We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best motel I've stayed in to date!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Buller Bridge Motel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Best motel I've stayed in to date!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

The Buller Bridge literally was the best motel I've stayed in to date.

Excellent rooms, superbly clean & modern. Incredibly welcoming hosts and fantastic garden/BBQ facilities. The bathrooms were spotless and the shower was nice and powerful - the bathroom even has top-down heating lights incase you're chilly in the morning!

The WiFi was fast and simple to use which is a fantastic bonus as in most motels in NZ WiFi is very questionable!

Couldn't recommend more!

Room Tip: We had room 12 - simply fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    83
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
100
172
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Forchheim, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

I stayed in the Crip and everything was superclean, well-maintained and even a large bottle of water was provided in addition to the fresh milk. The location is very convenient - easy walk into town center and close to main roads, but no traffic noise. Very helpful host. Just the perfect stay. I wish I could have stayed longer to explore more of the area as there is a lot of mining history around. Only stayed 1 night. Cape Foulwind and a seal colony close by.
Again - THE perfect stay and highly recommend to everybody - solo travellers, couples or families.

Room Tip: the crip is perfect for solo travellers or couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank poetzale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We did a driving tour from Auckland to Queenstown. Westport was a nice break between Picton and Franz Joseph, so that was my original intent. But, I found Westport incredibly charming and Buller Bridge Motel was quaint, friendly, charming and very comfortable beds. Its on the coast and easy walk into town for dinner. We booked online with no problems and the rooms are big, clean with great showers!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoHall123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights on our 3 week journey across the South Island. It was our favorite stay on our entire journey. The room was immaculate and very spacious. Close proximity to restaurants and shopping as well as points of interest. Owners were very helpful and went out of their way to meet all our needs. Would highly recommend a stay here.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lizron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
133 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Very good motel. We used it for only one stop over night.
A lot of space in the room, very clean and in a quite area.The hosts are helpful and friendly. A supermarket an restaurants are close to the motel. We drove to the seals little bit outside of Westport, We can recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rheinlaender06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

We travelled from Nelson to Westport over the very scenic Buller Gorge and chose to at Westport, as we wanted to drive on up to Karamea the next day. Upon arrival, we had a look around the old Deniston coal mine, then drove to the lighthouse. All of which we enjoyed. The following day, our travels took us to Karamea and then on to the Oparara Basin. It didn't look to be as popular as some other places we've visited but we loved it and would recommend seeing it. We almost got to the most northern part of the South Island and were pleased we did so. It was great to come back to our serviced room after a day out.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
143 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

A good value motel run by friendly helpful hosts. We stayed one night on our way through to Nelson. We were welcomed by the owner and given reccos for shops, restaurants and things to do and a bottle of fresh milk. The room was small but light, airy and clean with small kitchenette area with kettle and toaster. Bathroom with shower and toiletries. Free wifi. Well kept patio and garden area with barbeque and trampoline that guests can use.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yarrow1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.1 mi away
ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge
0.3 mi away
The Westport Motor Hotel
The Westport Motor Hotel
#9 of 12 in Westport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ascot Motor Lodge
Ascot Motor Lodge
#10 of 12 in Westport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Carters by the Sea Motel
Carters by the Sea Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Buller Court on Palmerston
6.0 mi away
Omau Settlers Lodge
Omau Settlers Lodge
#1 of 12 in Westport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buller Bridge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buller Bridge Motel

Property: Buller Bridge Motel
Address: 32a The Esplanade | Buller, Westport 7825, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Buller Bridge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 15 self-contained and daily serviced apartments, full kitchen facilities. FREE Unlimited High Speed wireless Internet. 50+ Channels Sky TV Guest Select. Children's playground. Undercover BBQ area. Very quiet, clean, spacious complex with plenty of off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buller Bridge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buller Bridge Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing