We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Make Your Stay in the Buller a relaxing one, well a Gr8 Motel is the best start”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Westport Spa Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Westport Spa Motel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Westport
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Make Your Stay in the Buller a relaxing one, well a Gr8 Motel is the best start”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

2 kids 2 adults in a Motel for 2 days and 2 nights would I go back YES in a heart beat not only was our room super clean and warm, the beds were to die for with their luxury tops and large size, there was all those other little things also ie plunger coffee with the plunger the, extra towels and pillows and they were fresh, our room was serviced and cleaned to a high level even though we were staying another night which was sooo lovley. as other places we have stayed at have not really bothered. The lady running the place is very passionate about her business and Westport.
My family and I will be back and we will be telling our friends and family that this is the place to stay in Westport is, @ The Spa Motel with Chris, thanks for a Gr8 and stay,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bowhuntmethven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spamotel, Owner at Westport Spa Motel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your return to Westport and we were able to make your stay a great experience. I look forward to seeing you when you next visit Westport.
Regards
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    45
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
49
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed here recently with my husband. It is in a great location right on the main street. The lady who served us has just taken over and she was very friendly. Making sure we knew places we could eat for dinner, and telling us about tourist attractions like the seal colony and Denniston. The studio unit was perfect for the two of us, and the beds are super comfy. I asked the owner about these and she said she has just put new luxury toppers on to make them more comfortable - they were a nice touch! The place was super clean. We had a spa which was also nice. I use quite a bit of wifi and when I had run out I was a bit embarassed to go and ask for another coupon thing but it was no problem which is always nice. We asked the owner to organise a taxi for us to the airport and it was done with no bother. Its all those small things that make a great stay!

Room Tip: We had an upstairs unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spamotel, Owner at Westport Spa Motel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments Ella. I am glad you and your husband enjoyed your stay at Westport Spa Motel and found our beds comfortable. My housekeepers take pride in their work. It is nice for them to have guests comment on the cleanliness of the rooms.
Regards
Chris Lark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We have been staying at this motel since it opened. It has been 3 years since our last visit and it is now very tired. Rooms are a good size and facilities are good. After paying the same price for a 2 bedroom motel of much higher quality in another town, we found that this one is expensive for the 1 bedroom unit. Also, if you get the Spa Bath unit, watch out for the water that spills onto the floor when you have a shower. Noting the carpet has been patched by the door, its an obvious problem that still hasn't been fixed after all this time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spamotel, Owner at Westport Spa Motel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you John for your comments on your recent stay at Westport Spa Motel. I have only recently purchased the business and I am in the process of drawing up a maintenance plan for future renovations. I will make sure that I add the issue of the shower water escaping onto the floor now that you have brought it to my attention. Coordinating colour schemes and identifying suppliers takes time so in the meantime I have made a start by adding an extra comfort layer to all the beds. A regular guest who told me the "bed was superb". I do hope you stay with us again in 3 years time. It will look very different then.
Regards
Chris Lark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

In two years the price for accommodation has shot up in Westport, and I really cannot see the huge attraction.

This particular motel is okay - it's completely average, nothing special (quite small rooms) and yet the prices are at the top end of accommodation in the low season. Hmmm.

Still, it's a roof over the head, there's some free WiFi thrown in (good for the international traveller at the moment), and the unit had everything we actually needed to prepare food, etc, so there were savings in not going to a restaurant for dinner or breakfast.

Bottom line... If you pay to stay, relax in the spa baths and know that at least $10 of your cost for the night is being chewed up right there.

Oh, and be certain to visit the Denniston Plateau and feel what it was like to spend a lifetime up there!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Organs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Big screen TV with a king, queen and single bed + a massive three person spa. What more could you ask for?

Full kitchen facilities is a big bonus as well.

Had a great stay and would not hesitate to stay again. In fact we plan on it!

Room Tip: The one bedroom is big and at the back away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cm_timaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We chose this motel to break our journey between Picton and Fox Gacier. An excellent decision! Paul the owner was very friendly and helpful. Accommodation was very reasonably priced. Our first floor room was spacious, clean and well-equiped, with a comfortable bed. Internet speed was excellent. Wesport beach is definitely worth visiting (if you can find it) for the amazing views north up the coast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave_Eleanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Clean, comfortable, extremely well equipped motel unit. I was on the top level and found the room sunny and quiet. Glad I chose this motel (toyed with this and another) and would definitely stay here again if in Westport.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saffy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.0 mi away
ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge
0.2 mi away
The Westport Motor Hotel
The Westport Motor Hotel
#9 of 12 in Westport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ascot Motor Lodge
Ascot Motor Lodge
#10 of 12 in Westport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
2.3 mi away
Carters by the Sea Motel
Carters by the Sea Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buller Court on Palmerston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westport Spa Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westport Spa Motel

Property: Westport Spa Motel
Address: 239 Palmerston Street, Westport 7825, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Westport Spa Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Westport Spa Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing