We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good”

Westport Holiday Park & Motels
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Westport Holiday Park & Motels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We arrived late in the afternoon and it was raining and trying to find a powered site that was not on waterlogged grass or in a pool of water was difficult. The few sites that were sealed were also surrounded by puddles as was most of the park. Drainage is poor with some chalets having a pool of water at the entry. The 'chalets' looked very uninviting and basic and if you had booked one of these for a holiday you would be disappointed. Overall the park is rather poorly maintained. Bathrooms have had some form of 'upgrade' but still are not the best. Three out of 5 mens toilets had no toilet paper, the hairdryer in the ladies was not located near a mirror, light bulbs were not working, there was no heating which is needed in winter and the water pressure in the showers is poor. The kitchen looked better in terms of facilities but the room with pool table, computers and TV was very uninviting and had very old lounges you would not want to sit on. The laundry had a sign saying it is closed each day between 9.45 - 12pm. This is not practical at all. The clothes dryers look a though the lint has not been removed for weeks. The park has permanent tenants and everything looks as though it has been there since the 70's. The price was higher than most places we have stayed at in New Zealand and not good value for money. We will not be returning.

Room Tip: stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snookystraveltips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 59 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed at the westport Holiday Park on 8 and 9 June 2012. Our accommodation was two chalets (they call them villas), as we were travelling as a group to attend a wedding. There no soap in the shower, inadquate heating ie: heater broken in one chalet, no electric blankets, and copius condensation resulting in wet bedding each morning. This is unacceptable in mid winter in the South Island (we were travellers from the North Island). We simply could not recommend this Holiday Park to anyone, especially when we finally managed to wake the owner at 8am on Sunday morning to pay $175.00 each per chalet, we then had to wait until she had showered before we could leave.

Room Tip: Check Trip Advisor first before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thejos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret M, Owner at Westport Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Sorry to see that the cold winter blues had set in.
Our En-suite chalets are explained quite clearly what is in each room and we do encourage our guests to come to the office if they have any other queries while staying here.
Our Studio and 2 Bedroom Motels have electric blankets and are larger sized rooms with cooking facilities- and are only a slightly more expensive.
Thank you for staying.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

The unit we had was self contained, clean, comfortable and close to shops, restaurants and all the sites. Great affordable accommodation for a family.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fredine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret M, Owner at Westport Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for your review.
We hope to see you all again and get to enjoy the wonderful West Coast of the Southern Alps.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2015
Thank flouruguay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iolaos75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
2.8 mi away
Carters Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
0.9 mi away
Westport Motels
Westport Motels
#8 of 12 in Westport
78 reviews
1 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Art Hotel
Art Hotel
#10 of 16 in Westport
17 reviews
6.6 mi away
Omau Settlers Lodge
Omau Settlers Lodge
#1 of 12 in Westport
189 reviews
2.6 mi away
Carters by the Sea Motel
Carters by the Sea Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westport Holiday Park & Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westport Holiday Park & Motels

Address: 31 - 37 Domett St, Westport 7866, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Westport
Price Range: $52 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westport Holiday Park & Motels 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Westport Holiday Park & Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing