We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy place !”
Review of The Town House - CLOSED

The Town House
Price range: $11 - $27
Cuisines: Contemporary, International, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Housed in the distinctive Art Deco ‘Waterside Workers Union Hall’ The Town House (formally The Bay House) is a ‘must do’ on your coastal itinerary. Reminiscent of a European café The Town House is the ‘go to’ place whatever you’re dining needs, whether it be a meal at anytime during the day or evening, a coffee and croissant in the morning, an afternoon wine or cocktail or a late evening drink and dessert. This is the place where you will find the locals sipping espresso at the bar on a Saturday morning reading the paper while others dine in the restaurant and enjoy the a la carte menu on offer. Located towards the port end of town near the picturesque fishing wharf on the corner of Palmerston and Cobden Streets, The Town House’ cosy interior is in keeping with its art deco history featuring original wooden floors, be-spoke wallpaper and wood paneled walls throughout with a deco sunburst theme behind the bar, the freestanding fireplace and in the original art deco glass and rimu doors that lead to the north facing terrace. The dining room is cosy despite its open design and high ceilings. The room warms up as it fills up with diners and comes alive with the enjoyable buzz of dinner conversations and as the warm weather comes to an end a spot by the fireplace is desirable and will see you settle in for a very comfortable dining experience. The Terrace has seating for 40 diners and on a sunny day is the best spot in town for alfresco wining and dining.
Westport, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cozy place !”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Very comfort environment!
Very good performance. Can't ask for more.

Recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NicoleChiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    47
    14
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ojai, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Quality and variety rivaling large city fare”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

While touring New Zealand, we chose the Town House based on reviews to book a dinner for six, including friends from Auckland who were visiting the South Island. Everyone was happy with our choice. Our server was attentive and informative, the restaurant was quiet enough for us to converse easily, and the quality, preparation, and presentation of the food were better than one would often find in a major city. We enjoyed beef steaks, lamb, fresh trumpet fish with risotto, fresh vegetables and salads, and delicious desserts. I hope the residents of Westport appreciate how lucky they are to have a restaurant with the quality of The Town House.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ojaitravelbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant in Westport”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Found this restaurant in a local magazine at our back packer place further down the west coast. Great service and décor and Eggs Benedict were delicious.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TeeMBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food in retro design, don't miss!”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I'm not fond of retro design but if you can look beyond that The Town House is a gem. The food is delicious and the staff friendly. The chef is excellent and she surprised us with a tasty octopus starter, on the house, nice! We had mussels and venison and a wonderful ice-cream dessert. This evening we drank wonderful beer from Graymouth. The meal was well worth the 30 min walks we had to take to get there!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larker49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellen, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We were on the road heading to the west coast from Motueko and stopped for lunch in Westport. We had a taste for fish and chips. We had asked for a recommendation and were directed to a place that was closed at lunch time so we cruised up and down the street looking for someplace that looked good. AFter checking out a couple of places that we didn't like the looks of we went into The Town House and checked the menu. They didn't have fish and chips so started to leave. The waitress asked what we were looking for and told us to wait a minute. She went into the kitchen and came back immediately saying "no problem, you can have fish and chips". And to top it off, they were delicious as was the salad that accompanied the fish.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Westfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Town House also viewed

Westport, West Coast Region
Westport, West Coast Region
 
Westport, West Coast Region
 
Westport, West Coast Region
Westport, West Coast Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing