We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unwelcoming hostel for youngsters it seems?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport
Certificate of Excellence
bedfont
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Unwelcoming hostel for youngsters it seems?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

Lovely very old building that perhaps needs abit of decor updating inside without loosing it's character. Front garden is kept lovely. Owners clearly have a love of cats and it smells so when you first enter. Had a double room with shared bathroom. Room ok size and clean - as were bathrooms. Didn't feel welcomed here however - loads of do and don't signage that seemed extreme. For example there was apparently CCTV in the kitchen to watch if you did your washing up - and if you didn't you were going to be thrown out. I always do my washing up - but I felt uncomfortable by this. Also it was stated several times in the hostel and in rooms that check out was at 10am and you must be off the premises by 10.30. As if you would want to stick around. And one last example - there were a few guests inc myself and my boyfriend that were in the living room in the evening watching one of the rugby semi finals. When the game finished most of the guests went out or to bed and we were just sat watching some of the game aftermath about to go to bed ourselves (only around 10pm), when the owner comes in in her pjs and turns off all the lights! So we could either leave or sit there in the dark. Very strange! I have stayed in many hostels and understand that standards of cleanliness and noise must be kept - but Westport is hardly party central and even if we are 22 we are hardly causing a raucous quietly watching rugby interviews! We felt like unwanted pests in her house - not paying guests!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leolion1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
journeyman02, Owner at TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
Im sorry you did not feel welcomed at our hostel, the small sign in the bedrooms tells our guests they are welcome to stay until 10:30 am instead of the usual check out time of 10am, most guests appreciate this extra half an hour, no where do we state that you must be off the premises. We have 1 sign in the kitchen reminding people to do their dishes (this benefits all guests as they have a nice clean kitchen to work in) before this sign was put up the kitchen was left very messy, not all people are as diligent as you. As for the cat smell out side the front door, Westport does stray cats which hang around and may have sprayed there, this problem has been taken care of. lastly, the t.V room is a large room with dining room attached,with many lights, when most people are in bed we turn off lights at the dining end of the room no ones in, we NEVER turn all the lights out if people are still in the room. We are a very large hostel and although we try to cater for all I guess we cant make every one happy. I hope you had a wonderful holiday while in New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    42
    18
    6
    2
See reviews for
9
46
35
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

When we talk about hostel, we often think of young people. However, my cousin and I, both over well over 40 stayed in one of their twin rooms and loved it. Lovely building, 150 years old, nice and caring staff, clear rules about noise control and hygiene. Price was the lowest in town, $30 per person. We had a good quality bed each, with new electric blankets, towels and clean space all around us. Great value for money, we'll certainly be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlinaLandini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

The TripInn is a lovely hostel! It was my home away from home for 6 weeks and I had a great time there. The hosts are very friendly and helpful and make you feel at home. The villa itself with is high ceilings is beautiful. Good and clean facilities, comfortable beds. Lovely garden and deck! And the cozy fireplace and movie room are perfect for a rainy day. Ocassionally fresh tomatoes from the garden and fruit for free. Perfect place to just relax or to start a day trip to Tauranga Bay, Karamea or Denniston.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraLdA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

I stayed at TripInn as part of a large group passing through town. When we arrived it seemed that having twenty something backpackers collectively spending over $500 to stay the night was the biggest inconvenience. When we were checked in service was rude, and we weren't told or shown where anything was, simply told "Do not go upstairs, everything you need is downstairs."

The next morning when we tried checking out and getting our key deposits returned, we were told that everyone on the bus would not receive their key deposits until we had cleaned the kitchen. When I asked why it was our responsibility, we were told that there were cameras in the kitchen, and staff had seen people from our bus leaving a mess in the kitchen. When I asked who it was from our bus the woman at the desk, I assume manager or owner, said she didn't know, she didn't have time to watch the whole video, but it was someone that "had our look". I said that this was highly unfair, and they couldn't keep our key deposit and make us clean the kitchen, but she simply said that we would get our deposits back, when we cleaned the kitchen and went upstairs.

That is probably the worst service I have ever received, and these people need to learn that in the hospitality industry you need to provide hospitality to your guests, not harrass them. When I asked to speak to someone else that worked at the Inn, she said I am the only person here, which leaves no room to complain.

Room Tip: Stay at Basils!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyttyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2011

wesport in general is very dull and nothing to do there. meaning we were mostly at the hostel, and luckily the tv room there (2 of them) was very up to date with movies and cable with good shows.
nice and big back yard right next to the kitchen so you can sit outside and enjoy your meal. the reception wasn't available at all times which wasn't the best, and the linen felt like it was overlly used...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yula1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2006

Like all the BBH hostels we stayed at, TripInn was a very friendly, helpful, clean, and reasonably-priced hostel. The very helpful and delightful owners let us send our bags to them early and kept them for the days while we were walking the Heaphy Track. They also helped us find a nice place to eat, the bus stop we needed, and even offered to drive us to the restaurant we'd chosen when they saw my wife limping (or, doing the "Heaphy Shuffle"). Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Tucson_Cello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.2 mi away
Bazil's Hostel & Surf School
0.4 mi away
Buller Court on Palmerston
2.2 mi away
Carters by the Sea Motel
Carters by the Sea Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westport Motels
Westport Motels
#8 of 12 in Westport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
2.4 mi away
Carters Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport

Property: TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport
Address: 72 Queen Street, Westport 7825, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backpackers accommodation, Located in Westport on the wild west coast ,We cater for all travellers. Base yourself in our beautiful 150 year old colonial hostel and explore Karamea and the limestone arches, Heaphy track, or take a ride into history with the Denniston under ground coalmine tour,the old ghost road, or a 4 wheel drive with out west tours to the modern open pit mine on the Stockton Plateau with its stunning views of the northern Buller. To the south, Punakaiki and the pancake rocks or the historical gold fields of Charleston, home of underworld rafting, all a short drive away. Buller adventure tours with jet boating and horse riding, seal colony and surfing at Tauranga bay all a short ride away on our free bicycles. Book your next hostel with our free wifi. Games room and covered BBQ, free movies, tea and coffee, for those that just want to relax in our beautiful garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing