We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No atmosphere”

Denniston Dog Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #5 of 30 Restaurants in Westport
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“No atmosphere”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We had lunch here after reading about the "Famous" Denniston Pub.Menu was very basic.Had pizzas which were good.Service was so slow,drinks and food.Pub was almost empty so no excuse.We were given an outside but covered in table.Quite cold and next to smoking area.Poor.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Staffydog55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    107
    43
    29
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great feed for a family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Our Motel recommended this local Pub and they did not disappoint. Well priced, plenty on offer and tasted great. Got progressively busier which is always a good sign.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matt3225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good food and nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

The smoked chicken pasta was really good! We enjoyed our evening meal and drinks there. More of a pub than a restaurant feel, but nice nevertheless

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveller584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“One of the best meals on our trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Best steak I have had for a long time, garlic prawns superb and service really friendly. we ate at some lovely restaurants in Queenstown but this meal was one of the best on our trip and so reasonably priced.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roslyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granity
1 review
“A Dog of a Dog”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

The high point of our evening at this restaurant was the food. The food was at least adequate. By contrast the service was abysmal.

Generally, when the waitresses give the impression that you have deeply offended them by daring to sit down and order food it suggests that things have not got off to a great start. When this rocky reception is followed by a veritable parade of errors, scowls and snarkey comments it tends to spoil even good food. And adequate food is not good food.

To cut a long story short, if a restaurant can't provide water to the table without being asked, if it practically requires coercion at gunpoint to order a whiskey sour, and if neither of the two waitresses can manage a single smile during a three course meal then something is seriously wrong. Something is seriously wrong here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kevin f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Denniston Dog Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Westport, West Coast Region
Westport, West Coast Region
 
Westport, West Coast Region
Westport, West Coast Region
 
Westport, West Coast Region
Westport, West Coast Region
 

Been to Denniston Dog Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing