We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fabulous night away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tuddenham Mill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tuddenham Mill
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tuddenham
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous night away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

I stayed here with my husband in March for one night arriving on Friday. It was our first night away together since we had our daughter three years ago. We wanted somewhere fairly close by to us in Essex.

We stayed in a water meadow room. The room was fabulous. With great views out onto the meadow. It was a bit too cold to take advantage of the fabulous bifold doors and sit out on the patio but I can imagine it would be great in summer. There was a bottle of prosecco on arrival and some yummy handmade biscuits. The shower was cold and it never got fixed during our stay but I didn't mind too much as I took advantage of the fabulous and huge bath. My husband was offered the shower next door which he utilised. TM did however offer us a drink each at dinner as compensation. Dinner was very good and the waiting staff very friendly and informative. We had a drink in the bar my husband was fascinated with the machinery on display. We got our third choice DVD on the way back to the room and watched that later in the evening. While we out lots of tea light candles had been placed around the bath and a bath run which was lovely gesture but I had already had my bath earlier in the evening.

TM is very small there was only 3/4 other couples staying at the same time out of 10 rooms in total. We choose the early diners menu and was the first in the restaurant at 645pm. But it never really got full or very atmospheric.

We were quite pushed for time and had to leave at 9am the next morning after a hearty breakfast I would definitely like to go back when we get a chance and enjoy it more leisurely.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissMini53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    151
    48
    11
    11
See reviews for
49
465
2
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
229 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed 3 nights with our small dog and as a well travelled dog she enjoyed her stay, dog biscuits & bowls in the room and she was able to join us for breakfast & dinner set up in the bar.
Staff were very friendly and the hotel had la nice atmosphere, lovely grounds and places to sit outside.
We had a water meadow room which is great with a dog as she was able to wander when she needed.
The quality of the food was good but we did have an issue with our dinner but the hotel has apologised and rectified.
Would stay again and recommend.

Room Tip: Water meadow room great with a dog, spacious with all mod cons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a weekend at Tuddenham Mill. They advertise themselves as being "Dog Friendly" and we could not believe how friendly it was. Our room was huge with enormous patio doors that opened to a small decked area that then led on to a beautiful meadow, perfect for our 2 dogs. They left dog bowls and dog treats in the room and also offered to check on our dogs and let them out for a walk whilst we were out at a party one evening. The rooms are very luxurious with a variety of tea's, coffee, orange juice and fresh milk, all complimentary. The rooms have a fridge, safe, DVD player, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. We are experienced travellers and have stayed in many hotels, very few are as accommodating as this one. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Arriving in the room, there is relaxing music to welcome you. The room was a great size with a lovely view and a host of hi-tech gadgets. The bathroom uses quality sanitary ware and a good selection of toiletries. However there was nowhere to put any items due to the lack of a surround to the basin or a shelf.
I chose to dine onsite and was very disappointed. The portions were outrageously small and had to fill myself up on bread rolls. Luckily breakfast was not so pretentious.
I would definitely stay here again, but would opt to dine elsewhere, especially if I'm feeling hungry.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
165 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed in the loft room south, fabulous room very romantic, dined in the restaurant had the tasting menus, the staff were very knowledgable about the meal it's ingredients how it was cooked great wine to accompany the meal , service wasn't rushed allowing us to enjoy every course. Breakfast was good, might have a bit more generous with the eggs and sausage but I'm sure if I had asked it wouldn't have been a problem. We also had afternoon tea which was very good, loved the salted caramel. We will be back

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank varney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights in water meadow room,spacious and nice attention to detail. Good menu really lovely food and service. Have looked around other rooms and coming back to stay in loft south room...at Christmas. Great value,chilled and dvds lots of choice.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Angelarose16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flackwell Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

Stayed only one night at this hotel en route to somewhere else but would definitely go back. We were upgraded to a loft suite which was stunning. They even provided a telescope to view the wildlife. Fresh milk, orange juice, biscuits and sloe gin all in the room provided a lovely touch.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and a special thank you to Cheryl who arranged for one of their lovely Missoni Bath robes to be sent to me for my husbands 60th birthday.

Room Tip: Loft suites are at the back and quite quiet. The rooms in the main building may be a bit noisy as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KLW39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tuddenham
18.0 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
7.0 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel
Bedford Lodge Hotel
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Bull Inn
The Bull Inn
#1 of 2 in Barton Mills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Ickworth Hotel
The Ickworth Hotel
#1 of 2 in Horringer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
2.2 mi away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mildenhall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuddenham Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuddenham Mill

Property: Tuddenham Mill
Address: High Street, Tuddenham IP28 6SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Tuddenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tuddenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tuddenham Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Tuddenham Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tuddenham Mill Newmarket
Tuddenham Mill Hotel Newmarket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing