We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dalmellington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dalmellington House
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We were on a cycling trip in the area and decided to stay here having seen recommendations on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. A gloriously luxurious bedroom and en suite and very reasonably priced. Kate and James were so helpful - it almost felt as if we were in our own home. We can thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Shower in Wallace Room best we have ever come across!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 30 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2014

We spent one night in May and were the only two guests at the hotel. We arrived at 1am after messing James around due to difficult travel conditions. He couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming.

The hotel feels like staying at a friend's house, being small and cosy. Rooms were quiet, clean, and a good temperature.

Food was excellent. Also the whole thing was remarkably cheap. We are planning to stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed one night here in May and had a wonderful stay. Arriving in the middle of the night we were immediately made to feel welcome and offered a pot of tea and a light supper. It seemed that nothing was too much trouble for James. The rooms were warm and comfortable. We left feeling full and happy after a full Scottish breakfast, with all the trimmings, in the homely dining room. I would highly recommend this hotel and would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tbonetalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We spent two nights here at the end of March and were delighted with Dalmellington House. Kate, the manager/housekeeper and James the chef were very friendly and welcoming. As the only two guests we got star treatment, with James discussing with us what we would like for dinner and providing us with a superb meal - we could get used to the idea of having a private chef! And Kate's breakfasts weren't half bad either....

Dalmellington House is set up primarily as a facility for carers to have some respite - (though anyone can book in) - and that sense of making guests feel special and cared for shines through. In a quiet way the place has a little bit of magic about it.

We stayed at Dalmellington House so that we could visit the Observatory in the Dark Skies Park nearby. The weather was appalling so we didn't see any stars, but the talk and discussion with the enthusiastic staff and volunteers was wonderful - inspiring and humbling.

While Dalmellington itself isn't a picture postcard-y sort of place, Dalmellington House, the Observatory and the amazingly beautiful countryside nearby makes it worth a visit. Go there and be enchanted - maybe you'll even see some stars.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMANDEE2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We spent Saturday night here as a surprise for our friend's birthday it was the most amazing night ever. The food was excellent the service was outstanding + James + Kate couldn't have done anymore for us. The house is fabulous + we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCOTTISHHORNYGIRLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed one night and was delighted with the hotel and the room. Comfortable, friendly and a lovely atmosphere. Would stay there again and advise anyone visiting the area to do so too.
We were visiting the Observatory just outside almellington and as the weather was filthy it was lovely to come back to a warm welcoming house. The staff could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I had a lovely afternoon in the dining room of Dalmellington House recently. The food was exquisite and the service exemplary. I was also able to have coffee after lunch relaxing in the very classy and cosy lounge area. While I was only there as a lunch guest I had the opportunity to see around the bedrooms - all of different design mixing contemporary with classic styles. Very chic. The Hotel is small and they really give you the personal touch. This would be a great venue for a private family get together for a special anniversary or birthday or even a team away day. I can't wait for my next visit!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ML442013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dalmellington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalmellington House

Address: 32 Main Street, Dalmellington KA6 7QL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > East Ayrshire > Dalmellington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dalmellington
Price Range: $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dalmellington House is an elegant five-bedroom townhouse with private gardens situated in the small Ayrshire village of Dalmellington. Recently refurbished to a very high standard, the house and all of its facilities are available to rent throughout the year, giving you the opportunity to explore some of Scotland's most breath-taking scenery across the seasons.Owned by the Princess Royal Trust East Ayrshire Carers Centre, this luxurious house lives up to the high standards that the trust has to offer: charm, character, courtesy and care.Rooted in the centre of Dalmellington, the house is perfectly placed to explore the Ayrshire countryside, and is near the famous Galloway Forest, Loch Doon, historic Blairquhan Castle, and the ancient town of Ayr.Our staff is fully committed to your needs, working happily to ensure that you get the holiday you want, whether that means finding you the nearest nature walk or simply arranging a day of total relaxation within the hotel itself.We offer a personalised menu, prepared by our in-house chef and featuring the best of local produce, which can be prepared to suit your daily schedule. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing