We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed our one night stay”
Review of Tuddenham Mill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tuddenham Mill
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tuddenham
Certificate of Excellence
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed our one night stay”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

My husband and I booked a Sunday night rate in a loft room. I had chosen this based on the majority of good reviews.

Arrival and first impressions:
Lovely setting and easy to find. The welcome was relaxed yet professional and friendly. We were shown to our room (Loft Room West) and left to settle in. I was a little worried about being given a loft room which faced the car park after reading some reviews.The West Loft room does partially face onto the overflow but we were not disturbed by any car park noise. You do hear cars going passed on the main road but again this didn't disturb us and is hardly a fault of the hotel!

There were complimentary teas, coffees, milk, Orange juice and homemade goodies. Delicious. Also a small decanter of slow gin which was a nice touch.

The room was bright and spacious and just perfect for a cosy romantic night in. Lovely and warm with a modern fire place for a cold Winters evening.

There are tiny details which could have been paid some attention such as cracks in the paint in the room, tiny touch up of plastering around the fixtures (like bathroom sink taps), flickering fridge light, bathroom mirror not working, noisy bathroom ventilation fan, kettle had lime scale. But these, i felt, are tiny remarks and most certainly didn't affect our experience at the Tuddenham Mill. The room was clean and well laid out with beautiful views across the fields and a nice level of privacy. There are a choice of pillows available and extra quilts if needed.

Dinner in the main restaurant
We were undecided on going for a la carte of the tasting menu as we had had a rather large lunch before arriving to the hotel. We decided to go for a la carte in the end. We each had 3 courses and drinks. The total came to under £100. We both really enjoyed the food and service which came with a canapé and an amuse bouche. We did feel the main meal portion was ever so slightly on the small side but saying that we have paid a lot more for smaller portions in some high end restaurants - so again, a very tiny complaint. We enjoyed the meal so much that we wished we did go for the tasting menu in the end and most certainly will when we return.

We felt the flavours and ingredients of our meals were on par, if not better, than some Michelin starred restaurants we have been to in London. I was particularly blown away by my desert (a de-constructed egg custard tart). I always feel very let down when a desert is not on par with the rest of the meal but i was most certainly not disappointed here.

Breakfast
I felt there was a good variety of choice available for cold and hot breakfast - i started with a honey glazed pink grapefruit then we both opted for the full English. I didn't particularly enjoy the hard crispy streaks of bacon but the rest of the breakfast was delicious.

If the weather was not so windy and wet we would have loved to have taken a couple of bicycles, free to hire from the hotel, out around the local are before we checked out.

Check out was a breeze and we were given a goody bag to take home - another nice little surprise!

All in all we had a great stay and will most certainly love to return again. Thank you to all at the Tuddenham Mill. Most highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luci L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    160
    56
    15
    13
See reviews for
55
516
3
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
136 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

They really live up to their tag line - urban chic.
Here's the good and what could be better….
Rooms - big, spacious, so comfortable, lots of amenities (we stayed in Mill Stream)
Staff - very friendly but lacked experience. Most questions couldn't be answered straight away but they always looked into it and responded.
Free bicycles to borrow, fully kitted out. Very impressed.
Lovely grounds but as mentioned by others, it is right on the road so a bit distracting whilst dining and glad our room was in the separate building where we couldn't hear anything.
Great food, very creative although small portions as previously mentioned for the price charged. Local attractions - We went to Wyken Hall which has a farmer's market, restaurant and store. Also highly recommended is the National Trust's Anglesey Abbey 20 min away with lovely gardens to explore even in the winter.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank American-in-LondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Having read mostly good reviews on Trip Advisor and Mr & Mrs Smith, we booked a one night weekend stay at Tuddenham Mill in a loft suite. The room was lovely - spacious, light and beautifully designed. However, our weekend was a completely underwhelming experience. There is no heart to the hotel as only three of the fifteen rooms are actually in the mill house, which sadly is situated on a busy and noisy road. The others, including the most expensive loft suites, are situated in a modern chalet (where you can still hear traffic) on the other side of the car park, necessitating a walk in the rain (in our case) to get to dinner. The restaurant lacked character and the furnishings were cheap given the prices. The only vegetarian main course consisted of three potatoes with some leeks and cost over £20! Service was generally not memorable. My breakfast was served cold and when I asked for it to be redone, it came back clearly microwaved so that the fried eggs ressembled plastic fried eggs and were inedible. Less than twenty four hours later and £550 poorer, we were very happy to return home. This is the first time for us that a Mr & Mrs Smith hotel recommendation has not been successful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 101ROD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam D, General Manager at Tuddenham Mill, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
I am sorry that you found your stay at Tuddenham an underwhelming experience but was pleased to read that your loft room was lovely, spacious, light and beautifully designed.

We are aware that sometimes guests have to walk from outside rooms to the mill when it is raining and this is why we ensure all rooms have umbrellas in them.

It was with disappointment that I read your comments surrounding breakfast as this is often one of the last points of contact we have with our guests. I have passed on your feedback to our head chef but can assure you that we don’t have a microwave in our kitchen so your breakfast was definitely not re-heated.

I do hope that you return in the future and ask that you contact me directly to make all the necessary arrangements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I took my boyfriend to Tuddenham Mill this weekend as a birthday treat...he surprised me by proposing while we there and so he left my fiance!
I had booked on a dine and recline voucher which entitled us to £40 per person to spend on food in the restaurant. We stayed in the Loft Suite West, which is a fantastic room with beautiful views of fields. The room itself is huge with an open plan living area, a bath big enough for two and a super king bed in the main area. Then there is a dressing room area and bathroom with rain shower.
On arrival there are home made treats such as shortbread and brownies and a bottle of sloe gin for you to enjoy.

We ate in the restaurant which is voted number 50 on the Waitrose Good Food Guide top 50 restaurants...an accolade it very much deserves. We sat in the bar and had a drink whilst looking at the menu and enjoying some canapes. We then ordered and were taken through to the restaurant. The food was delicious, I really couldn't fault it. The staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
Breakfast the next morning was just as good!
Thanks for a lovely and very memorable stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Really enjoyed my trip to Tuddenham mill. Had one of the loft rooms and a deal including dinner, which was also yummy. Especially liked the turning down of the beds etc to come home to after dinner. Would definitely return,

Room Tip: loft suites are lovely & worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tess181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

My girlfriend took me to Tuddenham Mill as a birthday surprise and what a surprise it was! We stayed in the best room in the mill itself, the Mill Room. The room was spacious with the character of old beams yet had modern amenities. The massive bed was so comfortable with goose down pillows that are like fluffy marshmallows. There are plenty of nice touches such as a decanter of sloe gin, home made brownies and short bread, freshly squeezed orange juice and sparkling water. The sunset from the room was amazing! The food in the restaurant was a well presented culinary experience, just really great food. All of the staff are very attentive and friendly. We will be back for our anniversary.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Arrived Saturday to warm and friendly welcome. Shown to our room. Wow

The views were stunning.
The bed so comfortable. Soft fluffy towels warm robes my favourite elemis bath and hair products.

The attention to every detail was 200% .
Complimentary drinks in the fridge really 'posh' tea bags.

The food was amazing especially the parsnip cake and ice crush .

The staff were friendly and so helpful without being pushy or in your face.

We had a wonderful time and the Suffolk sunsets are incredible.

Thank you so much

Denise and Steve

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppydrops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tuddenham
18.0 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
7.0 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
871 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
The Ickworth Hotel
The Ickworth Hotel
#1 of 2 in Horringer
643 reviews
7.4 mi away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
203 reviews
20.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuddenham Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuddenham Mill

Property: Tuddenham Mill
Address: High Street, Tuddenham IP28 6SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Tuddenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tuddenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tuddenham Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Tuddenham Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tuddenham Mill Newmarket
Tuddenham Mill Hotel Newmarket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing