We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A special experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Birds Ferry Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Birds Ferry Lodge
Ranked #1 of 16 Westport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
1 review
“A special experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a very pleasant one night stop at Birds Ferry Lodge. We felt very spoilt with both a beautifully appointed room and run of the expansive lounge/dining area. Alison and Andre got the balance right between being available to chat and fill us in on their property and the local area and leaving us to enjoy the serenity of the Lodge and grounds. We thoroughly enjoyed Alison's cooking and Andre's wine selection and found Andre's advice about local walks and attractions invaluable. We also appreciated all the little touches such as the wide selection of reading material and the home made shortbreads.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hello again from birds Ferry Lodge - Andre and Alison are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit. Thank you for posting a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    26
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
33
182
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stopped in here for one night on a South Island trip and wish we could have stayed longer. A real remote location with amazing views, the perfect place to unwind. Andre and Alison were great hosts with lots of local knowledge they are happy to share.
The only thing I would do different is stay 2 nights.
Thanks a lot!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wellsynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Andre and Alison are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit. Thank you for posting a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

What a great location. We had Ferryman's Cottage. This is a totally self contained cottage, with no other habitation within view. It has views across the valley to the sea, and in the other direction landscaped gardens with small lake. The cottage has an exceptionally well equipped kitchen including washing machine/dryer and only place we stayed which had proper (Italian) espresso maker. There were other nice and thoughtful touches throughout the place. Nice bedrooms with comfortable beds (and views). The sitting area as sofas with distant views, and thoughtfully a large scale map of the area (a simple touch, but so welcome). The peace and tranquillity was just perfect. For the price this was outstanding value. We loved it and only wished we had booked to stay longer to enjoy the environs. We had wondered whether there would be enough to do in this area as there is not much in the guide books. As it turned out there was loads of interesting stuff. Highlight: Buller Gorge Jetboats at Murchison (see review), the seal colony just along the road at Cape Foulwind (watched young seals fighting, watched the baby seals playing) and Westport itself was very nice too, yes there is some industry but some great 1920’s architecture. And then there are the coastal drives, so 3 or 4 days at least would have been better than the 2 nights we spent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SomersetReporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hello again from birds Ferry Lodge - Andre and Alison are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit. Thank you for posting a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night as we drove down the west coast of the South Island. The cottage was absolutely charming - high end amenities and a rustic decor which fit the location. The kitchen was well stocked. When we arrived, our ready-to-heat dinner was in the fridge, with a freshly baked loaf of bread on the counter. Delicious! The cottage is down the road from the main house, so it's very private and has great views. We strolled out to the pond to see the stars that night - so beautiful, peaceful and quiet. Bird's Ferry is a unique place and we would have loved to stay longer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cranelke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hello again from birds Ferry Lodge - Andre and Alison are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit. Thank you for posting a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is a very special residence somewhat isolated near Westport. It had all the usual features you would expect in the best lodges including every possible piece of best quality linen and furniture. Our bedroom was good although somewhat eccentric. It was really a suite. There was a small but comfortable lounge off which led the bedroom, a bathroom with a bath- tub and lavatory, a separate lavatory and a room labelled Treatment Room which I did not explore. All this led off the family and communal lounge dining room which was beautifully furnished and had books, television and a CD player.
There were two other factors which made it outstanding. The first was the food. Allison made wonderful breakfasts to order. She will also make dinner. It is important to know that this must be ordered in advance and as there is no choice you need to mention anything you do not eat. This meant that the isolation did not matter as we did not have to go out for dinner and in fact for both our nights we had lovely meals each time with a different couple of guests.
The other thing is the nature of the hosts Allison and Andre. Allison was waiting to greet us as we arrived as though she knew exactly when we were coming. She gave us a very warm welcome and of course she is a great cook. She and Andre have their own kitchen garden and all their vegetables are home-grown. Andre took us round and showed us all the plants and he and Allison do it all themselves. We also watched him collecting the eggs from the chicken coop something I have not seen since childhood. Andre has a great knowledge of the area and its facilities and was very keen to share it with us. Consequently we knew where to go for lunch-The Bay Cafe which was wonderful- and all the excursions including a trip through the rainforest.
After only two days we were sorry to leave as we felt we were losing special friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gmm83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hello again from birds Ferry Lodge - Andre and Alison are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit. Thank you for posting a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

My wife and I had a delightful if brief visit here during our honeymoon tour of NZ. The ready-to-heat meal option is great for accommodating a late evening arrival, and the setting is delightful to arrive to! The cottage is exactly as advertised, and quite wonderful. You wont' be disappointed by the food in the evening or morning, amazing!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teledoze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hello again from birds Ferry Lodge - Andre and Alison are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit. Thank you for posting a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich
Level Contributor
168 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here a couple of years ago for one night during a motorcycle tour of the South Island. The reason for leaving a review now is that, despite travelling widely for business and leisure, we are STILL recounting our stories of this as simply the worst place we have ever stayed. Apart from being made to feel hugely unwelcome by the hosts (who varied between being just unhelpful and at times downright rude) we would also concur with the frustrations of other travellers about the multitude of instructions about what we could and couldn't do. Upon arrival we were told that they were cooking a vegetarian dinner that evening for other guests which they 'supposed' they could stretch to include us as well but at a price that would have made your eyes water. Tired from the day we used the hot tub on the verandah and might have enjoyed the fantastic views a little more if it wasn't for our hosts very obviously monitoring our every move. If we could have found alternative local accommodation that night we would have left and stayed elsewhere, but we couldn't and instead opted to escape for the evening to a charming local pizzeria. Looking back, the setting was indeed wonderful, it just seemed a pity that we couldn't enjoy it because of the uncomfortable atmosphere caused by the hosts.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BrambleStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Wow is this for real? Andre and alison are stunned by this. We pride ourselves on our hosting skills and any one reading our many positive reviews can see this for themselves. We also pride ourselves on the high standard of food available by prior reservation. To arrive without a dinner reservation may indeed result in disappointment. The price for dinner has not changed in four years and is for three courses with quality wine that guests choose from a list.

We always assist guests with removal of the spa lid and provide instructions for operating the jets since not all guests have previous experience of spa operation. If this was construed as "monitoring" then the writer is mistaken.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westport
7.8 mi away
Omau Settlers Lodge
Omau Settlers Lodge
#1 of 12 in Westport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
19.6 mi away
Punakaiki Resort
Punakaiki Resort
#1 of 3 in Punakaiki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
8.7 mi away
Carters by the Sea Motel
Carters by the Sea Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
17.7 mi away
Te Nikau Retreat
Te Nikau Retreat
#3 of 7 in Punakaiki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
19.7 mi away
Hydrangea Cottages
Hydrangea Cottages
#1 of 7 in Punakaiki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birds Ferry Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birds Ferry Lodge

Property: Birds Ferry Lodge
Address: Birds Ferry Road, RD 2, Westport 7865, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Birds Ferry Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Birds Ferry Lodge where you will enjoy a wilderness location just North of Punakaiki. This modern and stylish solid timber lodge features comfortable en-suite rooms with baths & balconies with superb mountain, bush and ocean views. The Self-contained cottage "Ferry Man’s Cottage" in its own private garden is perfect for couples seeking privacy or families needing space for children to run. The twin garden baths with hot piped water are a popular ‘kiwiana’ feature! On-site masseuse and day spa. Alison enjoys sourcing local fish and lamb for use in the Lodge kitchen. We grow almost all of the fresh produce used in the kitchen in our 1 hectare vegetable garden along with our own free range eggs from very happy chickens. Be sure to book a dinner which will be a highlight of your stay! FREE WIFI. Nearby are Norwest Adventures, Charleston where you can explore ancient limestone caves and see millions of glow worms. Stay 2 nights to enjoy 10% off the price of this tour. Also nearby is Tauranga Bay where you can view one of New Zealand’s large fur seal colonies and enjoy a scenic cliff top walk to the light house. Stay 2 nights & enjoy a complimentary tailor made local tour with Andre as well as a reduced tariff. NEW for 2011/12 is the "Denniston Experience" which is a short drive from Birds Ferry Lodge. This is a guided trip into a historic coal mine and is outstanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Birds Ferry Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing