We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent portions of wholesome pub grub - very good.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The White Horse

The White Horse
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Quorn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Traditional Country Pub set in the beautiful & historic village of Quorn serving a fresh produce menu throughout the day. Serving breakfast every Saturday and Sunday morning followed by a full menu and also a choice of 4 Sunday Roasts every Sunday.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
127 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Decent portions of wholesome pub grub - very good.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

The White Horse is a pub in the small village of Quorn. I visited mid-week and it was quite busy, indicating it's popularity at what is normally perceived to be a quieter time of the week.

I had a steak off the specials menu, which although was not quite medium as ordered - was very good all the same.

In the unlikely event I ever return to Quorn, I'd be happy to return to The White Horse.
Thanks very much for a pleasant experience.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dodgergammon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    95
    24
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“nice for a sunday lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

good value £8.95 for a sunday roast.. good choice, the mash potatoe was out of this world the rest was v.good!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Service and Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

Had a fantastic meal on steak night with friends the service is friendly and the food was excellent.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank patpitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Not our first visit, and once again it was excellent.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

We have been to The White Horse for Sunday lunch on several occasions in the past and it has always been good.
We have just returned from our most recent visit and once again it was excellent. My partner had braised beef and I had the roast turkey. Also on offer was roast pork and lamb, as well as the full menu which is available throughout the week. All roast Sunday lunches here come with a Yorkshire pudding which is a great start in my book. With the meals today was cauliflower, broccoli, whole baby carrots, peas, roast potato's, as well as mash, and with the turkey came stuffing.
The veg was served 'al dente' and the meat was tender and moist.

Sunday lunch is served midday until 6pm for £8.95 and the full menu looks very good, we are going to go and try that very soon (the version online must be an old one as the one we saw today was completely different).

This is an Everards pub but it also has a number of guest ales which change often as well as a good selection of lagers. The manager and staff are knowledgeable and helpful and the pub itself is clean, tidy and very traditional with low beams throughout.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_Smoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
188 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Brilliant and really helpful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

Six of us arrived late after a busy days business and the Manager at the The White Horse was really helpful and despite the late hour ensured we had a good table with excellent food.
Top Class

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Horse also viewed

Barrow Upon Soar, Loughborough
Quorn, Loughborough
 
Loughborough, Leicestershire
Loughborough, Leicestershire
 

Been to The White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing