We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sand Dune Adventures - Tours

Sand Dune Adventures - Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$68.30*
and up
Worimi Sand Dunes Quad Bike Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Sand Dune Adventures offers clients an exclusive ‘Cultural Quad Bike Riding” experience like no other; traversing the majestic and traditional landscape of the Worimi Sand Dunes / Port Stephens; recorded as the largest coastal sand mass in the Southern Hemisphere. Customers ride safely from bush to beach on a 400cc quad bike and take in the glorious views of the sweeping coastline (NO EXPERIENCE NECESSARY) with our experienced Aboriginal guides. Customers receive hands-on introductions to authentic Aboriginal culture and history, visiting ancient campsites and learning about the local bush foods, medicines and the secrets of finding fresh water. SDA tours cater from beginners to the experience and offer the thrill of riding sand dunes that climb as high as 100ft. So if it is adrenalin or just cruising; SDA offers the greatest adventure on one of Australia’s greatest kept secrets, the Worimi Sand Dunes! A "must do" experience on the biggest dunes & the biggest bikes in Port Stephens.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
“Great experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Perfect adventure for both myself and mum (late 60's). Both having never riden a quad before found our tour was suited specific to us. We had an awesome time and took on the challenges, really appreciating how it was tailored to suit us. Landscape was amazing, showing even the most expereinced quad mike rider would have an amazing time. I am looking forward to returning with my partner to take on some more challenging landscape now I have the feel for the quad!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank loretta t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    583
    26
    4
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
gosford
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BRILLIANT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We went on a company bonding outing. We had older ladies through to young blokes and everyone had a ball. Couldnt recommend it highly enough. Great guides, great dunes and the equipement was more than powerful enough for even an experienced rider like myself. Just do it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank craig s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We did this as a shore excursion with Royal Caribbean when we docked in Newcastle. It was so much fun, definitely worth the money! The guide, Jonathan, is Aboriginal and his family owns the land. He was so friendly and knowledgeable, and the experience was not just about riding the quad bikes but also learning about their culture. The quad bike ride is only about 1.5 hrs, then you go for a bathroom and snack break to their Aboriginal culture center. The Stockton sand dunes themselves are beautiful! So glad we did this!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank lmccurdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
206 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“A Great Adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

An unusual set up where you book in and fill out necessary indemnity forms, then get yourself 5km down the road to the start if the ride - but it works OK.

We were expecting a sedate "follow the leader" trip through the dunes, but were really happy to get up a bit of speed and go beyond our comfort zones descending some very steep dunes. The two Scotts who took us out were very professional and took care to look after the varying bravery levels in our group - so much so that everyone tried the biggest dune. Though our time was nearly up Scott willingly took us back again so he could take photos of us all coming down the hill.

I get the impression that whatever your appetite for excitement these guys will meet it, so the ride will be suitable for quite young to those who prefer to move a little slower.

On top of the fun, the scenery is awesome - just beautiful patterns in the dunes as well as the views along the expanse of the sand and down to Newcastle. We also had a good chat about the dunes and land ownership at the end of the ride.

If the weather is a bit cool - make sure you take a windproof jacket.

Overall a great experience for all ages and abilities

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff_Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great for the whole Family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We had a 7 yr old boy & a 12 yr old girl who had not riddden quads before. The Guides ( Scott & Dean) were fantastic. The 7yr old sat behind the guide ( Scott) who when we got out onto the sand he put the 7yr old on the front showed him the controls and gave him the experience of his life. The 12yr old did not want it to stop. We wil be back and we will be back for a longer trip. 1 hr was a great intro but we want more and we want it longer. Stockton Beach is amazing and this is a great way to see it. This is definitely worth the $$. Result = Happy Kids & Happy Dad!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sand Dune Adventures - Tours also viewed

Williamtown, Port Stephens
Port Stephens, Greater Newcastle
 
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Shoal Bay, Port Stephens
 

Been to Sand Dune Adventures - Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing