We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Westport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport
Reviewed January 31, 2014

This place was comfortable and very nice and clean. It was the only backpackers we stayed in in NZ as I had read the reviews that this one was excellent and indeed it was.
Would recommend it to any traveller.
Book directly with them and not through a third-party site.

Room Tip: We had a room with two single beds which were comfortable and well blanketed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 163 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

Even if I probably wouldn't recommend Westport (other than being somewhere to sleep when you go to all the different activities in the area) Tripinn Hostel was great. We had a ensuite room with a nice double bed and a single. Clean room, nice beds. Nice and clean new bathroom. Service was also great and the rest of the hostel seemed very nice. Nice garden area to sit in (or lie in hammock) and great kitchen area etc. Great spot. Good value.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonashomaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Love the owners! This place run by a family thus really feels like home, not like a dorm. The garden is very nice. comfortable bed. big kitchen and great garden. the common room is a nice place to relax. the house is quite historical and vintage. missed their pets as well, poppie especially. the price is great value for money. the best in town.

Room Tip: the double bed unit is really cute
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andreooi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

With a 10 minute walk from the town centre and supermarket two blocks away was quite a relaxing stay. Rather a large house come hostel with a spotless kitchen, probably the best we have seen other than our own mothers, and massive living room. The room was good and not much if any noises during the night. Free bike hire which was a nice touch and sky tv.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

The TripInn Hostel is very nice, the kitchen is well appointed, the rooms are spacious and their are many other things like a nice and big garden around the house, a TV- room, a Play- room with pool, dart and table tennis. The service is really friendly and kind.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VerenaRi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We spent two nights here in October 2013 in a twin room which was warm and clean. Great outdoor area and brilliant movie room. The house has a lot of character and a fireplace which was kept going all day. Walking distance into town and around the corner to the Denniston Dog which I recommend. Great value for money. Kitchen had all it needed and also has an outdoor clothes line and a dryer. Bathrooms were clean and the showers had plenty of hot water. The owners were friendly and so were their cats and Poppy the dog.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank LadyBrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is based on a one night stay.
The welcome was very hostile and cold. It was a rainy day in early spring. Hostel was full but not a single person seemed to be a backpacker: there was a family of 4 (a younger and an older couple) with a small child, some group of over 50years old. We stayed in a double room with shared bathroom. Bathroom was shared and unisex which I found odd after staying in so many hostels in NZ. The film room was the only thing that can be worth to mention.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meImyself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.2 mi away
Bazil's Hostel & Surf School
0.4 mi away
Wayne's World Westport
Wayne's World Westport
#5 of 11 in Westport
20 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westport Motels
Westport Motels
#8 of 12 in Westport
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
357 reviews
2.2 mi away
Carters by the Sea Beachside Apartments
6.1 mi away
Omau Settlers Lodge
Omau Settlers Lodge
#1 of 12 in Westport
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport

Address: 72 Queen Street, Westport 7825, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Westport
Price Range: $46 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backpackers accommodation, Located in Westport on the wild west coast ,We cater for all travellers. Base yourself in our beautiful 150 year old colonial hostel and explore Karamea and the limestone arches, Heaphy track, or take a ride into history with the Denniston under ground coalmine tour,the old ghost road, or a 4 wheel drive with out west tours to the modern open pit mine on the Stockton Plateau with its stunning views of the northern Buller. To the south, Punakaiki and the pancake rocks or the historical gold fields of Charleston, home of underworld rafting, all a short drive away. Buller adventure tours with jet boating and horse riding, seal colony and surfing at Tauranga bay all a short ride away on our free bicycles. Book your next hostel with our free wifi. Games room and covered BBQ, free movies, tea and coffee, for those that just want to relax in our beautiful garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing