We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing, serene and Top Class” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adelaide Hills Country Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Adelaide Hills Country Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Balhannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
125 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Relaxing, serene and Top Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at "The Nest" and it was undoubtedly the best accommodation we have ever stayed. Just about everything was taken care for, breakfast provisions to prepare your own hot or cold meal, bowl of fruit, orange juice, real milk and including farm eggs. There was restful music playing as we arrived. The place was better than our own home in terms of comfort, beautiful cushions, throw rugs, vases of flowers, etc. and the. Panoramic views!!! We could see for twenty Kim's over the most serene country fields. While we ate our delicious breakfast the bird life we watched the most amazing bird life and a cow came to scratch itself on our "own yard" fence post. The whole stay, We never felt the need to turn on the TV! We will definitely be returning to try out each of the other 4 cottages!

Room Tip: Go mid week and it is super good value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandi28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveAdcock, Owner at Adelaide Hills Country Cottages, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Hi Sandra,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a fabulous review of your stay at Adelaide Hills Country Cottages. Isn't "The Nest" just stunning with its 20km views, even from the spa bath.
We are so glad that you and Frank thoroughly enjoyed your stay and wanted for nothing. We are definitely looking forward to welcoming you back next time you are in SA.
Kind regards Steve & Mandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    9
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
76
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

We recently stayed at the AHCC for the fourth time, and each time we come to visit it makes us want to return again. The moment the car turns into Oakwood Road we start to relax. We stayed in the Villa, as we did last year for a family wedding. From strolling around the garden, to sitting outside in the sun and curling up by the fire, this is by far one of the most relaxing places we have ever stayed. The breakfast provided each day was fantastic, more than enough for both of us.
Thank you Mandy and Steve (again) for your wonderful hospitality, and we look forward to returning once again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieMc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveAdcock, Owner at Adelaide Hills Country Cottages, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear Susie,
It was fabulous to again have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Adelaide Hills Country Cottages and in particular to have you return to The Villa for your recent holiday.
We loved reading how you made the most of your time in and around The Villa, enjoyed the established garden and the open fire.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay in The Villa, and yes, it is such a relaxing place we have created here, isn't it.
We can't wait to welcome you back soon for your 5th stay.
Kind regards,
Steve & Mandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

We have visited cottages on several occasions both celebratory and as an escape from the grind of our busy suburban lives. We first stayed in the Nest and have also enjoyed both the Villa and Lavender Fields. We have always been impressed by the attention to detail provided within these cottages but none more so than the serenity and privacy offered by the surrounds of each of them – they are each so private and intimate.

The view from the veranda on one soft misty morning across the grounds at Lavender Fields is a memory that will live with us both for a long time, an experience not enjoyed in our usual ‘suburbia’. The space and decor offered by the Villa is second to none and good country food in a clean well-stocked pantry is offered freely being enjoyed and appreciated by us both. We obviously have a favourite in the Nest – “our nest” and have returned there again and again, still greeted by the sound of soft welcoming music, a well laid out platter and an enjoyable decanter of port for the late evening. It was wonderful too to experience once again the opportunity of a log fire, just for our special occasion.

The attracted birdlife to the feeding areas close to the windows was both memorable and moving - another welcoming aspect provided at the cottage. All in all, proprietors, Steve and Mandy Adcock deserve the accolades and awards given for perfection, homely comforts and attention to fine detail. Next time we'll possibly stay at Apple Tree Cottage as each time we have wanted to go there in the past it has been booked. Even at our age we are still looking forward to a row on the lake. T and J.

Room Tip: For a romantic getaway the Nest is cosy, intimate and decidedly welcoming. The Villa and Lavender Fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveAdcock, Owner at Adelaide Hills Country Cottages, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear T & J,
What can we say but WOW, what a glowing review.

We are delighted that you appreciate the attention to detail that we go to and the little touches together with the privacy and serenity hat we believe set us apart and ensure your stay is wonderfully relaxing.

Where else can you walk for kilometers and still not leave the property this close to Adelaide and while doing so, pick apples in season for sustinance from the orchard and lemons all year round to put in drinks or enjoy with seafood.

It had better be Apple Tree Cottage next time then, so you can go for that romantic row in the boat, possibly while your wife enjoys (from memory) the Bird in Hand Sparking Pinot as you take her for a row around the lake.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you for your review.

Kind regards,
Steve & Mandy Adcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

How much you like Adelaide Hills Country Cottages seems to depend on which cottage you stay in. We stayed one night at the Villa after our other accommodation was double booked and at $295 a night thought it was a bit expensive. The Villa is set in a lovely location but is pretty much a previously renovated 1970's house. It does smell of the open fire and the decor is dated but we still had a nice time enjoying the huge amount of space.

Full breakfast provisions were supplied but a suggestion would be to test the eggs are still ok before you crack them as 2 were rotten in our case. I think this is because they were directly from the farm rather than being too old. Also the shower over the spa is not the best and awkward to get the temperature right.

These things aside, the bed was comfortable and it was lovely to watch the sun set over the hills.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leelou28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveAdcock, Owner at Adelaide Hills Country Cottages, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Dear Leelou28,
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at Adelaide Hills Country Cottages and in particular at "The Villa" on the 3rd & 4th of March 2012.

We are delighted you returned for another stay and had a lovely time enjoyed the feeling of space and do hope you had a chance to walk around our stunning property and pick some apples from the orchard or lemons from the groves.

Just for the record. I would just like to clarify that it wasn't with Adelaide Hills Country Cottages that you were double booked but with another accommodation provider.

I just wished you had mentioned to us during your stay about the trouble with two of the eight eggs so that we could have tracked this down to the source. We go to great lengths to write a date on every egg to ensure that our guests receive the freshest possible produce, so this comes as a surprise to us and we are sincerely apologetic.

We are seeking expert advice on the fireplace as most of the time it is absolutely fine, however on occasions, even though we just had the chimney routinely swept just two weeks before your stay, a smoky smell can be present. As nice as the open fire is, we are next week getting quotes on installing a glass fronted log fire.

Each of our 5 retreats are truly unique and special with each offering a different experience. We have so much great feedback from our guests who stay in The Villa, as from each of our 5 stunning retreats.

Leelou28, we guarantee that our guests have a fabulous stay with us and we stand by that promise.

We are sorry The Villa didn't meet all your expectations so we'll be emailing you next week a Gift Voucher, valid for 12 months, towards your next stay at Adelaide Hills Country Cottages. If you are not able to use it yourself please feel fee to give it to someone who can take advantage of it.

Thank you once again for your feedback, we are looking forward to welcoming you and your husband back very soon.

Kind regards,
Steve Adcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in OZ
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

We have just returned to WA from a short holiday in SA. We had booked 2 nights in the beautiful Lavender Fields with it's French provincial feel and fell in love with the entire property to the point that we lost our money on accommodation booked elsewhere in order to return to AHCC. This time we spent 2 nights at Apple Tree Cottage. They are totally different properties and it's almost impossible to choose which one we preferred. Both are in idyllic, serene settings and both capitalize on the environment and the beauty of nature. Lavender Fields is more up market but Apple Tree Cottage has such superb views and a wonderful rural feel. It was so wonderful to wake to ducks landing on the lake from one view and just in a turn of the head see cows chewing the cud outside our gate. it was fantastic to wander through the orchard and pick crisp red apples and munch on wild blackberries.The attention to detail in both cottages is fantastic and there is food in abundance. Both properties make it difficult to leave and the warmth of our welcome simply added to the overall charm. Long to be back there already. Jayne and Gordon

Room Tip: If you are staying at Apple Tree Cottage you willl need to remember that the toilet and bathroom are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beentheredonethat8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveAdcock, Owner at Adelaide Hills Country Cottages, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Hi Jayne and Gordon,

Wow, now that's a testimonial, foregoing accommodation you had already paid for so you could stay longer. Two nights just isn't enough :)

Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay at both Lavender Fields and then Apple Tree Cottage. Even though they are both quite different experiences, I love the way you put it... "Both are in idyllic, serene settings and both capitalize on the environment and the beauty of nature."

We are definitely looking forward to welcoming you back next time you visit South Australia..

Kind regards,
Steve, Mandy & Di
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed in the Villa for two nights and it was very dsappointing. The setting for the Villa is wonderful but that is where it stops. On opening the door we were overwhelmed by the stale smell of the open fire. It premeated the whole room and even opening the windows could not disapate it. The weather was exremely hot but the aircon did not work effectively so we sweltered for two days. The whole place looks and feels tired and in much need of renovation.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 49scorpio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveAdcock, Owner at Adelaide Hills Country Cottages, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Dear 49scorpio,
Thank you for your feed back about your stay in The Villa. Sorry for the delay in responding as I missed the notification.

Yes you are right, the weather was very hot at that time but we are disappointed that we weren't told straight away that you were having trouble with the ducted reverse cycle air conditioning so that we could check that it was set correctly or if in fact there was a problem could get it seen to immediately, there was certainly no need to swelter for two days.

This is the first feedback we have received about the a/c not coping with the heat but I will investigate this further.

We are looking into the intermittent smoky smell from the fireplace with an expert coming to look at it this week and it looks probable we will install a glass fronted log fire rather than the open fire.

Again 49scorpio, thank you for your feedback, we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Steve Adcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
200 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

We have stayed in Gum Tree Cottage, Apple Tree Cottage and Lavender Fields Cottage but must find the time to spend a few nights at The Villa and The Nest to complete the package. Ten years ago we all spent Christmas at the Gum Tree Cottage and my girls still talk about it! This year my daughter stayed at Lavender Fields so we went to visit and they are still as perfect as ever. The location, so convenient, the gardens, just enchanting and the cottages have everything you could need and Steve and Mandy kept on giving more yummy local produce for your breakfast supplies. We spent most of the day gazing out the window into a nest of three tiny wrens who were constantly being fed by mummy wren and the dashing blue daddy wren! My grand-daughters were enchanted with mother nature and it is such a perfectly peaceful haven to recover from the hustle and bustle of Christmas.

Room Tip: all cottages are excellent but my favorite would be Lavender Fields.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lollygobbleblissbom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveAdcock, Owner at Adelaide Hills Country Cottages, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Dear lollygobbleblissbom,
What a delightful story, thank you for sharing it.

It was truly a pleasure to have you stay with us once again with you daughter, who had previously stayed as a child, and now returning with her own family.

As you know we have an abundance of bird-life around each of our retreats so how very special it was to watch nature at it's best watching the feeding of the three little blue wrens. Only a couple of months ago we had a mother Koala carrying her baby on here back across the lawn at The Nest and our guests staying at the time caught that on their camera.

We are looking forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon.
Kind regards,
Steve, Mandy & Di
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balhannah
6.9 mi away
Mount Lofty House - MGallery by Sofitel
3.6 mi away
Amble at Hahndorf
Amble at Hahndorf
#1 of 4 in Hahndorf
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Manna of Hahndorf
The Manna of Hahndorf
#2 of 5 in Hahndorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hahndorf Resort Tourist Park
5.2 mi away
The Retreat at Stirling
The Retreat at Stirling
#3 of 4 in Stirling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
5.8 mi away
Cladich Pavilions Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaide Hills Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Hills Country Cottages

Property: Adelaide Hills Country Cottages
Address: 229 Oakwood Rd, Balhannah, South Australia 5242, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide Hills > Balhannah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Balhannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adelaide Hills Country Cottages 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Adelaide Hills Country Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing