We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Yellow House Cafe and Restaurant
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Upper Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

We couldn't get in on th first night but thoroughly enjoyed our meal the following night. Whitebait was a proper home made fritter and house special pasta was magnificent. Best place to eat in Westport. Second visit and it won't be our last. Worth travelling from anywhere in nz. Thank you

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TerylC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bubbaWestCoast, Owner at Yellow House Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your positive review, we love making delicious food for our guest. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    14
    3
    4
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Morning tea in the Garden”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

On a sunny day you can't beat a piece of Lyn's carrot cake or one of her other tasty treats with a cup of tea in the garden. We had a lovely morning tea while our toddlers played on the swing set and with the outdoor toys on the lawn - very relaxing!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SavyScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bubbaWestCoast, Owner at Yellow House Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your kind review, we love the back garden too. It is great in the summer too. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

The Yellow House Cafe is a real treat! I came here with my father while traveling near Westport, and after several mediocre to terrible restaurants in the area, we were so happy to find the Yellow House. Lynn, the owner, is very friendly and the service was good. The food we ordered was all made from fresh ingredients (we could identify) and was delicious.I had a salmon dish and a yummy chocolate crumble for dessert. This is THE place to eat while in Westport!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CowgirlInChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bubbaWestCoast, Owner at Yellow House Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you for the positive comments, it was great meeting you both. So glad, you could taste the freshness of our food and the care put into it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed this place”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We had a meal the first night as were recommended by someone else, had the Whitebait and was cooked beautifully not in a batter like some places do. There is paper on the tables and crayons for people to draw pictures which is a good way to fill in the time as the meals could be a little slow due to them being cooked fresh.
Decided to go back the next night as well as we enlyed it so much, the service was fantastic and the owner was very attentive as was the lovely watiress.
All in all a place to go and have a nice meal and they know about the beers as well and can recommend things to you.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank turtle63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bubbaWestCoast, Owner at Yellow House Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
We really appreciate the kind words. It was a pleasure to cook for you guys. I hope the rest of your trip was awesome. Hope to see you again for a meal in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely!!”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

On our first night in Westport our daughter took us to The Yellow House for dinner. It was lovely, everything freshly prepared to order & the owner does all the cooking & baking herself on the premises. On our last afternoon we went back to sample the coffee & cake - yummy!!!, and sat out in the garden on a beautiful sunny winter's afternoon to have it. A lovely place!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank matelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yellow House Cafe and Restaurant also viewed

Westport, West Coast Region
Westport, West Coast Region
 
Westport, West Coast Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing