We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nom, nom, nom”
Review of The White Horse

The White Horse
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Quorn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Traditional Country Pub set in the beautiful & historic village of Quorn serving a fresh produce menu throughout the day. Serving breakfast every Saturday and Sunday morning followed by a full menu and also a choice of 4 Sunday Roasts every Sunday.
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nom, nom, nom”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I visited this well-maintained pub late on a Sunday afternoon (5pm), having popped in earlier to book a table.
The bar was humming with the chatter of happy folk, many of whom had been out for a walk first.
A small selection of guest ales was available and all were well-kept.
All 'specials' were still available, despite the lateness in the afternoon - well done guys!
After a shortish wait, the food was served, piping hot and generously proportioned! Delicious creamy mash, roasties, carrots, parsnips, cauliflower cheese and peas to accompany your choice of roast.
The pub attracts the 'pubbing' set on a Friday and Saturday night, but for Sunday lunch it was much more relaxed and very pleasant.
Children are welcome (with well-behaved adults?!) but I don't think that the same could be said for dogs - apart from outside I suspect.
Food was good, honest fare, home-made and very tasty.
The standard menu sounded interesting and they do a breakfast menu too!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Well_travelled_99_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    97
    26
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great Sunday roast dinner”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Had a late Sunday lunch (3.30pm) here on our return journey home, still serving food, so had the roast and wasn't disappointed. I had the roast pork, and there was plenty if it. Good roasties (potatoes and parsnips), creamy mash with peas, carrots, broccoli and cauliflower (that's my five a day), all topped off with tasty gravy.

If your looking for somewhere to eat, if the Sunday roast is anything to go by, then this should be a good place to go.

Enjoy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Giles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Little lunch”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed at a local hotel near to the white horse. Popped in on a saturday afternoon for some lunch. Incredible value for money and superb food, presented well too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loughbourough
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We had lunch here on Monday and was very impresses. The lunch prices were reasonably priced, I had the fish and chips, two others had an omelet with chips and another had tagliatelle. We all enjoyed our meals. We will definitely be trying the Thursday evening steak special (2 steaks + a bottle of wine for £25) soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandyLoughbourough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“One of my favourite pubs”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This pub is great all around!!

If we go out for a drink in quorn this is always the pub of choice!!

On a Friday and Saturday night it is great for socialising- it has a brilliant atmosphere!

It is always rammed and they often have a band on.

The outdoor seating area is great, they have huge heaters and lots of places to sit.

It's a great night out if you don't want to go out into town... Loads of people, music and drinks!

I have also been there for food and it was delicious... They do gorgeous Sunday dinners and burgers stacked with onion rings.. Go!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pinkdunn92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Horse also viewed

Barrow Upon Soar, Loughborough
Quorn, Loughborough
 
Loughborough, Leicestershire
Mountsorrel, Leicestershire
 

Been to The White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing