We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Idyllic - Paradise found!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Adelaide Hills Country Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Balhannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Idyllic - Paradise found!”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Delightful cottage - we stayed at Gum Tree Cottage for 1 week - sublime, perfect situation and as we are bird watchers - what a treat to wake to the dawn chorus from Rosella's, Honeyeaters and Fair-wrens tapping on the kitchen window. Ideal cottage for a couple and very private, with glorious views over the countryside.

As previous reports have stated - EVERYTHING is provided. Attention to detail is exceptional, and Di (manager) is very professional & friendly.

As we had no car - it was only a 30 minute walk to Balhannah for any supplies we needed. However, with the amount of food provided for breakfast we didn 't need to buy much extra for our evening meals.

The decanter of Port & chocolates was a lovely touch, and well appreciated. We would certainly stay again and would highly recommend a stay at these wonderful cottages.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hargrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveAdcock, Owner at Adelaide Hills Country Cottages, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for your beautiful words in your review.
The bird life is indeed stunning.
We would lot ego have the opportunity of welcome you back , or your family and friends to this beautiful part of the Adelaide Hills.
Kind regards,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    9
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
77
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stayed at the Gum Tree Cottage w/ our almost 2yr old son and let's just say it was heaven on earth. The cottage was perfect for what we wanted. Two bedrooms. Double spa bath. Excellent kitchen facilities (no oven though). They had thought of everything! There were even chocolates for us and a decanter of port. Firewood was all cut and ready for burning. It was perfectly located for exploring the wine country and coming back to sit on the front porch and enjoying a glass of wine. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TxAg04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveAdcock, Owner at Adelaide Hills Country Cottages, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
We also think this place is "Paradise in the Hills!"
We are very privileged to have so many guests constantly remind us just how lovely our property and it's surroundings are.
If you have another opportunity to return to Australia, we would love to welcome you and your family back. If not we'd love you to tell all your friends about us so that we can offer them the same incredible experience.
Kind regards,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2011

My husband and I have stayed at Lavender Fields cottage several times now and it is by far our favourite place to relax and unwind. The owners are always warm and welcoming, then leave you alone to give you total privacy. The location is stunning, the cottage is romantic and gorgeous. Secluded, quiet, very private and yet so close to the city, smaller townships and tourist attractions. We love the open fire, private gardens, beautiful walks and attention to detail. We always feel relaxed and refreshed after staying here and say every time that we'd love to buy a place just the same! The cottage is so comfortable, clean and everything you need provided - music, DVD's, books, magazines and ample breakfast provisions. (There is only one thing we would suggest as an improvement and that would be to replace the queen bed with a king - perfect!) We usually stay for at least two nights but always wish we could stay longer - I guess that's why we keep returning again and again. We have also stayed at The Villa - once again, a lovely cottage but not as private as Lavender Fields (as The Nest is very close by) and have stayed at Apple Tree Cottage with our 3 children - which is lovely also - great for the kids as it can accommodate up to 5 and has beautiful gardens, lake and open space surrounding it. Overall, we love staying here (and will continue to do so) and can not recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank loveholidays020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveAdcock, Owner at Adelaide Hills Country Cottages, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for your glowing report and for taking the time to write a review.

Lavender Fields have been completely renovated and is now called "Lavender Fields Luxury". One of many the many upgrades and improvements is actually a King Size bed in the main bedroom. Some others include Bose Audio, twin showers and vanity in the Ensuite, Two-Person spa bath in the other bathroom as well as a brand new kitchen with all euro appliances including Coffee Machine.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Steve & Mandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2010

We stayed 2 nights and truly wished we'd stayed our whole long long weekend there. If you are planning a trip to the hills, spend the "extra bit" and make this your home. Everything is pretty close and you can plan your days.
You'll be tempted just to "hang around the house" though!
The owners are lovely. They leave you alone. The 2 of us stayed in Gum Tree Cottage. What a treat! The little touches they put into the place, are just so nice.
We came away from there, thinking we wanted to build our own home in the same style.
Truly, it will make you feel like you have left your hectic lifestyle behind. Just give it 3 nights

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anumanum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2010

I stayed at AHCC for 4 nights with my hubby on our 10 day holiday to Australia and while we loved Sydney and Perth, Adelaide was easily our favorite all because of the awesome stay we had at AHCC. It was like staying in a dreamhouse, we stayed 2 nights at the Gumtree cottage and then 2 nights at The Nest. I loved the walk in the apple orchards and the picnic, waking up to beautiful country views with birds chirping and cows grazing...
The cottage is so tastefully decorated and you have everything that you could ask for, it was awesome... would love to go there again and again... We felt the price was just right for Gumtree but a bit too steep for The Nest, having said that we still enjoyed both :)

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuchiBallal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2009

My mom and I stayed in the Lavender Fields cottage for 4 nights after spending a month travelling around Australia. It was the perfect place to relax and get away from city life for awhile! Everything we needed was waiting for us upon our arrival (the hosts even asked us prior to our arrival what kind of juice we like to drink in the mornings so they could have it there for us). It was great to be able to walk around the property (which is huge!) during the day and relax by the fireplace at night (they even provide instructions on how to build the perfect fire)! There is also a lot to do even on rainy days, as there are movies, books and games provided in the cottage, so you'll never be bored. The cottages are in the perfect location, being close to Hahndorf and not that far from the city of Adelaide and the scenery is beautiful. Overall, it was the best place we have had the privilege to stay so far and we would highly recommend it to those looking to get away from it all!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ontario64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2009

We chose Lavender Fields for 6 nights so we could relax if we needed to after 5 weeks travelling in NZ and Australia. It turned out to be an excellent choice. The cottage was very comfortable with all mod cons, even though it is furnished in 19th century French country cottage style - lots of distressed pine furniture and rather dark. I have never stayed in such a well equipped place - there was even a picnic hamper, thermoses and a picnic rug. The only thing that was lacking was loungers/deck chairs for the garden, but there were several benches.
The breakfast provisions are extremely generous. We actually had enough to use for 2 evening meals in addition to breakfast.
The best thing was the garden, which is huge and beautifully kept. There are great expanses of grass, kept green by watering 3 times a week, and superb trees, shrubs and plantings of agapanthus and lavender. The trees are full of birds, with a bird book provided for identification. Just sitting out in the sunshine or retreating into the shade.was blissful.
There is also a lot to do in the area. Several of the surrounding small towns are very attractive, there are nearby wineries and Adelaide itself is easily reached by bus if you don't want to worry about expensive parking. We also spent a day in the Barossa valley which was very interesting.
I'd go back any time.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lawd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balhannah
6.6 mi away
Mount Lofty House - MGallery by Sofitel
13.3 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
857 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Amble at Hahndorf
Amble at Hahndorf
#1 of 4 in Hahndorf
282 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Manna of Hahndorf
The Manna of Hahndorf
#2 of 5 in Hahndorf
346 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Retreat at Stirling
The Retreat at Stirling
#3 of 4 in Stirling
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaide Hills Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Hills Country Cottages

Property: Adelaide Hills Country Cottages
Address: 229 Oakwood Rd, Balhannah, South Australia 5242, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide Hills > Balhannah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Balhannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adelaide Hills Country Cottages 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adelaide Hills Country Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing