We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very helpful reception” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westport Holiday Park & Motels

Westport Holiday Park & Motels
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Westport Holiday Park & Motels
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very helpful reception”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Fit for purpose for one night. We walked to the town which took about 15 minutes. We had a nice site, the site wasn't busy but everyone was very pleasant. We read the negative reviews and were concerned but we had a very good experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenkyLangy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret M, Owner at Westport Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    19
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
22
19
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Hi i wish to advise you that if you do not mind sleeping in a double bed with a bunk above it, then you will not mind this accomodation...but remember to take your own water. I would have liked to have been asked on booking "did i mind such sleepoing arrangements".. as i would have booked elsewhere or they could have removed the top bunk. This was not sugested and i did not want to make a fuss... but it was very dissapointing..and you can not sit up in bed and have a cuppa tea...A it is not possible to sit up comfortably with a bunk right in your face. and B the water is shocking. It would have been nice to have been advised to bring some drinking water, or even if they had a 2 litre bottle ot bottled water in the fridge. Otherwise Accommodation was clean and tidy, and owners friendly. I have contacted the owners concerning this. cheers Karen

Room Tip: Ask to see the accomodation before paying/ staying. I normally do this but as i had trusted the int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret M, Owner at Westport Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Sadly we were advised a number of weeks after these people stayed that they had not enjoyed there room.
Normally we encourage our customers to come and talk to use if they have any concerns or would like any information on the area.
After reading this review, I made immediate direct contact with our customer.
We do hope to see them again and always encourage our customers to look at all of the rooms as we do have a variety of family units and rooms for all ages and yes some family rooms do have bunk beds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, Shropshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Within walking distance of the town. A messy campsite. Stayed just one night with a campervan on a powered site. No allocated space so drove around the site twice looking for somewhere decent to stop. Mainly residential caravans on the site and most of them were old and an eyesore, being in a dilapidated state. Not good to have to view from your window. Eventually chose a space quite a distance from the facilities and the site was very poorly lit at night necessitating a trek in the pitch dark. Large but old and not very well equipped washrooms and not heated. Quite cold December night, so uncomfortable. Avoided the kitchen as it did not look too appealing. The cabins looked dingy and not very well maintained . Staff not over-friendly. Would not visit again. Recommend to find somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderluster101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret M, Owner at Westport Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Sorry to see these people didn't enjoy there stay - but were unable to come to the office and discuss this with the owners.
We allow all of our guests to choose their own site when staying with camper-vans or caravans.
In December the one of the last of our semi-permanents with an older vehicle departed.
Having 65 powered sites and New Zealand having a large number of traveling vehicles means there will always be many different types of vehicles staying at any one time.
This holiday park has been in Westport for over 40 years and maintenance is a very high priority.
We always welcome all nationality's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
313 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We arrived late in the afternoon and it was raining and trying to find a powered site that was not on waterlogged grass or in a pool of water was difficult. The few sites that were sealed were also surrounded by puddles as was most of the park. Drainage is poor with some chalets having a pool of water at the entry. The 'chalets' looked very uninviting and basic and if you had booked one of these for a holiday you would be disappointed. Overall the park is rather poorly maintained. Bathrooms have had some form of 'upgrade' but still are not the best. Three out of 5 mens toilets had no toilet paper, the hairdryer in the ladies was not located near a mirror, light bulbs were not working, there was no heating which is needed in winter and the water pressure in the showers is poor. The kitchen looked better in terms of facilities but the room with pool table, computers and TV was very uninviting and had very old lounges you would not want to sit on. The laundry had a sign saying it is closed each day between 9.45 - 12pm. This is not practical at all. The clothes dryers look a though the lint has not been removed for weeks. The park has permanent tenants and everything looks as though it has been there since the 70's. The price was higher than most places we have stayed at in New Zealand and not good value for money. We will not be returning.

Room Tip: stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snookystraveltips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed at the westport Holiday Park on 8 and 9 June 2012. Our accommodation was two chalets (they call them villas), as we were travelling as a group to attend a wedding. There no soap in the shower, inadquate heating ie: heater broken in one chalet, no electric blankets, and copius condensation resulting in wet bedding each morning. This is unacceptable in mid winter in the South Island (we were travellers from the North Island). We simply could not recommend this Holiday Park to anyone, especially when we finally managed to wake the owner at 8am on Sunday morning to pay $175.00 each per chalet, we then had to wait until she had showered before we could leave.

Room Tip: Check Trip Advisor first before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thejos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret M, Owner at Westport Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Sorry to see that the cold winter blues had set in.
Our En-suite chalets are explained quite clearly what is in each room and we do encourage our guests to come to the office if they have any other queries while staying here.
Our Studio and 2 Bedroom Motels have electric blankets and are larger sized rooms with cooking facilities- and are only a slightly more expensive.
Thank you for staying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

The unit we had was self contained, clean, comfortable and close to shops, restaurants and all the sites. Great affordable accommodation for a family.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret M, Owner at Westport Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We hope to see you all again and get to enjoy the wonderful West Coast of the Southern Alps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.9 mi away
ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge
1.0 mi away
Westport Motels
Westport Motels
#8 of 12 in Westport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
2.6 mi away
Carters by the Sea Motel
Carters by the Sea Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Buller Court on Palmerston
0.9 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 12 in Westport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.6 mi away
Art Hotel
Art Hotel
#11 of 16 in Westport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westport Holiday Park & Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westport Holiday Park & Motels

Property: Westport Holiday Park & Motels
Address: 31 - 37 Domett St, Westport 7866, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Westport Holiday Park & Motels 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Westport Holiday Park & Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing