We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Friendly Welcome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Westport
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Friendly Welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Needed somewhere to stay, pulled in , very friendly welcome, nice clean comfortable room.Laundry facility excellent, WiFi reception good, nice places to eat just down the road. Highly recommend as place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matron63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChelseaGateway, Owner at ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found our facilities to be good. We strive hard to maintain our high standards and pay attention to detail at all times. It was a pleasure to be your hosts and we hope that maybe you will be able to make a return visit some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    24
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
22
21
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in February 2012.
Quite a number of motels in Westport. Booked online and received a prompt reply.
A number of units available here perhaps not laid out in the most attractive manner. But everyting externally looked clean, fresh and encouraging. The studio unit booked was placed at first floor level and had a small balcony - great for breakfast or an early evening glass of wine. The unit was large - with a good bed, table and chairs, comfy armchair, and plenty of storage space. The kitchenette was good, well stocked and well lay-out. The bathroom was functional, did everything required, but looked a bit old fashioned. Wifi reception was good, provided at a reasonable price.
The owners were friendly and helpful. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidofDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

Unpleasant welcome and just as bad send off.Mr Grumpy who checked us in lacked people skills.Made no effort to converse other than cursing the computer because it wasn't doing what he wanted it to do.When checking out once again no conversation other than telling me where to sign the payment.The west coast is renowned for it's friendliness,but we certainly didn't find it at this motel.
Other than that we had a great weekend in Westport being involved in the marathon where we met some really nice locals.
Certainly wouldn't recommend this place to our friends or family.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 44NZTraveller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
We agree that the annual Marathon in Westport is a great event. It is our busiest weekend of the year and because of this we don't have as much time to converse with our guests as we normally would. The majority of our Marathon weekend guests are repeat guests who re-book from year to year and enjoy coming back. We regret that this guest felt our service fell short of our usual high standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

Due to local flooding we stopped "on spec" and were grateful for a last minute cancellation to find space at Chelsea Gateway. The room was clean and very adequately equipped. The management were helpful and referred us to an excellent restaurant. Location: It is on the main drag so local port traffic and the proximity of the police station meant that sleep was occasionally disrupted.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hunger4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
We are pleased that we were able to provide accommodation for this group, and that they found the unit, our service and the restaurant we recommended to their liking. We would like to correct a couple of points in relation to our location, which the guests appear to have been misinformed about. The port of Westport is not a large operation and generates only a small amount of traffic which uses a back street, not the main route past our property. Also, the police station is not located close to our property. As in any community, emergency services can be called out at any time and sirens may be heard, sometimes at night. Being a small town, this is thankfully not a frequent occurrence here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2011

We stopped overnight here. The staff were friendly and helpful and the unit we had was of good size and clean. We used the laundry room which was also very clean and the washing machine and drier efficient. The location was good with a restaurant across the road. For us a good stopover motel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janetcifarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

Stayed here overnight and glad it was just that. The room was clean and roomy but sleep was very broken. The main problem is the noisy road and unlucky for us the constant sirens from police and fire service. This also seems to be a meeting place for various groups who during our stay partied late into the night, the thin walls make this worse. I would look elsewhere if I return to this area.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loftylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

Chelsea Motor Hotel.
Located in the (very) quiet town of Westport this aging motel needs new carpet. Although spacious, the units are dated with some upgrades. The beds are comfortable and the sheets crisp and clean. Baths are great and the showers are energetic. Unfortunately, WiFi is outrageously expensive vs nearby competition and the nearby main road makes sleep a problematic affair.
The owners have obviously put much effort into the enterprise and we wish then well and suggest some marketing development and training.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darnoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.2 mi away
The Westport Motor Hotel
The Westport Motor Hotel
#9 of 12 in Westport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ascot Motor Lodge
Ascot Motor Lodge
#10 of 12 in Westport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 12 in Westport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westport Motels
Westport Motels
#8 of 12 in Westport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buller Court on Palmerston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge

Property: ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge
Address: 330 Palmerston Street, Westport 7825, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge offers quality accommodation for business and leisure travellers. Whatever the purpose of your visit, we would love to be your hosts and our aim is to make your stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. Let us share our local knowledge and help to make your visit to Westport one to remember. ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge is a large and spacious complex of 20 units, with ample off-street parking.We offer a range of units to suit all requirements. Our units are clean, warm, comfortable, well-appointed and tastefully decorated. They range in size from studios (for 1 - 3 guests) to 2 and 3 bedroom apartments with 2 bathrooms (for up to 6 guests). Some units have spa baths for your complete relaxation after a day of travelling, exploring, sight-seeing or work. All units have cooking facilities, hairdryers, electric blankets, an iron and ironing board, and are fully serviced daily.Secure wireless internet is available with an initial access code supplied free of charge. We offer a selection of 50+ Freeview and Sky TV channels. There is a children’s play area with swings for the little ones and a trampoline. Guest laundry facilities are available.The property is located close to the town centre and within easy walking distance of restaurants and supermarkets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Gateway Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing