We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting experience at the cottage”
Review of Birds Ferry Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Birds Ferry Lodge
Ranked #1 of 16 Westport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night as we drove down the west coast of the South Island. The cottage was absolutely charming - high end amenities and a rustic decor which fit the location. The kitchen was well stocked. When we arrived, our ready-to-heat dinner was in the fridge, with a freshly baked loaf of bread on the counter. Delicious! The cottage is down the road from the main house, so it's very private and has great views. We strolled out to the pond to see the stars that night - so beautiful, peaceful and quiet. Bird's Ferry is a unique place and we would have loved to stay longer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cranelke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Hello again from birds Ferry Lodge - Andre and Alison are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit. Thank you for posting a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 270 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is a very special residence somewhat isolated near Westport. It had all the usual features you would expect in the best lodges including every possible piece of best quality linen and furniture. Our bedroom was good although somewhat eccentric. It was really a suite. There was a small but comfortable lounge off which led the bedroom, a bathroom with a bath- tub and lavatory, a separate lavatory and a room labelled Treatment Room which I did not explore. All this led off the family and communal lounge dining room which was beautifully furnished and had books, television and a CD player.
There were two other factors which made it outstanding. The first was the food. Allison made wonderful breakfasts to order. She will also make dinner. It is important to know that this must be ordered in advance and as there is no choice you need to mention anything you do not eat. This meant that the isolation did not matter as we did not have to go out for dinner and in fact for both our nights we had lovely meals each time with a different couple of guests.
The other thing is the nature of the hosts Allison and Andre. Allison was waiting to greet us as we arrived as though she knew exactly when we were coming. She gave us a very warm welcome and of course she is a great cook. She and Andre have their own kitchen garden and all their vegetables are home-grown. Andre took us round and showed us all the plants and he and Allison do it all themselves. We also watched him collecting the eggs from the chicken coop something I have not seen since childhood. Andre has a great knowledge of the area and its facilities and was very keen to share it with us. Consequently we knew where to go for lunch-The Bay Cafe which was wonderful- and all the excursions including a trip through the rainforest.
After only two days we were sorry to leave as we felt we were losing special friends.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmm83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Hello again from birds Ferry Lodge - Andre and Alison are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit. Thank you for posting a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My wife and I had a delightful if brief visit here during our honeymoon tour of NZ. The ready-to-heat meal option is great for accommodating a late evening arrival, and the setting is delightful to arrive to! The cottage is exactly as advertised, and quite wonderful. You wont' be disappointed by the food in the evening or morning, amazing!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teledoze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Hello again from birds Ferry Lodge - Andre and Alison are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit. Thank you for posting a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed here a couple of years ago for one night during a motorcycle tour of the South Island. The reason for leaving a review now is that, despite travelling widely for business and leisure, we are STILL recounting our stories of this as simply the worst place we have ever stayed. Apart from being made to feel hugely unwelcome by the hosts (who varied between being just unhelpful and at times downright rude) we would also concur with the frustrations of other travellers about the multitude of instructions about what we could and couldn't do. Upon arrival we were told that they were cooking a vegetarian dinner that evening for other guests which they 'supposed' they could stretch to include us as well but at a price that would have made your eyes water. Tired from the day we used the hot tub on the verandah and might have enjoyed the fantastic views a little more if it wasn't for our hosts very obviously monitoring our every move. If we could have found alternative local accommodation that night we would have left and stayed elsewhere, but we couldn't and instead opted to escape for the evening to a charming local pizzeria. Looking back, the setting was indeed wonderful, it just seemed a pity that we couldn't enjoy it because of the uncomfortable atmosphere caused by the hosts.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank BrambleStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Wow is this for real? Andre and alison are stunned by this. We pride ourselves on our hosting skills and any one reading our many positive reviews can see this for themselves. We also pride ourselves on the high standard of food available by prior reservation. To arrive without a dinner reservation may indeed result in disappointment. The price for dinner has not changed in four years and is for three courses with quality wine that guests choose from a list.

We always assist guests with removal of the spa lid and provide instructions for operating the jets since not all guests have previous experience of spa operation. If this was construed as "monitoring" then the writer is mistaken.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We had a wonderful, but quick stay at Birds Ferry Lodge. Alison and Andre are wonderful hosts. We were so happy that we chose to have Alison's homemade dinner. It was exceptional! The breakfast, with homemade muffins, was also amazing! They grow/produce much of the ingredients used in her cooking. Andre's pride in their home was obvious when we asked for a tour of their property, greenhouses and areas where their animals are kept. Andre was also a wealth of knowledge of interesting and fun places to stop during our driving around the south island. The information he shared truly enhanced our trip. Thank you.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esuesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Hello again from birds Ferry Lodge - Andre and Alison are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit. Thank you for posting a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We really enjoyed our return visit: Andre and Alison's welcome was just as good as the first time. This is more than just a good place to break the journey down the west coast. There is so much to enjoy both within the property and in the area generally that it is really worth having a few days to explore the area and to relax in very beautiful surroundings. Andre and Alison are full of suggestions for interesting days out. Enjoy!

Bob and Sue UK

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Hello again from birds Ferry Lodge - Andre and Alison are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit. Thank you for posting a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Our stay in the cottage [although it was for only one night] was the highlight of our holiday. The location was superb, so tranquil and peaceful. The cottage had everything that one could ever need. The garden was beautifully laid out with some very interesting ornaments. Particularly interesting was the 'Oxbridge' boat in the pond. The cottage was spotless. Very tasty were some home made dainties found on our arrival. The attention to detail was very impressive, even down to a welcome message by the front door. Our hosts were very friendly and professional. We were sorry to leave the place. Truly this was a taste of heaven on earth.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caleb P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Hello again from birds Ferry Lodge - Andre and Alison are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit. Thank you for posting a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westport
7.7 mi away
Omau Settlers Lodge
Omau Settlers Lodge
#1 of 12 in Westport
183 reviews
19.6 mi away
Punakaiki Resort
Punakaiki Resort
#1 of 3 in Punakaiki
687 reviews
8.7 mi away
Carters by the Sea Motel
Carters by the Sea Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Te Nikau Retreat
Te Nikau Retreat
#3 of 7 in Punakaiki
229 reviews
19.7 mi away
Hydrangea Cottages
Hydrangea Cottages
#1 of 7 in Punakaiki
315 reviews
9.3 mi away
Havenlee Homestay
Havenlee Homestay
#3 of 16 in Westport
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birds Ferry Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birds Ferry Lodge

Address: 163 Birds Ferry Road,, Westport 7892, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range: $278 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Birds Ferry Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Birds Ferry Lodge where you will enjoy a wilderness location just North of Punakaiki. This modern and stylish solid timber lodge features comfortable en-suite rooms with baths & balconies with superb mountain, bush and ocean views. The Self-contained cottage "Ferry Man’s Cottage" in its own private garden is perfect for couples seeking privacy or families needing space for children to run. The twin garden baths with hot piped water are a popular ‘kiwiana’ feature! On-site masseuse and day spa. Alison enjoys sourcing local fish and lamb for use in the Lodge kitchen. We grow almost all of the fresh produce used in the kitchen in our 1 hectare vegetable garden along with our own free range eggs from very happy chickens. Be sure to book a dinner which will be a highlight of your stay! FREE WIFI. Nearby are Norwest Adventures, Charleston where you can explore ancient limestone caves and see millions of glow worms. Stay 2 nights to enjoy 10% off the price of this tour. Also nearby is Tauranga Bay where you can view one of New Zealand’s large fur seal colonies and enjoy a scenic cliff top walk to the light house. Stay 2 nights & enjoy a complimentary tailor made local tour with Andre as well as a reduced tariff. NEW for 2011/12 is the "Denniston Experience" which is a short drive from Birds Ferry Lodge. This is a guided trip into a historic coal mine and is outstanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Birds Ferry Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing