We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfast Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Town House - CLOSED

The Town House
Price range: $11 - $27
Cuisines: New Zealand, Cafe, International, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Housed in the distinctive Art Deco ‘Waterside Workers Union Hall’ The Town House (formally The Bay House) is a ‘must do’ on your coastal itinerary. Reminiscent of a European café The Town House is the ‘go to’ place whatever you’re dining needs, whether it be a meal at anytime during the day or evening, a coffee and croissant in the morning, an afternoon wine or cocktail or a late evening drink and dessert. This is the place where you will find the locals sipping espresso at the bar on a Saturday morning reading the paper while others dine in the restaurant and enjoy the a la carte menu on offer. Located towards the port end of town near the picturesque fishing wharf on the corner of Palmerston and Cobden Streets, The Town House’ cosy interior is in keeping with its art deco history featuring original wooden floors, be-spoke wallpaper and wood paneled walls throughout with a deco sunburst theme behind the bar, the freestanding fireplace and in the original art deco glass and rimu doors that lead to the north facing terrace. The dining room is cosy despite its open design and high ceilings. The room warms up as it fills up with diners and comes alive with the enjoyable buzz of dinner conversations and as the warm weather comes to an end a spot by the fireplace is desirable and will see you settle in for a very comfortable dining experience. The Terrace has seating for 40 diners and on a sunny day is the best spot in town for alfresco wining and dining.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great breakfast Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Great service and a really unique flavour to the food. Lovely atmosphere. Definitely worth a visit if in Westport.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    47
    14
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Back again - same consistent standard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Back to the Townhouse - our go-to place in Westport. Another top meal, had the fish this time (as I usually overeat here) and was not disappointed. Beautifully prepared butterfish, sauce not overpowering - another fine repast. Consistent dining here. Spoke to the chef who appreciates the feedback, Real ethos of care towards the customers and creating a good dining experience. Service is OK, attentive but not overly professional, however made up for by excellent food prepared with care. Keeps us coming back when we are on this side of the island. Wine list good too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Guy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“dancing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

had The Johnnys playing there - what a night Couldn't believe how many people I met up with that I knew. Great staff well worth a night out when they have a good band there :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank hyzor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2,459 reviews
701 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,282 helpful votes
“Whitebait fritatta with fetta and tamarind pork belly...yummm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We arrived famished and spent scant time looking too hard at the setting. We ordered tamarind pork belly with kumera,apple watercress and coconut....a wow dish. then we shared a concoction of whitebait fritatta with fetta...absolutely scrumptious house wine was great.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hard to find but worth the effort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We were looking for a nice cafe in Westport, after finding that the Bay House at Tauranga Bay was closed for the winter. We had nearly given up when we came across this great place, at the far end of the main drag in Westport.

The food was delicious - interesting breads and beautifully cooked calamari.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stora_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Town House also viewed

Westport, West Coast Region
Westport, West Coast Region
 
Westport, West Coast Region
 
Westport, West Coast Region
Westport, West Coast Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing