We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FA 18 Super Hornet!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fighter World

Fighter World
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Located just 20 mins drive north of Newcastle, adjacent to the entrance to RAAF Base Williamtown at Newcastle Airport, Fighter World is a totally ‘hands on’ experience. Exhibited in two hangars, visitors can walk-around, touch and look into the cockpits of such iconic aircraft as the Mirage III, the Avon Sabre, the Gloster Meteor, the first Vampire jet built in Australia and the mighty F-111C. Conveniently located adjacent to the main hangar, Cafe Fighter World offers a range of snacks and light meals as well as cold beverages and steaming hot espresso coffee and of course free WiFi means you can stay abreast of what’s happening at home. Stay cosy inside or venture outdoors to enjoy all the noise and action of an operational Air Force Base. The choice is yours. Make sure before you leave you visit the Fighter World Shop where you’ll find a wide range of books, souvenirs and models available. Fighter World is disable friendly and open every day (except Christmas Day) from 10am to 4pm.
Seaford, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“FA 18 Super Hornet!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

In the main shed there is a F1-11 and a couple of other fighters. Working 30mm machine guns and the largest model plain collection in Australia (I'm pretty sure that's what the guy said). But out the back on the second story deck you will see Australia's new FA 18 Super Hornet going through there paces. We where lucky enough to see 4 single jets take off and land as well as a group of 4 FA 18 take off at once. We where there for over 2 hours watching the jets. Our 4 year old boy loved it!! Only $12 to get in per adult...I think 4 and under where free??

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank azafraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    91
    10
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
405 reviews
274 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Great place to spend some hours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Recently took our younger grandchildren to the Fighter World at Williamstown. The attraction is quite close to the airbase as well and both the Newcastle airport and the airbase appear to use the same runways, so there is the added bonus of being able to see & HEAR the jets from the base taking off. its all you could dream of and being able to get into some of the planes or even just up the ladders to see what's inside is fantastic. Its probably as close as most people will ever be able to get to some of these old planes and its really worthwhile spending some time here. If there are any questions, then there is always someone there to answer and they appear to be always having a 'work in progress ' happening there. Our grandkids absolutely loved it and I would recommend the museum to all ages. Parking is good, there is a gift shop and also a café into which the kids will see uniformed people from the air force enter.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozziechick45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fun for an hour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Fighter world surprised a lot of us that were visiting on the day as it wasn't small at all and the artifacts are interesting. You could get in 2 planes and feel what it was like to fly a plane like the old days. We also watched the raaf base practice with their jets and 20 jets landed when we were there. Fighter world is easily recommended for everyone.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patrick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Took my 3 year old son to Fighter World today, it was an interesting place to visit with lots of old planes on display. My son loved being able to sit in the cockpit of a real plane, and watch the RAAF jets take of from the base next door. Staff were friendly and the food from the cafe was good. Worth the $24 entry for two adults and one child under 5.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LunaSuz14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fighter World also viewed

Shoal Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Port Stephens, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Fighter World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing