We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no fan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Westport
Reviewed February 8, 2010

living room with double bed, table, 3 seats and 2 lazy seats and kitchen incl cooking facilities. Bedroom with double bed. For 1 for 155 NZ$. On itself reasonable if it wasn't for the fact that there is no musquito curtains and no an of airco. The combination results in a too hot room and many bites. The beds to be tested but seem a bit soft(springs). When climate control/mosquito protection are fixed I can recommend but now absolutely not!

Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
2  Thank JeroenW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 65 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2010

Stayed here overnight on our way down the coast.

Great sized rooms, room for the kids upsatiars, room for us downstaiars, with a good sized kitchen area and good sized lounge area, plenty of room for us all.

parking outide the room, free newspaper and friendly host. if ever in the area would stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank obiyass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2009

Stayed here with my young family and was perfect. Some of decor such as bathrooms getting dated but fastidiously presented.

Had a family funeral to go to and they even offered us umbrellas to take as rain was looming.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hardsell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

Myself, my husband, my sister, brother and sister-in-law stayed here for three nights as we were up celebrating our nana's birthday with family. The units were of a good size and very clean and warm. There were some nice gestures such as free biscuits and also proper filter coffee with a plunger, not just the instant sachets most places give you. The owners were very helpful and welcoming. As we were in a front unit it was loud at times with cars and people coming in and out, but overall it was a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chile_chicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2009

We have just stayed at this motel and found it very good. I would recommend it. It is easy to access restaurants from the motel. Staff were most obliging. I left shoes behind and the management contacted me and promptly sent them to where I was travelling to.
We like Westport very much as a short stopover as there are great drives to do from there. The scenery up to the Heaphy track is great. It is definitely worth a trip to the local sea colony. We also visited Denniston, fictional home of Denniston Rose. superbe vviews from the top of this hill providing you pick a good day.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cressida_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2007

We stayed here only a few days ago and would happily visit this clean comfortable motel again. Although there is not alot going on in Westport the motel was a pleasant place to spend a night enroute to Christchurch. The owners were very helpful and obliging offering us a selection of rooms to inspected before making our choice and then suggested a number of restaurents where we might like to eat.

Stayed: November 2007
5  Thank Globetrotter14202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2007

Westport is a small town and most of the motels are based on the one main road which takes you into westport and to be honest there isn't much choice available.
The room was ok - clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sun247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.7 mi away
Ascot Motor Lodge
Ascot Motor Lodge
#9 of 12 in Westport
47 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westport Motor Hotel
The Westport Motor Hotel
#11 of 12 in Westport
65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Westport Spa Motel
Westport Spa Motel
#5 of 12 in Westport
99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 12 in Westport
98 reviews
0 mi away
Buller Court on Palmerston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge

Address: 330 Palmerston Street, Westport 7825, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Westport
Price Range: $103 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge offers quality accommodation for business and leisure travellers. Whatever the purpose of your visit, we would love to be your hosts and our aim is to make your stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. Let us share our local knowledge and help to make your visit to Westport one to remember. ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge is a large and spacious complex of 20 units, with ample off-street parking.We offer a range of units to suit all requirements. Our units are clean, warm, comfortable, well-appointed and tastefully decorated. They range in size from studios (for 1 - 3 guests) to 2 and 3 bedroom apartments with 2 bathrooms (for up to 6 guests). Some units have spa baths for your complete relaxation after a day of travelling, exploring, sight-seeing or work. All units have cooking facilities, hairdryers, electric blankets, an iron and ironing board, and are fully serviced daily.Secure wireless internet is available with an initial access code supplied free of charge. We offer a selection of 50+ Freeview and Sky TV channels. There is a children’s play area with swings for the little ones and a trampoline. Guest laundry facilities are available.The property is located close to the town centre and within easy walking distance of restaurants and supermarkets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Gateway Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing