We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (286)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveler rating
246
34
5
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
246
34
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade breadstar tavernhot tubcape foulwindseal colonycontinental breakfastgreat hostspub next doorkaren leethe pubbay houseother guestsfriendly tavernyogurtspa poolchalet stylelarge table
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 286 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2017 via mobile

Perfect for a stopover on the way up north or south. We stopped by on our way to Kaiteriteri.
Great host and some really beautiful places to see nearby. Rooms are ok and clean. We had a good breakfast, lovely muffins and good coffee to start our day.
Definetly recommended.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Meander729648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2017 via mobile

Excellent location next to stunning coastal walkway and seal colony. The accommodation was modern, exceptionally clean and well appointed with comfy beds and four pillows.
Lee was friendly and helpful with wonderful humour. The continental breakfast was a wonderful surprise with home made bread. We would definitely come back and highly recommend

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank 420Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen H, Owner at Omau Settlers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review. Karen & Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2017

This is a good location with a sea view and it is in a quiet location, very close to lovely walks. The owners are very friendly and helpful and even offered to drop us off at the end of one of the walks. The rooms are very small with very little storage and the kitchen area is extremely limited. However, the bed was very comfortable and the room was attractive and very clean.
One frustration was that it was advertised as having bath or shower. I specifically asked for a bath on my booking, but was told when we arrived that none of the rooms have baths. That was actually a bit of an issue for me, as we were there for a relaxing weekend and I far prefer baths, particularly after a long walk! The other minor niggles were having to sit on the bed to watch TV and being provided with those horrible synthetic milk capsules that hotels provide, instead of fresh milk, which is more usual in a motel. Other than that, the stay was good overall, although I feel that a few tweaks and more accurate information would be helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Faith1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded November 14, 2017

Thank you very much for your feedback, we appreciate you taking the time to comment but are sorry to hear you had some frustrations during your stay. I have since reviewed our listing on booking.com to see why the rooms were advertised as having a bathtub or shower (when we only have showers in the rooms), and it would appear that booking.com have changed their settings recently. We have now updated our listing to more accurately reflect room facilities, so thank you for drawing this to our attention. As you are aware we also have our outdoor hot tub available for guest use, which is great for a nice soak after a long walk.
With regards to your other concerns, we are only sorry that these weren't raised during your stay (We often supply fresh milk to our guests on request, and you were more than welcome to sit in the lodge to watch TV if that would have been more comfortable for you).
Thanks once again for your feedback. All the very best for the remainder of your travels. Kind regards, Karen & Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for one night during our trip down the West Coast. The location is perfect for walking to/from the seal colony. A walk to the seal colony is a must for the views.

Our lodge was lovely, spotlessly clean and well equipped. We stayed here on a particularly cool and stormy night, yet the electric blankets and heating ensured we were cosy. Breakfast was adequate with fruit, cereals and toast plus tea, coffee and juices - all fresh and lovingly prepared. We enjoyed chatting to both Lee and Karen and Karen kindly gave us a lift to the beach to permit us to walk to the seal colony and then onwards back to the property.

We had a very enjoyable stay, excellent value and definitely recommend this place!

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded November 14, 2017

Hi Emma, thanks so much for your lovely review, we're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. All the best for the remainder of your travels. Kind regards, Karen & Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2017 via mobile

This property is at the beginning of one of the great roads in the World and Lee and Karen are wonderful hosts with a great property.
Generous Continental breakfast supplied and the hosts are informative and engaged with their guests.
Rooms are small and comfortable, bathrooms to a high standard.
Great outdoor spa set among the Bush.
Highly recommend to all
Alan and Donna Burns

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank alan3811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded November 3, 2017

Hi Alan & Donna, thank you so much for your lovely review, we're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! All the very best for the remainder of your travels. Kind regards, Karen & Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews