms in the region. This boutique Albury accommodation provider proudly specialises in corporate and family accommodation! All of the beautifully renovated, spacious rooms contain: 8 channel FOXTEL + all local digital channels on LARGE wall mounted 42inch plasma TV's. Wifi Access. Quality fixtures and furnishings. work desks. A number of easily accessible power outlets throughout the room. Brand new bathrooms with floor to ceiling tiles. Fully stocked mini bars. Two person sofa. Fully licensed on-site restaurant, and most importantly, the Georgians "signature feature" - the much revered, amazingly comfortable, custom designed PILLOW TOP BEDS - all immaculately dressed with crisp, fresh, quality triple sheeting. The Comfort Inn & Suites Georgian may essentially be a great motel for a quick stop over, however, a strong focus of the Georgian is maintained in consistently providing a memorable and pleasant experience, above and beyond guest's expectations. The Comfort Inn & Suites Georgian sets the standards for the rest to follow, then raises the bar! Truly genuine quality service, and premium comfort are guaranteed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Georgian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Albury
Albury Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Georgian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing