We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food - Eat in or Take Away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Indian Chimney

Indian Chimney
Reserve with
Indian Chimney is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 196 Restaurants in Albury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great food - Eat in or Take Away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2014

Since the Indian Chimney has opened it has become our favourite Indian restuarant in Albury. The food is equally good whether we eat in or take away. The manager is really friendly and the service is always good. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    103
    16
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Gambier, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Food & Fantastic Service!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

Used tripadvisor to find a restaurant near where we were staying (Rydges). This little place popped up. Weren't sure what to expect but all the the reviews were correct!! Absolutely brilliant meal and staff were so friendly! Will definitely go back

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KirstenW123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great service & Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

Four of us went there for an after movie meal . Its the 3rd time my wife and I have been there and again it was a faultless dining experience . The staff are fantastic - super friendly . The dishes were excellent - perhaps a bit small in quantity but extremely tasty.
We arrived at 8.30 last Saturday night , and hadn't booked so we were lucky to get a table . The place was busy and there was a great atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindz888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful meal to a wonderful journey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

We were passing through Albury on a trip to Syndey and we thought we'd search for a good restaurant on Urbanspoon. These guys had the highest rating of 95% of likes, so we thought, we won't go wrong with a visit to Indian Chimney. And it turns out, it was the best meal we had for the whole trip, on 20 August 2014.

First off, there was only one waiter in the rather large restaurant space. We were a family of six (four kids with a high chair), and he had two other tables to serve when we came in. Yet, he gave us personalised attention, was very patient in explaining the orders and the menu items, and gave us recommendations for the popular dishes.

We opted for the set meal, which was about $40 per pax, and the evening cost us only $80 (two adults), yet we had so much we had to take-away the leftovers. It included three large-sized entrees, four mains (the curries were just delightful), inclusive of three types of naan, saffron rice, two desserts, and coffee and tea. And did I say it was an eat-all-you-can meal? We could have order a second round of the mains at no extra charge, even with the children with us (kids were below 10 years)? The meal was ridiculously good value for money, yet in a restaurant that was sit-down and above average in setting. The entrees themselves filled half our tummies even before the mains came! And they were unique indeed.

The ingredients were quality, the seafood exceedingly fresh, and the cuts of meat were excellent. They even went out of the way to give us cheese naan because we had kids (not in the menu) and volunteered to give us slightly more on the curries (how generous can they get?). It did mean we didn't have to order a second round, but it also meant we could take away some of the wonderful meal to enjoy again the next day.

Later in the evening, he had three more tables to serve, and it did affect the waiting times a little, but not that it become too unpleasant or too long. We were tired after a long drive and patience was shorter in that respect, but the wait was reasonable in a rural city restaurant.

We finished off with two of their signature desserts, and had to take-away our hot drinks- two chai teas to hit the road with. He didn't charge us for taking-away the left overs and we left Albury with a very memorable experience. The waiter even recommended that we take a short drive up to the local Memorial on top of the hill to catch a view of the city at night- simply beautiful.

We will definitely be back when we pass through the area!

My only two regrets? That we didn't have a bigger stomach to enjoy the wonderful range of dishes, and I forgot to leave a tip for such excellent service and a memorable dining experience!

Thank you once again. Indian Chimney. You deserve TripAdvisors award year after year! :)

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Andre Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

Very pleasant and helpful staff and yummy food . Would love to visit again.Highly recommended for indian food lovers.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jigneshpatel78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Chimney also viewed

Albury, New South Wales
Albury, New South Wales
 
Albury, New South Wales
Albury, New South Wales
 
Albury, New South Wales
 

Been to Indian Chimney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing