We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic weekend”
Review of Tuddenham Mill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tuddenham Mill
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tuddenham
Certificate of Excellence
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic weekend”
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in loft west room which was just beautiful. Attention to detail was superb, the sloe gin in front of the fire was such a treat. Dvd's available, delicious choc brownies ( small but delicious). Food was delicious and perfect portions and the staff were really friendly and helpful throughout our stay. We will be back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireMC987123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    157
    55
    14
    12
See reviews for
52
512
3
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel, staffed with friendly and helpful people. We stayed in a Water Meadow room, which is in a single-storey building a short walk away from the main mill building (with reception, bar, restaurant, etc.). The room itself was large and nicely furnished, with a small verandah with some patio furniture and a scenic view through the large glass doors. The bath tub was roomy, as was the powerful shower. On arrival, there was a bottle of Prosecco in the fridge, along with complimentary fresh milk, orange juice and water. While out to dinner, the bed was turned down with rose petals strewn across the floor and bedding, while tea lights were set along the edge of the bath... lovely touches.

However, dinner in the restaurant was slightly disappointing. Presentation and service were both excellent, as were the ingredients, but many of the courses lacked the sparkling flavours and the panache that one might expect at this level and price point. Others have complained about the sizes of the dishes, but the richness of the components meant that we did feel full over the course of the evening. A local Suffolk Pinot Noir was a punchy accompaniment, and worth a try. There is a shortage of other dining options nearby, so you may wish to consider dining before arriving, or add in a drive or cab to Cambridge to your plans.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank StarAllianceGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Stayed here as a couple for one night and had a very enjoyable stay.
Lovely surroundings, nice decor and enjoyed the peace and quiet. Breakfast was a little disappointing as there was not much of it but it was ok. Restaurant and Bar - very nice!! Would stay again but would go through laterooms as we or 50%off at last minute!

Room Tip: Book through laterooms as we got 50% off!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed for a night to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Loved the room. Great decor and really inspiring setting with superb views over the water meadows and the river, and a balcony to take our drinks on. It helped that the weather was good, but being able to use the telescope to look across the fields and see the little deer grazing at dusk was quite memorable. Meals were very unusual, exciting and delicious. Great to be served with food that is so exquisitely prepared and so outside the norm. My only slight criticism is that my partner, who does a physical job and thus eats a lot, struggled to get enough volume of food without it costing us a small fortune. Pricey, yes, but for us it was worth the money.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs room and the view was gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed at Tuddenham Mill for two nights and had a very nice stay. The mill itself is beautiful as is the surrounding countryside. We stayed in a Water Meadow room, and the view was just lovely from the patio. The bedrooms are fitted nicely, but the bathrooms in particular could do with a refresh as are looking a little tired which the price does not reflect. Drinks in the bar were great, as was the fantastic tasting menu. Breakfast was also great, good local produce.

A great boutique hotel, but overpriced for what you get in terms of room + facilities. I would return if the rooms were revamped, and/or it was 10-20% cheaper, that to me would be the right value for money.

Room Tip: The loft suites were great, but pricey. The water meadow rooms have a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CateTravels78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

On arrival, was given a disabled room! Mirrors too low for my husband to shave! We were moved to another room when we asked. All rooms appear to be in need of a makeover. Toiletries such as cotton buds etc not individually packaged. Crack in the bathroom sink. Food ok, cold at times, but nothing really spectacular. Breakfast we felt could have been more relaxed, we prefer to help ourselves, but we had to ask for every individual item, we prefer breakfast to be more relaxed, but this again was classed like formal dining. On the plus side, the staff were absolutely lovely, nothing was too much trouble, they were all extremely pleasant and greeted you with warmth.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woods174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Chose Tuddenham for our minimoon. Welcome was a little frosty but improved over the coming days. Stayed in one of the lodge suites and for the price we expected to be wowed. It was ok and when asked the staff were incredibly swift and helpful but you had to ask. For over £300 a night we had expected far more ie stocked bar in the suite etc. little extras that make you feel totally pampered. The room however was lovely and turn down service always restocked everything and even noticed that my partner had been using a blanket (he suffers from bad neck pain) as an extra pillow and so gave us more pillows. The food was good but somewhat limited menu. Feel the experience did not live up to the marketing and far over priced for what this is. Have stayed in hotels just as nice for £100 less a night. The staff however were lovely and very discrete. We enjoyed our stay but felt we paid far over the odds for what we got.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonkeyLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam D, General Manager at Tuddenham Mill, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Firstly congratulations to you both and I am delighted you found the team lovely and discrete.

I am sorry that you feel you paid over the odds for one of our loft rooms. The loft rooms all come with a lovely seating area with an individual gas fire which our other rooms don’t currently have. All our mini fridges come with fresh milk and orange juice in them and we have Sloe Gin in the rooms available complimentary. If any other drinks are required we are more than happy to deliver them directly from the bar so that the correct garnishes associated with the drinks can accompany. Our restaurant menu changed this week and we now offer a wider selection of dishes in the restaurant. I can assure you all your feedback is taking very seriously and discussed with the whole team.

I hope to welcome you back to Tuddenham in the future and ask that you contact me personally so that I can make all the appropriate arrangements for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tuddenham
18.0 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
7.0 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel
Bedford Lodge Hotel
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Bull Inn
The Bull Inn
#1 of 2 in Barton Mills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
2.2 mi away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mildenhall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
6.5 mi away
Newmarket Boutique Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuddenham Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuddenham Mill

Property: Tuddenham Mill
Address: High Street, Tuddenham IP28 6SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Tuddenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tuddenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tuddenham Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Tuddenham Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tuddenham Mill Newmarket
Tuddenham Mill Hotel Newmarket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing