We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charming Creek Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Charming Creek Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 16 Westport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gove, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

My Husband and I stayed here whilst honeymooning around the Sth Island. We decided to book after reading the positive reviews on tripadvisor and we weren't disappointed.
It was our first time staying in a BnB and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Gay and Storm (the Sheltie) made us feel very welcome.
It's a beautiful part of the country and the place is very clean and well set up. We had the place all to ourselves and relished the opportunity to just sit infront of the fire and relax after a hectic day. The bed was super comfy!
Will definately stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OMGosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    14
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
72
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kerang
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

We enjoyed our stay and we liked having a chat with Gay over breakfast. The continental breakfast was adequate and we loved the range of homemade jams. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and we appreciated the use of the wifi access to the internet. The weather was fine on this occassion and a walk on the beach after a days driving was very relaxing.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alclaire_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2011

Very fine small bed and breakfast with private beach access. Off the beaten track a bit, but well worth the scenic drive from Westport. The property is newer and immaculately maintained, with interiors well-appointed and with pleasing decor. Gay proved to be an attentive and informative host, and her dog, Storm, is delightful. Gay is a Kiwi who lived for a decade in the US and she was a great help in explaining the charms of New Zealand. The bedroom size was generous with a large ensuite bathroom, augmented by a comfortable and well-supplied guest lounge area. This accommodation was the best value for us during our six weeks in New Zealand.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caribou98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

Charming Creek is a lovely B&B about 20 minutes northwest of Westport. At first we were disappointed to drive the extra distance but it was well worth it. It's actually in a town called Granity, which we found out is a mining town. Gaye and her dog Storm were wonderful hosts. The place was spotless, the beds comfy and the shower was great. We stayed in the 2 bedroom suite and were very happy.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CASBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana Rose
Level Contributor
901 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 407 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

We spent one night here but had a great time. We did the walk to the Falls which was beautiful and fun. The room was clean and comfortable. Our bathroom was large and clean. The guest area is lovely with everything you could need...tea/coffee/beers, TV, fireplace, wireless internet and lots of information on the area. The whole place is very nicely decorated. Walk to the beach, it's beautiful. And Gay is great. She's very helpful and a very interesting women. She makes you feel right at home. Her dog, Storm, is such a sweetie too!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MTRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2010

Absolutely loved our stay at Charming Creek. Being born and bred in that charming part of the world 30 odd years ago and now living in Australia, my return 13 years later with my young family was the most relaxed part of our 2 week journey of NZ. With the rugged coastline as our restaurant and the most comfortable bed ever, what more could you want. Well done Gay...gorgeous, lovely, perfect...and our young children loved exploring the secret garden and beach track. Thanks so much for making us feel at home Gay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Walnut601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2010

The drive to the place almost put us off, because it appeared that we were going nowhere.
When we arrived the welcome was outstanding and that set the scene for the rest of the stay. gay is a treasure, her stories and memories kept us laughing all the time we were there. But the main point about this is the quality of the accommodation and the catering plus the convenience of being across from a beach with facilities provided by Gay, hot tob, barbecue and comfortable loungers - somewhere special.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank harryboy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westport
1.4 mi away
Miners on Sea
Miners on Sea
#1 of 1 in Granity
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
7.2 mi away
Seddonville Hotel
Seddonville Hotel
#1 of 1 in Seddonville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
18.7 mi away
Carters by the Sea Motel
Carters by the Sea Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
22.3 mi away
Omau Settlers Lodge
Omau Settlers Lodge
#1 of 12 in Westport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
26.4 mi away
Birds Ferry Lodge
Birds Ferry Lodge
#1 of 16 in Westport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charming Creek Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charming Creek Bed & Breakfast

Property: Charming Creek Bed & Breakfast
Address: 24 Main Road | Ngakawau, Westport 7824, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Charming Creek Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish architect-designed beach stay 20 mins north of Westport. All suites with premium pillowtop beds, french doors, sun decks, and en suites with massage showers. Rooms double-glazed, insect screened, and heated. Jura Swiss espresso machine. In house movies, Sky TV satellite service, wireless internet, DVD/MP3 stereo system. Freshwater hot tub (extra charge/booking required), nature garden and relaxation centre at water's edge. Charming Creek walkway across the park cafes and art close by - easy day trips to Pancake Rocks, Denniston, and the Oparara Wetlands. Breakfast included Non-smoking inside. From December 1 2016 this property will become Charming Creek Beach Lodge offering self-catered, self-contained apartments - 1bed/bath; 2 bed/bath; 2bed/2bath; and 3 bed/2bath. Whole property will sleep 14. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Charming Creek Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing