We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Lodge”
Review of Birds Ferry Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Birds Ferry Lodge
Ranked #2 of 16 Westport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2007

My husband and I stayed at BFL in March of last year..yes my review is rather late but having read the last one fromSusieW I felt I had to say that our experience at BFL was wonderful.
Arriving on a rather wet day we were welcomed by Alison and Andre with a hot drink and biscuits.
The rooms and en suites are beautifully appointed, and Alison's meals are excellent.
Andre was very helpful pouring over maps with us and recommending places to visit during our 4 night stay in the area.
I also had a fantastic massage followed by a spa out on the deck.
The views from the lodge are amazing.If you are in this area this is definitely the place tostay ..very quiet and relaxing with hosts that are there to make your stay just that.
This was our third trip to N.Z. and we have stayed in many different B&B's and this was definitely one of the best.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank mermaid60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2014

Well we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.. Thank you for posting your compliments!
Alison and Andre M&M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 275 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2007

I really enjoyed my stay here. Its a great place to relax and rejuvinate after a long journey. If you have booked a massage your in for a treat - really relaxing. I left feeling refreshed after enjoying the spa and the great home cooked food. I hope to visit again.

Stayed: September 2007
2  Thank klw1NewPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2014

Well we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.. Thank you for posting your compliments!
Alison and Andre M&M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2007

I am sorry I do not agree with the other reviews. I and my family and our friends who stayed at BFL are lucky to have travelled extensively and frankly we found this place a bit of a "con": almost a "trap" for the non initiated traveller.

Why you may ask? One example: one gets offered a drink when one arrives-but beware of the latent hospitality-anything will be added onto your bill over and above your over priced room(s).

I could expand with similar mean spirited examples at BFL-but instead will summarise by saying the following: make no mistake BFL is a nice place, and granted (in agreement with others) it is very clean and comfortable but be aware: making money is their main priority and hospitality and good will account for zero.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SusieLigar_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birdsferrylodge, Owner, manager at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2007

The Owners/Hosts at Birds Ferry Lodge Respond:

We were very concerned to read this post about Birds Ferry Lodge and we are sorry the SuziW's visit fell short of her expectations in some areas. We have carried out thorough research into the details including corresponding with 'SuzieW' via email.

We do not believe that there were in fact any 'hidden charges'.We are sorry that there has been a misunderstanding over charges which were clearly stated in the booking correspondence.Our tariff is clearly displayed on our website and charges are always detailed in correspondence at time of booking.

We hope that this clarifies the situation for readers and that by reading other posts about our business they are reassured of our commitment to guest satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2007

Arriving at Birds Ferrys is a bit strange as you have a 1.7 dirt track (so be careful for your car).

Once we got there the views were lovely. You are in the middle of nowhere. Alison (one of the owners) gave us biscuits and a cup of tea on arrival and then left us to relax. Dinner menu was placed on the coffee table on a wooden board which was a nice touch and not too expensive.

Room was lovely, great view with double doors out onto the joint patio. Great lavender organic products in the bathroom (note if you have a bath afterwards you'll end up falling asleep especially if you put one of the cosy bathrobes on).

Dinner is spectacular and Alison is a fanastic cook (I recommend the crayfish). Breakfast was continental (although we could have had a cooked one) and there was loads of it from homemade muesli, jam etc.

Only downside was it did feel a little like someones home and there isnt much nearby but if you like a peaceful retreat this is definitely the place to come.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank newlywed75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2007

We arrived on a cold summers day, Alison lost no time in lighting a fire for us, Andre her husband returned from doing some outside chores and relaxed in the outside hot tub with a beer. Good work!

On arriving I worried about my choice of accommodation as the road to the Lodge is rough with no tarmac, but as soon as the Lodge came into view my fears were gone.

It is well maintained and spotless, also very beautifull. The visitors lounge in particular is lovely with views over open countryside.

We were offered tea and shortbread on arrival and a long convivial chat with our hosts.

Do take up the option of having dinner provided, Alison is a good cook and Andre offers a good selection of wine with inside knowledge of NZ wines.

We had a very good breakfast and we were given tips on our next ports of call.

The prices were very reasonable, and I recommend a stay here.
A very nice couple prepared to go that extra mile.

Elaine Lichfield UK Helen MA USA

  • Stayed: December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BenLichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2006

My husband wanted to stay the night in Westport or Greymouth on our recent trip to NZ and I was a bit glum about doing so until I found Birds Ferry Lodge.

The place is really top notch (on its own and esp. given the alternatives I found in the area).

It would be worth a stay even if you weren't otherwise looking for a place to crash in the Wesport/Greymouth/Charleston area but it's a must do if you are (particularly if you are doing the Underworld Caving/Glowworms in Charleston/Westport).

The house is great -- the room in which we stayed was small but well appointed. The common area is wonderful -- expansive and inviting.

Allison is a truly fabulous cook. (We opted to have her prepare us dinner and were very happy to have done so.) The place is a great wine selection as well.

Andre is very friendly and knowledgeable, helping my husband and I to fine tune the remainder of our itinerary.

While we only had a night at the lodge, I very much wished we had been able to spend a day exploring the grounds.

I highly recommend this place.

2  Thank hashtaginfluencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2014

Well we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.. Thank you for posting your compliments!
Alison and Andre M&M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
Thank Otto F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westport
17.7 mi away
Te Nikau Retreat
Te Nikau Retreat
#3 of 8 in Punakaiki
240 reviews
8.7 mi away
Carters by the Sea Motel
Carters by the Sea Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
145 reviews
7.7 mi away
Omau Settlers Lodge
Omau Settlers Lodge
#1 of 12 in Westport
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Punakaiki Resort
Punakaiki Resort
#1 of 3 in Punakaiki
705 reviews
8.8 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
355 reviews
19 mi away
Punakaiki Beachfront Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birds Ferry Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birds Ferry Lodge

Address: 163 Birds Ferry Road,, Westport 7892, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range: $209 - $441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Birds Ferry Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Birds Ferry Lodge where you will enjoy a wilderness location just North of Punakaiki. This modern and stylish solid timber lodge features comfortable en-suite rooms with baths & balconies with superb mountain, bush and ocean views. The Self-contained cottage "Ferry Man’s Cottage" in its own private garden is perfect for couples seeking privacy or families needing space for children to run. The twin garden baths with hot piped water are a popular ‘kiwiana’ feature! On-site masseuse and day spa. Alison enjoys sourcing local fish and lamb for use in the Lodge kitchen. We grow almost all of the fresh produce used in the kitchen in our 1 hectare vegetable garden along with our own free range eggs from very happy chickens. Be sure to book a dinner which will be a highlight of your stay! FREE WIFI. Nearby are Norwest Adventures, Charleston where you can explore ancient limestone caves and see millions of glow worms. Stay 2 nights to enjoy 10% off the price of this tour. Also nearby is Tauranga Bay where you can view one of New Zealand’s large fur seal colonies and enjoy a scenic cliff top walk to the light house. Stay 2 nights & enjoy a complimentary tailor made local tour with Andre as well as a reduced tariff. NEW for 2011/12 is the "Denniston Experience" which is a short drive from Birds Ferry Lodge. This is a guided trip into a historic coal mine and is outstanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Birds Ferry Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing