We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable & close to train”
Review of Clifton Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clifton Motel
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Albury
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We were desperate for a bed/shower after breaking down on the highway home to Ballarat. The lady who helped us was extremely friendly & helpful. Nothing was a trouble for her. Room was perfectly clean & very comfortable. Complimentary breakfast was great. The pub up the road had yummy value for money meals! We would highly recommend this motel & will definitely be staying there again!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank relphie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 153 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2011

So close to Albury Railway Station so didn't have to walk far which was such a blessing with all our family luggage!, and only a quick walk to the shops and restaurants. We were blown away with the super friendly and helpful staff and wonderfully clean rooms and digital tv!
This motel is an absolute bargain and we will DEFINATLEY be back soon!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

we arrived in Albury, got off the train and went to get a taxi to go to our motel. the taxi driver smiled and pointed about 200 metres down the road to the 'Clifton Motel' we could walk to it! we were greeted so warmly by the owners and given plently of options for entertainment and dinner. Our room was fabulous - a comfortable queen bed and aircon meant we had the best sleep in a long time - and the room was spotless! a 5 minute walk to the main shopping area and dining, we werer spoilt for choice. what value for money - thankyou Clifton Motel... we will be back!

Room Tip: The motel is in a great location therefore i believe all the rooms would be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 7travelbug7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

My brother in law and I called in to Albury as a stopover on the way to Melbourne. We were looking for something inexpensive that had off street parking. We booked the Clifton online for a Saturday night. When we first rolled up I didn't know what to expect. The accommodation is old-style motel. We were very pleasantly surprised. Although the room was small, it had everything we needed and was extremely clean and hygienic. It also had the latest mod cons like digital tv, air conditioning and a microwave oven. By comparison we also stayed at another hotel on Sunday night in Brunswick that was dearer, smaller and filthy. The staff at the Clifton were really nice and made us both feel at home. The Clifton is located very close to the CBD of Albury, a minutes walk from the train station, and 200m from the Railway Hotel (awesome food there). We were that impressed with the Clifton we called in and stayed the following Tuesday night on our way home again from Melbourne.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

The motel is walking distance form the train station and 10-15 mins walk to the main street of Albury, which makes the location quite handy. I juts could not believe my eyes when I first saw our room - it was tiny !!! And smelled of insect killer. The queen size bed pretty much filled up the entire room and left only enough room for one person to walk around to get to the bathroom. The motel was recently 'refurbished' which meant that they painted the tiles in the bathroom - yes, painted over with the wall paint that was used for the bathroom walls. It made the whole room look cheap. The light breakfast consisted of 2 slices of bread/head, small containers of butter and jams and a small box of cereal with milk in a jug delivered to the room the previous day/night. It was ptobably better than no breakfast but just...Next time I'll try another motel thats closer to the city center.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ancsi50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

I chose the Clifton Motel purely because of it's proximity to the Albury Railway Station and I am very glad I did.

This place is a gem! It's a small establishment but it's quiet, cosy, comfortable, professionally run and really good value. Good location too - on the edge of the CBD.

The rooms are small but contain everything they should, inc. queen size bed and flat screen TV and they are spotlessly clean - and I mean spotless!

It's no more than 3 stars and doesn't pretend to be... but it's probably the best 3 star motel I've ever stayed in. You even get a free light breakfast of cereal and toast.

Recommended

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PANTHER029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

I concur with the other posters. Good location good price would stay there again

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nekkro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albury hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn
0.9 mi away
Albury Paddlesteamer
Albury Paddlesteamer
#6 of 31 in Albury
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Garden Court Motel
Garden Court Motel
#10 of 31 in Albury
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Albury Burvale Motor Inn
0.6 mi away
Astor Hotel Motel
Astor Hotel Motel
#27 of 31 in Albury
93 reviews
0.5 mi away
Albury Manor House
Albury Manor House
#2 of 31 in Albury
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Motel

Address: 424 Smollett St, Albury, New South Wales 2640, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Albury
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Albury
Price Range: $61 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifton Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest Motel to Albury's Train & Bus Station. We offer afforable accommodation in the heart of Albury, best Priced family owned Boutique Motel in central Albury New Inverter Reverse cycle airconditioners Large 32in flat screen TVs with free 8 channel Austar. Free Wifi, Queen & king Beds.Walk to shops,Clubs, & Pubs! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Clifton Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing