We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some people hard to please!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westport Motor Hotel
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Westport
Reviewed December 12, 2009

We stayed a night in December 2009 and couldn't be happier! The rooms were spotless, the bar area very comfortable and the restuarant excellent. We had a fish dish with a local Sav, Blanc. and loved it. More importantly, the owner and staff were very friendly and helpful and made our stay a very positive experience.. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VictoriaChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 64 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2009

This hotel did remind us of Butlins in the 1970's (holiday camp) We had a good size room with all the facilites. The hotel is very dated but this shouldnt put you off if you are looking for a bed for the night. Our deal included breakfast which was fine.

Location is good for the town and parking is adequate at the hotel

As for Westport itself- miss out the whole town if I was you!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bash69Midlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2009

Reading previous reviews made before the refurbishment, I can only assume the hotel has improved its image. personally, I found the facilities available to be excellant and far exceeding those normally associated with motor hotels.
The block of rooms might not look much from the outside, but I could not fault the interior. Everything was clean and well presented.
The bonus of a restaurant on site was a bonus I was not expecting. I had a superb steak meal there - all credit to the catering staff.
Bar staff were very friendly and as a lone traveller, they took the time and effort to chat to me during the evening - again, a gesture I appreciated.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2009

Stopped off here on the way down the west coast. Strange mix of hotel and motel as the name suggests. There is a bar and restaurant which we didn't use. The rooms was basic, but clean and with most of what you expect from a kiwi motel. One problem with the balcony door not closing which the manager fixed promptly. Did notice a few overflowing ashtrays on the balconys which must have been hanging around for a while.
Overall ok.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevintiobraid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2008

had one night in the newly renovated hotel on my way out of the country, and spent a nice evening in the lounge, and was made to feel welcome.

The driveways and common areas are all revamped and look great!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2007

Run down, shabby, dated and basic. We canceled after one night and moved to the Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge back down the street which was the same price and much much better.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank C.Simpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westportmotorhotel, Owner/Manager at The Westport Motor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2007

We would like to apologise for your unfortunate experience at our hotel. While we make every effort to ensure our guests are comfortable and enjoy their stay, it is sometimes necessary to perform maintenance operations. We are sorry you were inconvenienced.

Prior to our busy holiday season, we are refurbishing our units with new bedding and appointments. We are also resurfacing all exterior road and dirveway surfaces with a high quality sealing. These will be completed by Christmas. The exterior paintwork and trim will be renewed by the end of our financial year.

Once again we apologise for your experience, and should you visit Westport again, please contact us and we will be happy to discuss a special rate for you.

Thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,

Margaret Grant
Owner/Manager
Westport Motor Hotel
Westport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Guillaume44000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.5 mi away
Ascot Motor Lodge
Ascot Motor Lodge
#9 of 12 in Westport
46 reviews
0.2 mi away
ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 12 in Westport
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Westport Spa Motel
Westport Spa Motel
#5 of 12 in Westport
98 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westport Motels
Westport Motels
#8 of 12 in Westport
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westport Motor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westport Motor Hotel

Address: 207 Palmerston Street, Westport 7825, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Westport
Price Range: $75 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Westport Motor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westport Hotel is a leading accommodation provider in Westport with 27 studio units combined with onsite Restaurant, House Bar and Sports Bar. The hotel restaurant can cater to all dietary requirements with seating for up to 100 people with buffet and a' la carte dining available. Sunday night smorgasbord very popular. Sports Bar has cosy fire. Enjoy something from our Bar Meal menu and watching Sky Sports on big screen. Conference room set to your style with the venue and menu to suit all occassions. Located on the main street of Westport we are two minutes walk to local shopping centre. The hotel offers you the perfect base to explore all that the Buller region has to offer as well as true West Coast hospitality. Staff are happy to give advice on local attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Westport Motor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing