We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Birds Ferry Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buller Bridge Motel(Westport)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Westport Motels(Westport)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
McManus Hotel(Westport)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (287)
Filter reviews
287 results
Traveler rating
250
27
6
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
250
27
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bnew zealandone nightsouth islandsmall lakegreat cookfresh eggsgracious hostsdelicious dinnerremote locationhome growna special placehome cooked mealour honeymoontwo nightsother guestsoff the beaten track
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
205 - 210 of 287 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2011

I stayed at the Birds Ferry Cottage with my husband and friends (another couple) for a couple of nights. There was absolutley nothing that Alison and Andre could have thought of to make our stay more perfect. We especially loved the breakfast with home made yogart, muslie, bread, preserves, fresh free range eggs and bacon, juice etc. The evening meal was delivered to our cottage. Alison is a wonderful cook and she caters for vegetarians also. My meal was so delicious everyone wished they'd ordered it! I'd love the recipie Alison :) . No need to BYO wine as you can buy great local wines at the cottage. We'd been traveling for a week so did all our washing and drying. Wonderful!
We watched "Whale Rider" after our meal, which added to the atmosphere of The West Coast. It was very cosy having the fire too and warm rugs. It could be an awsome romantic escape too.
It's a great area to explore. We went on the Charlston Glow worm tour, which was one of the highlights of our holiday. The guide was superb.
We would like to stay a week next time and explore the area more. So much to see and do.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AustraliaLizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2011

Hello again from the 'Best' Coast! Thank you for your detailed review - we are delighted you enjoyed your stay! A&A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2011

I had the great pleasure last week to stay with Andre and Alison Gygax at Birds Ferry Lodge. The transition from road to driveway and from driveway to lodge peeled back the stress and tension of a hard day. This is a place to unwind and relax and my hosts have worked hard to ensure that this is exactly what every visitor does. Andre is a qualified masseuse and had I taken up that option I am sure I would have been even more unwound by the end of my stay. As I arrived the sunset provided a spectacular show http://yfrog.com/gzmkpzcj

The welcome is warm and genuine, the Lockwood construction of the building is solid, warm and exceedingly comfortable. Once in my room I opened the sliding doors to soak in the expansive view over native bush; the silence is almost total, punctuated only by the call of the native birds and the crack and hiss of burning logs on the open fire in the main room.

Before dinner we relaxed in deep plush leather sofas and discussed our respective days by the fire, the large windows still connecting us with the vista. Dinner was a further unwinding experience Alison is a great cook who fed us very well. I slept very well and my only regret is that I did not stay for two nights in order to experience it all again.

One thing is assured, I will be back!

Room Tip: I stayed in the end room
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dakinane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2011

Hello again from the 'Best' Coast! Thank you for your detailed review - we are delighted you enjoyed your stay! A&A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2011

Our two days at Birds Ferry were a delight. Alison & Andre were wonderful hosts, with Alison producing gorgeous food and Andre the benefit of many years experience in the tourist industry, which enabled us to see more lovely places on our way south than we would otherwise have done. The lodge itself is very comfortable, with much attention to detail a good example of which are the low-sided baths, a great help for the less agile amonst us. The area itself is one of quiet beauty. All in all a great place to visit.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AGEDNOMAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2011

Thank you for your detailed review - we are delighted you enjoyed your stay! A&A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

We spent our last night in New Zealand at the Bird's Ferry Lodge. We were originally scheduled to be in Christchurch the day after the earthquake and again on our last night before returning to the US.. Our itinerary was changed around and instead of flying home from Christchurch we flew home from Nelson. The Bird's Ferry Lodge is about 3 hours drive to the airport. We stayed at the Ferry Man's Cottage (that is separate from the main house). What a treat! The cottage is scenically set - great views, beautiful flowers and plants and a lovely pond complete with wildlife. Just sorry that it was too cold to try the outdoor bath tubs! The two bedrooms in the cottage were tastefully decorated, immaculate and had comfy beds. We were just two but this place would be great for a family or two couples who wouldn't mind sharing the well appointed bathroom. We prearranged to have dinner at the lodge and here we met our warm hosts Andre and Allison. Allison prepared a delicious dinner artistically plated using ingredients from her own garden and local produce. (thanks for the recipe for the chocolate mousse meringue cake!). Andre is charming and very knowledgeable about New Zealand - sorry that we didn't have some of his tips earlier on. The way that we got to the Lodge was bittersweet due to the quake but it was one of the most memorable days we had in New Zealand - just wish that we could have stayed longer! On our way to the airport, Andre suggested a ride to a seal colony on the magnificent coastline. The view of the seals, the sunshine and the waves crashing on the rocks was a perfect ending for our adventure in New Zealand.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AZJZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

We were two of four guests in this remote lodge one and a half kilometers down an unsealed road. We were treated as if we were friends. Afternoon tea on arrival, beautiful optional dinner with everything home grown/made and a lovely table setting . Breakfast was prepared individually. Cold and hot dishes prepared in the adjacent open plan kitchen.
Massage and hot tub are available if required.
Maps and advice given concerning the local places of interest.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluesky2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2011

Andre and Alison are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular that you felt at home here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews