We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Bella Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed over again in the Bella Vista for a recent school reunion. Has been consistently good each time we have stayed.
Owners very friendly. Some free wifi was included which is always good.
Unit was clean and well presented.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. We are happy you had a good experience with us. Maybe we will see you back sometime.
Marilyn & Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 98 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

We recently stayed at the Bella Vista in the middle of some terrible weather - even with power cutting in and out of Westport was the owners were really helpful and friendly and room was really nice & clean.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Aimee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

We did have a rough time that night, pleased you enjoyed the experience. Hopefully if you visit again sometime the weather will be much nicer. Thanks for your kind words.
Marilyn & Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I choose Bella Vista wherever possible because you know what you're getting. Westport's branch is well appointed, very clean and quiet. The owners are very friendly and really helpful. I enjoyed my stay very much and will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments Nicky. We are happy your experience with us was a pleasant one and we look forward to your company in the future. Seasons greetings to you and yours.
Marilyn, Trevor and Bella Vista Westport Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We wanted to have a look at a unit here and possibly stay the night, we went into the reception area and rang a bell, the guy who we had seen outside wandering round shutting doors finally decided to come in and attend to us, then he proceeded to try and put us off even having a look, he did tell us the price but after hearing his bad attitude we decided to say we would think about it and left, never to go back.
Went to look at the place next door but he never had anything suitable and we mentioned this guy and apparently that is quite normal, whereas the guy in the neighboring motel was great and very helpful, will stay there another day.

Room Tip: Dont bother with this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank turtle63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you for your comments, we are sorry you had this experience at our place. We have made your comment known to all 'guys' on our staff with not knowing when this was and who it might have been. It is unfortunate this happened, but we can all have off days. If you would like to make contact with us, email or phone we would appreciate hearing from you.
Have a lovely day
Kind regards
Marilyn & Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

I stayed for a few nights in the Bella Vista, in the main street of Westport, on a business trip.

The street itself was relatively quiet, although some of the guests in neighbouring rooms on a couple of nights on my stay weren't quite so quiet. And unfortunately the wind was blowing just so one night, causing my neighbouring guest's cigarette smoke to blow straight in my room's window. Even after closing the window (and losing the nice breeze), the smoke still found its way under the front door. I think I was just unlucky, really, and it was only a single evening's inconvenience.

The rooms are modern and well maintained, and cleaned well and regularly. They are a little smaller than some of the alternatives in the town, and there's only a limited selection of TV channels compared to some of the competitors, if you're wanting to watch TV. (I wasn't, so it didn't matter too much to me.)

Internet access is great value for a longer stay and I had no issues with it at all. International VPN access to my office over the motel's WiFi network worked without a hitch.

The toiletries are top notch -- manuka honey soap and even a small bottle of moisturiser -- and the tea and coffee selection is better than that provided by some competitors in town. You even receive a couple of daily cookies, which seems to be a bit of a rarity in motels in this part of the world.

The self-catering was relatively basic, with a microwave, mobile hotplates, kettle, toaster, etc, and a bar fridge. Not great if you want to cook in an oven or want icecream to stay frozen, but pretty standard for most self-catering motels in which I've stayed. The guest laundry only has one washer and one dryer, and is typically pricey -- no worse than others, but no better either. It all seemed to work fine, however.

I felt a little crowded in the room, which could have done with a bit more square footage. The bed was comfortable, although I had some trouble sleeping at nights due to the many lights left on outside. I've noticed that this happens in some other motels in Westport, too. I suppose there's a tradeoff to be made between giving enough light for guests to move around outside during the night, but retaining enough darkness to make it easy to sleep inside. I would suggest toning the lights down a little, or fitting larger and thicker window coverings. But again, only a minor complaint.

The owner was friendly and pleasant, and I saw her trying to help some other guests out a couple of times during my stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PacificFing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2012

Thank you for your comments following your stay with us.
We do have larger units with cooking options and even some with ovens.
We too will have 50+ television channels after being rewired next month.
Regarding the lighting it is necessary to leave the lights on for guests safety also for security.
We appreciate the points you have raised - we have to hope other guests are considerate to the person in the next unit.
We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Thank you
Marilyn & Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Our unit was upstairs and although on the main street we had no traffic noise. The power shower really was !! The beds comfortable the kitchen well equipped with a fast toaster!! A first was in the bathroom a black face cloth marked 'make up' so obvious !!
Very clean unit with helpful operators

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVWestport, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Hi, We appreciate your comments and pleased you enjoyed your Bella Vista experience. Look forward to having you stay again sometime.
Marilyn & Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We thougt this accommodation was just rebuilded, everything looked brand new. We gave the owner a compliment for the cleannes and she told us they rebuilded 12 years ago.
Good laundry, good television en perfect beds. Two supermarkets located at about 400 m.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaapScheemda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. We hope you come and stay with us again.

Marilyn & Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westport Motor Hotel
The Westport Motor Hotel
#11 of 12 in Westport
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge
0.6 mi away
Ascot Motor Lodge
Ascot Motor Lodge
#9 of 12 in Westport
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buller Court on Palmerston
0.1 mi away
Westport Spa Motel
Westport Spa Motel
#5 of 12 in Westport
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel

Address: 314 Palmerston Street, Westport 7825, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Westport
Price Range: $82 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella Vista Motel Westport has 18 units ranging from compact queen studios to one bedroom family units. NZ Qualmark 4**** we provide clean comfortable self contained accommodation for travellers and corporates. Some units have cooking options,there are spa bath studios, a guest laundry, airport transfers by arrangement, breakfasts available and wireless internet. Ample free off street car parking. We are situated close to the town centre, cafes, restaurants and supermarkets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Bella Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing