We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very High Standard”
Review of Bella Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Very High Standard”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is our second time staying at the Bella Vista Motel, Westport. The motel has a high standard of cleanliness, good quality fittings, crisp sheets and thick towels. The bathroom has a very good shower, plenty of hot water, and complimentary toiletries. The owners are friendly and welcoming. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: We requested a ground floor unit as it is more convenient with luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrisbaneTraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We appreciate your kind comments and hope to see you again some day.

Marilyn & Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    45
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
55
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We have been in New Zealand for 6 weeks and this is the first Bella Vista we have stayed at. If they are all like this one we would be happy to book into them again.

Nice friendly welcome from the owner, plus complimentary milk.

We had booked a two bedroom unit and were allocated Unit 9.

Nice large unit, modern, well equipped, everything you need for you stay, plenty of room to move around in and very clean.

The main room had a very large comfortable bed, compact full kitchen with small oven, two ring hob, fridge with a small freezer compartment, pots and pans and utensils, table for 4 and working desk. Large TV with 50+ Sky Channels.

Off the main room was a second bedroom with a single bed and two bunk beds.

Large bathroom with an excellent size shower unit and powerful shower.

You get 70Mb of free Wi Fi can buy more at $10 for a further 250Mb

Plenty of free car parking.

Room Tip: Unit 9 - Two bedroom well equipped lots of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueJim126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Your kind comments are very much appreciated, we enjoyed having you to stay. We hope the remainder of your journey went well for you.
Regards Marilyn & Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

On a passing visit through Westport my partner and I spent a night in a king studio.
For some reason we had tended to stay away from the Bella Visita hotels around the country but decided we would stay at the Westport franchise. Happy to say we were presently surprised! The room was very clean, small kitchenette that had all we needed, 50+ sky channels.
I also like hotels that give you real milk not that long shelve like stuff so that was a bonus. Also liked the added touch of a recycling bin. Very friendly host that was more than happy to answer any questions or give advice. Would recommend to others to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrSmith00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
We appreciate your kind comments on your stay with us. We hope to see you again someday.
Marilyn & Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here for business in early Feburary. Great immaculately clean rooms and Sky Guest Select which was a real bonus. I really want to mention Ross who was on the day I checked in, there were a group of travellers from overseas in front of me when I checked in and he was so kind,friendly and more than happy to give them heaps of advice about where to eat, go, what to do etc it was so nice to find a manager who doesn't just throw a map at people across the desk. Apparently the owners were away on holiday, you sure have chosen great people to represent your business in your absence!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We have forwarded this to Ross who was managing while we were away. We know the business is in good hands when they are here. We appreciate you staying with us.
Marilyn & Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novosibirsk, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed 1 night in this motel.
+
Exceptional service by Bella Vista motels.
We were able to book this motel after asking for help in Bella vista hokitika. Manager there helped us with booking and provided all directions. And manager in Westport helped us via leaving the keys in the room as we were not able to reach the westport in their working hours.
Room clean and big.
-
What I hate most about 80% of NZ hotels is shower. Which is usually fixed at height of 180cm.
C'mon! With my height of 192 washing my head becomes very funny 1st time, but very irritating when seeing this stuff in 5th hotel again...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreyT1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. Pleased we could help in your situation. Point noted about the shower height. Hope you enjoyed the remainder of your time in NZ.
Marilyn & Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed over again in the Bella Vista for a recent school reunion. Has been consistently good each time we have stayed.
Owners very friendly. Some free wifi was included which is always good.
Unit was clean and well presented.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are happy you had a good experience with us. Maybe we will see you back sometime.
Marilyn & Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We recently stayed at the Bella Vista in the middle of some terrible weather - even with power cutting in and out of Westport was the owners were really helpful and friendly and room was really nice & clean.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aimee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
We did have a rough time that night, pleased you enjoyed the experience. Hopefully if you visit again sometime the weather will be much nicer. Thanks for your kind words.
Marilyn & Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westport Motor Hotel
The Westport Motor Hotel
#11 of 12 in Westport
63 reviews
0.1 mi away
ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge
0.6 mi away
Ascot Motor Lodge
Ascot Motor Lodge
#9 of 12 in Westport
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buller Court on Palmerston
0.1 mi away
Westport Spa Motel
Westport Spa Motel
#5 of 12 in Westport
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel

Property: Bella Vista Motel
Address: 314 Palmerston Street, Westport 7825, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella Vista Motel Westport has 18 units ranging from compact queen studios to one bedroom family units. NZ Qualmark 4**** we provide clean comfortable self contained accommodation for travellers and corporates. Some units have cooking options,there are spa bath studios, a guest laundry, airport transfers by arrangement, breakfasts available and wireless internet. Ample free off street car parking. We are situated close to the town centre, cafes, restaurants and supermarkets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Bella Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing