We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again in Westport”

Westport Holiday Park & Motels
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Westport Holiday Park & Motels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Back in Westport for a family wedding. This is our second stay at the holiday park in an en-suite room with our two children. Room was a good size and the location of the mini golf was great for the kids to play at and it was only a short walk to the pools. Good kitchen with BBQ area that was undercover. Would recommend to other families.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millarsonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret M, Owner at Westport Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Hi
We are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us again. The mini-golf is always a huge hit with the children and having the playground close to your room means watching the children is nice and easy. We hope to see you all again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 63 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

Way overpriced! We booked for a group of 13 for a family funeral and were very dissappointed first 5 mins of being there I complained about a leeking toilet they told us to put towels downs and the next day it would get fixed we stayed for 3 days and it never got fixed there were leeking fridges rooms smelled like smoke and toilet even though they were smoke free, so we had to move auntie to 1 of the units at her cost! my partner and son have asthma and the mouldy mattresses from the 80's were the last straw it made them very sick! VERY DISGUSTED 20TH OF SEPTEMBER 2013 cleaning ladys were nice!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank Tricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret M, Owner at Westport Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Thank you for your comments.
Firstly the mattresses are only 3 months old - which is nearly brand new and on reading your comments - which I feel are very unwarranted - we have investigated thoroughly the room in question. On departure one mattresses was wet - which we have replaced - at our expense.
During your stay the toilet did have a very small drip and the evening you arrived putting a small
towel under it stopped any further problems and the following morning - we had trades-people here who did not have the parts and then ordered the replacement parts from Christchurch -which took 4 days to arrive.
At no other time during your stay did you come to the office - Which is something that we encourage all of our guests to do if they have any concerns or would like any information.
With the reason for your visit to Westport being very stressful - our staff tried to be as respectful as possible to your extended family - at all hours of the night and day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

As we arrived on a very cold and rainy winters day in September 2013 the whole park seemed very sleepy and abandoned. Amenities are updated some time ago, but still a bit worn down. Everywhere in the park it was VERY wet, due to heavy rain, so I guess this was inevitable, but I hope they plan to update the draining of the area at some point. The central heating system of the park is apparently run by a coal heated boiler. The stink was awful. TV & Internet room also smelled rather bad, and we did not let our son sit there to watch some tv. Childrens playground was flooded and also worn down. 3 stars for the potential to be a good spot, yet during these wet and cold winter months they should either close down or reduce prices significantly!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Anders J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret M, Owner at Westport Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Thank you for your comments.
Yes it sure did rain while you were here and over 3 days we received 220 mils of rain
-so yes there was surface water all over the whole township.
In this situation the storm-water system in Westport does not cope very well and is outside
of our control.
All of our powered sites are level and are hard based surfaces.
Our playground is a large area and has sand under the bark-chip but constant rain makes everything damp.
Since your visit we have made extensive upgrades and changes and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

This park is certainly a bush retreat although you are only 5 blocks from the town. We had a 2 bed motel unit. Lots of space BUT a very small cramped kitchen area. Putting that aside spacious unit and well located in a quiet street. Very friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyHoliday8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret M, Owner at Westport Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you all again. In our office we have plenty of local brochures and knowledge for you to experience our district.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Fit for purpose for one night. We walked to the town which took about 15 minutes. We had a nice site, the site wasn't busy but everyone was very pleasant. We read the negative reviews and were concerned but we had a very good experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenkyLangy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret M, Owner at Westport Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Hi i wish to advise you that if you do not mind sleeping in a double bed with a bunk above it, then you will not mind this accomodation...but remember to take your own water. I would have liked to have been asked on booking "did i mind such sleepoing arrangements".. as i would have booked elsewhere or they could have removed the top bunk. This was not sugested and i did not want to make a fuss... but it was very dissapointing..and you can not sit up in bed and have a cuppa tea...A it is not possible to sit up comfortably with a bunk right in your face. and B the water is shocking. It would have been nice to have been advised to bring some drinking water, or even if they had a 2 litre bottle ot bottled water in the fridge. Otherwise Accommodation was clean and tidy, and owners friendly. I have contacted the owners concerning this. cheers Karen

Room Tip: Ask to see the accomodation before paying/ staying. I normally do this but as i had trusted the int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret M, Owner at Westport Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Sadly we were advised a number of weeks after these people stayed that they had not enjoyed there room.
Normally we encourage our customers to come and talk to use if they have any concerns or would like any information on the area.
After reading this review, I made immediate direct contact with our customer.
We do hope to see them again and always encourage our customers to look at all of the rooms as we do have a variety of family units and rooms for all ages and yes some family rooms do have bunk beds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Within walking distance of the town. A messy campsite. Stayed just one night with a campervan on a powered site. No allocated space so drove around the site twice looking for somewhere decent to stop. Mainly residential caravans on the site and most of them were old and an eyesore, being in a dilapidated state. Not good to have to view from your window. Eventually chose a space quite a distance from the facilities and the site was very poorly lit at night necessitating a trek in the pitch dark. Large but old and not very well equipped washrooms and not heated. Quite cold December night, so uncomfortable. Avoided the kitchen as it did not look too appealing. The cabins looked dingy and not very well maintained . Staff not over-friendly. Would not visit again. Recommend to find somewhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wanderluster101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret M, Owner at Westport Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Sorry to see these people didn't enjoy there stay - but were unable to come to the office and discuss this with the owners.
We allow all of our guests to choose their own site when staying with camper-vans or caravans.
In December the one of the last of our semi-permanents with an older vehicle departed.
Having 65 powered sites and New Zealand having a large number of traveling vehicles means there will always be many different types of vehicles staying at any one time.
This holiday park has been in Westport for over 40 years and maintenance is a very high priority.
We always welcome all nationality's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
2.8 mi away
Carters Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
0.9 mi away
Westport Motels
Westport Motels
#8 of 12 in Westport
86 reviews
1 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Omau Settlers Lodge
Omau Settlers Lodge
#1 of 12 in Westport
222 reviews
2.6 mi away
Carters by the Sea Beachside Apartments
0.8 mi away
Buller Court on Palmerston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westport Holiday Park & Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westport Holiday Park & Motels

Address: 31 - 37 Domett St, Westport 7866, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Westport
Price Range: $56 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westport Holiday Park & Motels 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Westport Holiday Park & Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing