We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of Paradice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Adelaide Hills Country Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Balhannah B&B and Inns
Aussie in OZ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A touch of Paradice”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We have just returned to WA from a short holiday in SA. We had booked 2 nights in the beautiful Lavender Fields with it's French provincial feel and fell in love with the entire property to the point that we lost our money on accommodation booked elsewhere in order to return to AHCC. This time we spent 2 nights at Apple Tree Cottage. They are totally different properties and it's almost impossible to choose which one we preferred. Both are in idyllic, serene settings and both capitalize on the environment and the beauty of nature. Lavender Fields is more up market but Apple Tree Cottage has such superb views and a wonderful rural feel. It was so wonderful to wake to ducks landing on the lake from one view and just in a turn of the head see cows chewing the cud outside our gate. it was fantastic to wander through the orchard and pick crisp red apples and munch on wild blackberries.The attention to detail in both cottages is fantastic and there is food in abundance. Both properties make it difficult to leave and the warmth of our welcome simply added to the overall charm. Long to be back there already. Jayne and Gordon

Room Tip: If you are staying at Apple Tree Cottage you willl need to remember that the toilet and bathroom are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beentheredonethat8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveAdcock, Owner at Adelaide Hills Country Cottages, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Hi Jayne and Gordon,

Wow, now that's a testimonial, foregoing accommodation you had already paid for so you could stay longer. Two nights just isn't enough :)

Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay at both Lavender Fields and then Apple Tree Cottage. Even though they are both quite different experiences, I love the way you put it... "Both are in idyllic, serene settings and both capitalize on the environment and the beauty of nature."

We are definitely looking forward to welcoming you back next time you visit South Australia..

Kind regards,
Steve, Mandy & Di
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    9
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
77
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed in the Villa for two nights and it was very dsappointing. The setting for the Villa is wonderful but that is where it stops. On opening the door we were overwhelmed by the stale smell of the open fire. It premeated the whole room and even opening the windows could not disapate it. The weather was exremely hot but the aircon did not work effectively so we sweltered for two days. The whole place looks and feels tired and in much need of renovation.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 49scorpio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveAdcock, Owner at Adelaide Hills Country Cottages, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Dear 49scorpio,
Thank you for your feed back about your stay in The Villa. Sorry for the delay in responding as I missed the notification.

Yes you are right, the weather was very hot at that time but we are disappointed that we weren't told straight away that you were having trouble with the ducted reverse cycle air conditioning so that we could check that it was set correctly or if in fact there was a problem could get it seen to immediately, there was certainly no need to swelter for two days.

This is the first feedback we have received about the a/c not coping with the heat but I will investigate this further.

We are looking into the intermittent smoky smell from the fireplace with an expert coming to look at it this week and it looks probable we will install a glass fronted log fire rather than the open fire.

Again 49scorpio, thank you for your feedback, we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Steve Adcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
231 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We have stayed in Gum Tree Cottage, Apple Tree Cottage and Lavender Fields Cottage but must find the time to spend a few nights at The Villa and The Nest to complete the package. Ten years ago we all spent Christmas at the Gum Tree Cottage and my girls still talk about it! This year my daughter stayed at Lavender Fields so we went to visit and they are still as perfect as ever. The location, so convenient, the gardens, just enchanting and the cottages have everything you could need and Steve and Mandy kept on giving more yummy local produce for your breakfast supplies. We spent most of the day gazing out the window into a nest of three tiny wrens who were constantly being fed by mummy wren and the dashing blue daddy wren! My grand-daughters were enchanted with mother nature and it is such a perfectly peaceful haven to recover from the hustle and bustle of Christmas.

Room Tip: all cottages are excellent but my favorite would be Lavender Fields.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lollygobbleblissbom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveAdcock, Owner at Adelaide Hills Country Cottages, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Dear lollygobbleblissbom,
What a delightful story, thank you for sharing it.

It was truly a pleasure to have you stay with us once again with you daughter, who had previously stayed as a child, and now returning with her own family.

As you know we have an abundance of bird-life around each of our retreats so how very special it was to watch nature at it's best watching the feeding of the three little blue wrens. Only a couple of months ago we had a mother Koala carrying her baby on here back across the lawn at The Nest and our guests staying at the time caught that on their camera.

We are looking forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon.
Kind regards,
Steve, Mandy & Di
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Delightful cottage - we stayed at Gum Tree Cottage for 1 week - sublime, perfect situation and as we are bird watchers - what a treat to wake to the dawn chorus from Rosella's, Honeyeaters and Fair-wrens tapping on the kitchen window. Ideal cottage for a couple and very private, with glorious views over the countryside.

As previous reports have stated - EVERYTHING is provided. Attention to detail is exceptional, and Di (manager) is very professional & friendly.

As we had no car - it was only a 30 minute walk to Balhannah for any supplies we needed. However, with the amount of food provided for breakfast we didn 't need to buy much extra for our evening meals.

The decanter of Port & chocolates was a lovely touch, and well appreciated. We would certainly stay again and would highly recommend a stay at these wonderful cottages.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hargrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveAdcock, Owner at Adelaide Hills Country Cottages, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for your beautiful words in your review.
The bird life is indeed stunning.
We would lot ego have the opportunity of welcome you back , or your family and friends to this beautiful part of the Adelaide Hills.
Kind regards,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stayed at the Gum Tree Cottage w/ our almost 2yr old son and let's just say it was heaven on earth. The cottage was perfect for what we wanted. Two bedrooms. Double spa bath. Excellent kitchen facilities (no oven though). They had thought of everything! There were even chocolates for us and a decanter of port. Firewood was all cut and ready for burning. It was perfectly located for exploring the wine country and coming back to sit on the front porch and enjoying a glass of wine. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TxAg04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveAdcock, Owner at Adelaide Hills Country Cottages, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
We also think this place is "Paradise in the Hills!"
We are very privileged to have so many guests constantly remind us just how lovely our property and it's surroundings are.
If you have another opportunity to return to Australia, we would love to welcome you and your family back. If not we'd love you to tell all your friends about us so that we can offer them the same incredible experience.
Kind regards,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2011

My husband and I have stayed at Lavender Fields cottage several times now and it is by far our favourite place to relax and unwind. The owners are always warm and welcoming, then leave you alone to give you total privacy. The location is stunning, the cottage is romantic and gorgeous. Secluded, quiet, very private and yet so close to the city, smaller townships and tourist attractions. We love the open fire, private gardens, beautiful walks and attention to detail. We always feel relaxed and refreshed after staying here and say every time that we'd love to buy a place just the same! The cottage is so comfortable, clean and everything you need provided - music, DVD's, books, magazines and ample breakfast provisions. (There is only one thing we would suggest as an improvement and that would be to replace the queen bed with a king - perfect!) We usually stay for at least two nights but always wish we could stay longer - I guess that's why we keep returning again and again. We have also stayed at The Villa - once again, a lovely cottage but not as private as Lavender Fields (as The Nest is very close by) and have stayed at Apple Tree Cottage with our 3 children - which is lovely also - great for the kids as it can accommodate up to 5 and has beautiful gardens, lake and open space surrounding it. Overall, we love staying here (and will continue to do so) and can not recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank loveholidays020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveAdcock, Owner at Adelaide Hills Country Cottages, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for your glowing report and for taking the time to write a review.

Lavender Fields have been completely renovated and is now called "Lavender Fields Luxury". One of many the many upgrades and improvements is actually a King Size bed in the main bedroom. Some others include Bose Audio, twin showers and vanity in the Ensuite, Two-Person spa bath in the other bathroom as well as a brand new kitchen with all euro appliances including Coffee Machine.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Steve & Mandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2010

We stayed 2 nights and truly wished we'd stayed our whole long long weekend there. If you are planning a trip to the hills, spend the "extra bit" and make this your home. Everything is pretty close and you can plan your days.
You'll be tempted just to "hang around the house" though!
The owners are lovely. They leave you alone. The 2 of us stayed in Gum Tree Cottage. What a treat! The little touches they put into the place, are just so nice.
We came away from there, thinking we wanted to build our own home in the same style.
Truly, it will make you feel like you have left your hectic lifestyle behind. Just give it 3 nights

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anumanum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balhannah
6.6 mi away
Mount Lofty House - MGallery by Sofitel
13.3 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
982 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Manna of Hahndorf
The Manna of Hahndorf
#1 of 5 in Hahndorf
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Longview Vineyard
Longview Vineyard
#1 of 2 in Macclesfield
52 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Retreat at Stirling
The Retreat at Stirling
#3 of 4 in Stirling
34 reviews
3.8 mi away
Amble at Hahndorf
Amble at Hahndorf
#1 of 4 in Hahndorf
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaide Hills Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Hills Country Cottages

Property: Adelaide Hills Country Cottages
Address: 229 Oakwood Rd, Balhannah, South Australia 5242, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide Hills > Balhannah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Balhannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adelaide Hills Country Cottages 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adelaide Hills Country Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing