We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable for the Area”
Review of Bella Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Reasonable for the Area”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Clean, tidy and reasonably priced, considering that there is very limited choice in Westport. Motel 8 style, but probably the best choice in Westport. This town definitely needs some great boutique B&B's or lodges.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hi, thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your comments and hope you enjoyed visiting Westport and the beautiful West Coast of the south island.
Marilyn & Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    45
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
55
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nambour
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband has used this motel a couple of times before on his way to the HeaphyTrack.
The service is good, the rooms are clean and large enough for the sorting through you need to do prior to tramping. Close enough to the supermarket to cart your supplies - good practice for what's ahead. The owners are helpful with airport pickups if arranged ahead of time

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnowDreamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hi 'Snowdreamers', very much appreciate your comments. Look forward to having you stay again in the future.
Marilyn & Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed here on our way through from Blenheim. Everything was as we expected. A standard motel on the main drag of Westport. The host put the heater on for us prior to our arrival. Room was fairly tired.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KruegsAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Hello, thank you for staying with us, we hope you enjoyed your visit to Westport and had time to explore the Buller area. Regards Marilyn & Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. Being our first time in Westport, the staff were so friendly and helpful which made us feel very welcome!

Returned to motel each afternoon to a superbly serviced room, beds made, fresh towels, even dishes done! The room had lovely décor, modern but homely and was spotless every day.
Nice and quiet area but walking distance to supermarkets, restaurants/takeaways.

I will definitely stay here again and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We look forward to having you stay again sometime
Marilyn & Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Having been away from my home town on the West Coast for almost two years now, it was lovely to stand outside my unit and watch the awesome West Coast mist descend down.....and then it rained!
Our unit was upstairs, husband forgot to book access room. Up I went with walking stick to find out husband had forgot to book 2 bedroom unit. So, with a queens and a single in one room we settled in for three nights. It was lovely. The beds were comfortable, the room was warm, even during a particularly foul piece of weather. Didnt need to anything. The hairdryer was in the bedroom instead of then bathroom which I found weird at first, until I realised how easy it was to do my hair while the boys were using the bathroom.
Our room had a good sized wardrobe with ironing board and iron. Great has we had a formal function to attend. Although not a full kitchen, I am sure you could whip up an easy snack in it.
The shower had great water pressure and the bathroom was always keot well stocked for our needs. I also asked for extra towels on one of our days, not a problem.
I also used a guest laundry whilst I was here. It too was clean and tidy. Large carparking area. All in all, a quiet, basic retreat away from our daily business.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tounga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hi, thanks for your kind comments. Yes the weather was rather wet for your visit. Hopefully if you visit again we can give you a larger unit.
Marilyn & Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Marilyn was the perfect hostess, Like most of the places we have stayed, at over our 5 weeks so far in New Zealand, she was very helpful with local knowledge on attractions and restaurants. Room was large very clean (when she showed us into the room she inspected it in detail because she and her husband had been away for a few days and the person who took our booking had been in charge . Needless to say the room was perfect.but it showed her attention to detail looking after guests. Plenty of car parking space. My first experience of Bella Vista and hopefully not my last

Room Tip: 2 level so we prefer ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cranmorebelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your first Bella Vista experience and we look forward to having you stay again sometime.
Marilyn & Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is our second time staying at the Bella Vista Motel, Westport. The motel has a high standard of cleanliness, good quality fittings, crisp sheets and thick towels. The bathroom has a very good shower, plenty of hot water, and complimentary toiletries. The owners are friendly and welcoming. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: We requested a ground floor unit as it is more convenient with luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrisbaneTraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We appreciate your kind comments and hope to see you again some day.

Marilyn & Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westport Motor Hotel
The Westport Motor Hotel
#12 of 12 in Westport
63 reviews
0.1 mi away
ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge
0.6 mi away
Ascot Motor Lodge
Ascot Motor Lodge
#9 of 12 in Westport
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buller Court on Palmerston
2.2 mi away
Carters by the Sea Motel
Carters by the Sea Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel

Property: Bella Vista Motel
Address: 314 Palmerston Street, Westport 7825, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella Vista Motel Westport has 18 units ranging from compact queen studios to one bedroom family units. NZ Qualmark 4**** we provide clean comfortable self contained accommodation for travellers and corporates. Some units have cooking options,there are spa bath studios, a guest laundry, airport transfers by arrangement, breakfasts available and wireless internet. Ample free off street car parking. We are situated close to the town centre, cafes, restaurants and supermarkets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Bella Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing