We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful, peaceful place in every season”
Review of The Bay House

The Bay House
Ranked #2 of 30 Restaurants in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $26
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Nestled into the native bush clad peninsula of Tauranga Bay (Maori for 'sheltered bay'), The Bay House has a unique coastal location giving a sense of escape to somewhere close to paradise. Overlooking the Tasman surf, The Bay House is one of New Zealand's most picturesque dining environments offering a range of options for guests depending on their mood, the time of day and the weather: we offer casual lunches from 11.30am to 3pm and A la Carte Dining in the evening from 5.30pm in the summer months. With stunning waterfront views from almost all tables on the premises and seasonal New Zealand style cuisine, the iconic Bay House is a true destination for all in search of a memorable dining experience in a world class location. PARKING NOTE: Please note we are situated at the edge of Tauranga Bay at the end of a one lane No exit road. (there is a turnaround bay at the end of this road however.) We have 5 carparks then there is the lane to park on however is narrow for large vehicles. Then there is the pubic car park 80 metres before you arrive at the restaurant. This is suitable for larger camper vans etc.
Westport, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful, peaceful place in every season”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Under new owners. Just as good as it ever was. Good food and very friendly. Make sure to make reservations for dinner.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Helena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    55
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“You won’t be disappointed!”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Thankfully we were told about this excellent restaurant before we travelled south. We made a point of visiting for Sunday brunch and we were not disappointed.
The day was stunning, so was the food, the staff and the view.
The Bay House is a must to visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janey57NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Lazy day pleasure”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Couldn't think of a better place to go for coffee & cake on a sunny Sunday afternoon. Felt like a destination in itself. Great view, great coffee, great cake!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank MsJenn17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Only has location going for it”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Plenty of room for improvement here. Coffee, food and service certainly don't match the world class location of this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissRas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandiedh, Manager at The Bay House, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Hi MissRas,

Thank you for your feedback. We certainly would like to think there is always room for improvement in our service, coffee and food standards. Being new on the westport restaurant scene we really appreciate constructive criticism especially from our loyal locals on how we can raise the bar and exceed your expectations. We are a small team at the Bay House and like to think we are friendly and approachable. In the future please dont hesitate to make us aware of any issue so we can remedy it immediately. Thank you again for for your comments.

Regards,

The Bay House team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An absolute gem”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We reckon it'd be hard to improve anything about this place. It's perfect in so many ways - staff friendliness, stylish decor, amazing food, great wine recommendation, stunning views - it's just WOW! World class right there in Westport. We'll be back at every opportunity!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rhopenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bay House also viewed

Westport, West Coast Region
Westport, West Coast Region
 
Westport, West Coast Region
 
Westport, West Coast Region
Westport, West Coast Region
 

Been to The Bay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing