We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Perfect for a Romantic Weekend.”
Review of Tuddenham Mill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tuddenham Mill
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tuddenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2014

A real pleasure to review a hotel in the UK that understands what makes the difference and then delivers. The mill has been re-furbished to a very high standard, a wonderful mixture of old and new.

I chose a loft suite which is highly recommended. The room was spacious, well appointed, tastefully decorated and with a beautiful stone bath and a delightful real flame fire that made it feel really cosy in the evenings. There are lots of simple little things to delight , fresh milk, and orange juice in the fridge, a little decanter of Sloe Gin, home-made biscuits. These wonderful touches certainly put a smile on the face of this jaded traveller that has grown so weary of hotel life and demands something more.

Over the three nights of our stay we ate in on two occasions as the food was excellent. Inventive, well presented but with flavour at the top of the list. The wine list had some interesting alternatives and the tasting menu with wine flight was competitively priced. Breakfast was also superb and freshly cooked.

The service at the Mill was also a pleasant change, polite, efficient and friendly with well trained local staff. Although there was no Sommelier as such, the young lady tasked with that role was passionate, knowledgable and did a good job in describing the wine pairings for the tasting menu, which is highly recommended.

The reception staff were all very helpful and took great delight in colluding with me to arrange a surprise for my partner. Top tip for the guys… Organize a 'Romantic Turndown Service' as a surprise for the lady in your life… You won't be disappointed !!!

All in all, we had a memorable long weekend at Tuddenham Mill, and have no hesitation in confirming that we will be back … and soon.

Room Tip: Loft Room North has excellent views over the meadows and even comes with a telescope.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (720)
There are newer reviews for Tuddenham Mill
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

387 - 393 of 720 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed at Tuddenham Mill for a third time this weekend, as it's close to home but with enough distance to feel like you're really 'getting away'. As before the hotel was immaculate, the staff were excellent and the room was absolutely beautiful, and finished to a very high, modern standard.

So many little touches enhance the experience, specifically the care and attention to your first impression of your room i.e. the delicious biscuits you receive in your room on arrival (made in the kitchen), the freshly squeezed orange juice in the fridge, and the 'chilled' music playing on the stereo. The bathroom accessories, bedding, and general cleanliness are also top-notch. Extra plus point for the Netflix/ Apple TV integration.

We visited the restaurant again, and were excited to read that a new Head Chef had recently taken the reins - the food was delicious and gorgeously presented, as it always has been. If you're looking for a quick getaway with a gorgeous room, relaxed ambience and delicious food, then book Tuddenham Mill.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

What a truly fantastic hotel. Beautiful rooms attentive but not overwhelming service and a fabulous restaurant. We only stayed for 1 night but this hotel ticked all the boxes for us, it was the little touches that made the difference fresh milk and juice in the mini bar little brownies and cakes in the room on arrival. The food was just stunning and really good portions unlike some places we have visited. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel for a luxurious treat.

Room Tip: We had a meadow view room which is one of the cheaper rooms, it had a beautiful view and lovely litt...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 69monster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Last night stayed at sister hotel which we have visited three times, this was our first visit to The Mill.

Our booking in with Jasmine, who also showed us how everything worked in the room was excellent, she also had sorted flowers and champagne for our 30th anniversary from my sister in law.

We booked the Loft South room and wow what a gorgeous room. Although the furthest room from the road there is still noise at night but this did not spoil our visit. The room was stunning with a huge bath in the main room, and a lovely lounge area complete with contemporary remote controlled fire. Lovely big shower, very comfy bed and all spotless. Great dressing area, fridge with milk, water and orange juice, and a good choice of teas. The bar and restaurant areas are very chic and the food and service is of a very high standard. Hannah, who was very friendly and professional had good knowledge of the menu and wine list.

Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Book the Loft South room, stunning.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed for a two night break in the mill stream room. Room was lovely and bathroom was amazing. Only criticism was the native life which wanted to try and get in every time we opened the bi fold doors. I suppose that the down side of being next to the river.

The restaurant was in the main building, and the food was superb.

Staff were so friendly and could do enough to make your stay as pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo_anne2627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We were absolutely delighted by the location, standard of service and quality of food at this small country village location for a wedding. We used the terrace room for a party of 21. It was the ideal location for us. Initially laid out for the ceremony with two registrars, we retired to exclusive use of the bar, whilst it was laid up for the wedding breakfast. In both cases all seats were positioned and labelled exactly as we asked.

We had a wonderful day at Tuddenham Mill for our son's wedding. Everything was done professionally and discretely and was so efficiently organised, by Hannah and her team. Nothing was too much trouble and even the smallest details were not forgotten. The terrace room was beautifully set up and worked superbly for our small intimate wedding. The food was excellent, delicious and temptingly presented. We cannot fault Tuddenham on our special day and highly recommend it. Thank you Tuddenham for making it such a memorable day. I am sure our son and fantastic daughter-in-law will have many happy memories of their day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

This was a last minute break to escape the city and to recover after a busy few weeks at work, for me and my fiancée. We think our stay would fall under the "special occasion" category - so on a day to day basis we wouldn't spend quite so much on accommodation.

First impressions were very good - an impressive rustic setting - which looked idyllic in the afternoon sunshine. Our room - the Mill West Room - was spotlessly clean, with a very comfortable bed, large bathroom (big bath and a big shower) and fridge/ TV etc. The room is decorated in a modern yet rustic style. The room overlooks the mill pond - which was a lovely view to wake up to. There were lots of little touches in the room, for example, fresh milk and orange juice in the fridge.

We ate at the restaurant on the Friday evening - the food was excellent and easily some of the best I have enjoyed over recent years. There is an extensive wine list, which should cater for all tastes. We enjoyed a bottle of Austrian Red Merlot, and both the lamb and the pigeon were cooked to perfection (just watch out for the shot in the pigeon, which is to be expected). The wine was excellent, but we felt that the corkage was a little excessive - but this small gripe should not detract from an excellent meal - it really was some of the finest food I have enjoyed in recent years. The breakfast (served in the dining room) was equally impressive - a simple selection of hot and cold options - but very well done. The 2 breakfasts we enjoyed kept us going all day - wonderful sausage, bacon and mushrooms!

Finally, some comments on the staff and the service we received. From the moment we walked into reception until we checked-out, the staff were very friendly and accommodating without being intrusive. It would be wrong to single out any one member of staff, but each and every one we met exhibited a genuine desire to make our stay more comfortable and enjoyable. Based upon our 2 night/ 3 day stay, I think the Tuddenham Mill has an excellent team - from back of house through to front of house.

In summary, we had a wonderful break and we want to go back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil45_and_Tara35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tuddenham
18.0 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
7.0 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
913 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,150 reviews
2.2 mi away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mildenhall
311 reviews
7.4 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuddenham Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuddenham Mill

Address: High Street, Tuddenham IP28 6SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Tuddenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tuddenham
Price Range: $182 - $482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tuddenham Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tuddenham Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tuddenham Mill Newmarket
Tuddenham Mill Hotel Newmarket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing