We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff cannot handle a simple reservation request”
Review of Bella Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2005

I called 2-3 weeks in advance to reserve a mini studio at this motel. I mentioned that I would be arriving late and they assured me that this would be no problem since I guaranteed the room with a credit card. When I arrived, they informed me that they were full and that they would be moving me to a B&B. The woman at the reception stated that they wrote down my reservation on two pieces of paper and on one of them it stated I would be arriving on Monday and on the other it stated I would be arriving on Tuesday. Their solution to this dilemma was to book the motel full both nights and to not worry about me at all.

First of all, I don't understand why this motel writes down reservations on different pieces of paper. Shouldn't they have this computerized so that problems like this don't arise?

Secondly, the industry standard when overbooking is to send the guest to an equal or better property when this occurs. The woman stated that her friend ran a "lovely" B&B and it happened to be charging the same NZ$85 rate. The B&B was awful and a rip-off. If I had wanted a B&B instead of a motel room, I would have booked one. There is a good chance that the manager of this motel overbooks the property purposely to give her friend at the B&B some business.

It is unfortunate that this Bella Vista motel is so poorly run since I had a positive experience at another location. Until someone honest and competent is found to manage this location, I would avoid it. There are other motels in Westport. For tourists, though, I would recommend staying in Punakaiki, which is more scenic and interesting and less than an hour away from Westport.

1  Thank giantsfan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2008

We had had a no show prior to this. We sent many people to this B&B who reported back to us their stay was wonderful. Should you visit our lovely country again we would like you to have a night in a Bella Vista Motel with our compliments.
Marilyn & Trevor Wilson , Bella Vista Westport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 98 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Didier D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled with family
Thank Pontstrasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2015, traveled with friends
Thank Östen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Il semble que la recette soit partout la même. C'est du standard, prenez la chambre la moins chè...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bertrand D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2extreme4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler-cc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westport Motor Hotel
The Westport Motor Hotel
#11 of 12 in Westport
64 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ascot Motor Lodge
Ascot Motor Lodge
#9 of 12 in Westport
46 reviews
0.1 mi away
ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
353 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westport Spa Motel
Westport Spa Motel
#5 of 12 in Westport
99 reviews
2.2 mi away
Carters by the Sea Motel
Carters by the Sea Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel

Address: 314 Palmerston Street, Westport 7825, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Westport
Price Range: $82 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella Vista Motel Westport has 18 units ranging from compact queen studios to one bedroom family units. NZ Qualmark 4**** we provide clean comfortable self contained accommodation for travellers and corporates. Some units have cooking options,there are spa bath studios, a guest laundry, airport transfers by arrangement, breakfasts available and wireless internet. Ample free off street car parking. We are situated close to the town centre, cafes, restaurants and supermarkets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bella Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing