We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Choose your heat”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Indian Chimney

Indian Chimney
Reserve with
Indian Chimney is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 198 Restaurants in Albury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne, Vic. Australia
Level Contributor
461 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Choose your heat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

One of the very good things here is that you can specify what degree of heat your require your curry, or other dish, to be. To the table it is delivered with the reassurance that you are not going to have any nasty (hot) surprises, unless that is what you requested.

Enjoyed another excellent meal here, somewhat better than I recall when being here previously. A most enjoyable meal of 1 samosa chaat, Lamb Kalmi Kebab, Palak Chicken, Aloo Palak and 2 garlic naan, accompanied by two beers and two glasses of house wine, $91 for two people. Too much food perhaps, but the flavours were excellent.

Service was most competent and efficient on this occasion. Highly recommended

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Blossom55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    105
    16
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food is great - wish there wasn't a TV!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

The food is consistently good at Indian Chimney and the service is usually pretty good. I wish they hadn't installed a TV in the restaurant though! Although watching Bollywood film clips is entertaining it's a little distracting and ruins the ambiance a little.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Albury-ite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Indian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

I've eaten at the Indian Chimney many time, but my last two experiences were superb once in a large group with friends in party hall and once with my friend. On both occasions the food was just as I'd hoped it was fantastic and the wine perfectly matched to it. I liked the service, food and the atmosphere.. the waiter did a grand job, food was marvelous and adequate in quantity... the wines that the waiter selected to pair with each meal was really awesome. All in all we had a very enjoyable dining experience and I'll definitely be going back and will share the experience with my friends.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gags B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beechworth, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“OK For Indian”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

I've eaten here a couple of times with my family and I have to say I'm not all that keen to rush back. The entrees are nice but the curries always leave me feeling bloated and slightly ill. Staff seem to be a bit anxious and tend to hover ... except when you want them.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelagh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not a bad curry in albury”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

Good quality Indian . Okay a bit customized for Australian tastes so not particularly spicy but as good as it gets outside the capitals

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank TRENT005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Chimney also viewed

Albury, New South Wales
Albury, New South Wales
 
Albury, New South Wales
Albury, New South Wales
 
Albury, New South Wales
 

Been to Indian Chimney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing