We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bazil's Hostel & Surf School
Certificate of Excellence
Franz Josef, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Great hostel.”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

My family stayed at Bazil's for three nights. It was well suited to us with a nice comfortable family room with plenty of space. The surf lessons at Tauranga Bay were fun and the views were amazing, we hired bikes and went riding into some of the big beautiful valleys with huge waterfalls and the guys were kind enough to lend us some pans for gold panning which the kids loved. There is a large BBQ area and plenty of equipment for cooking. Well suited for our adventurous family, we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vaughan187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    62
    27
    6
    7
See reviews for
11
54
108
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

My family of six (4 kids) stayed in a family room. I must say that the family room with ensuite bathroom was perfect for us; there were two bunk beds up stairs in the loft, which slept all four kids, and we slept in the queen bed on the main level. Sheets were clean, and beds were soft. There is a kitchenette which includes a toaster, hot water pot, tea, coffee, sink and dishes so we didn't need to use the kitchen. My kids checked it out and said there were dishes piled in the sink. We used the laundry, which was $8 to wash/dry one load. Parking in adjacent lot is an upcharge of $15. The front desk was run by a rather greenhorn gal that didn't really know how to answer our questions about NZ. My younger brother and his girlfriend stayed in an adjacent room and were kept up until 4 am with partyers. The wifi was free but not very fast, and included only 1 hour blocks so we had to re-log on every hour. For families, the family room is good, but this hostel had more of a "young" party-crowd atmosphere while we were there. I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 6 and 2 were too close to the "lounge" area outside the kitchen where late-night part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GretchenJ176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bazils, Owner at Bazil's Hostel & Surf School, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Greetings Gretchen,
I am happy you have taken the time to review our Hostel here in Westport. Bazil's Is run by two local Guy's who have great knowledge of NZ, the local sights and activities. We have a surf School, Stand up paddleboarding, MountainBiking, Kayaking, Fishing Equipment, Free Wifi and thats just at our Hostel. Very sorry the FREE wifi was slow for you. Sometimes everyone wants to download all at once and things slow a bit. If you wanted to watch movies you could watch them in the TV room rather than you laptop.
Parking is FREE for guests at our hostel. Our washers cost $ 4 a wash and our gas dryers can do a lot of drying for $4.

I'm very sorry you choose critisize my very helpful friend Jodie who was very kind and watched reception while I was fixing a leaky tap for 20 minutes. If you wanted help or advice I have a wealth of knowledge on N.Z and local sights so next time come and ask me. I would love for you to come back and see what a Great Place we have here in Westport. Our guests here at Bazils are of all ages and parts of our wonderful world and we try our best to keep everybody happy. Sometimes people staying at hostels Enjoy their time in the towns they visit rather than sit on the WIFI all night and may venture out in town for a drink, so sorry that this night when they came home they chose to chat outside you door, sorry your a light sleeper. Ive traveled the World and one thing anybody travelling should carry are Ear plugs. Reception offers ear plugs for all guests. Though we have never had anybody ask for them.

Please come back and visit us again soon :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Couldn't have felt more at home! With the guys being very welcoming and nothing was to much trouble the facilities in the hostel are great and then u have the optional ones as well surfing mountain biking! Can't wait to go back I can see how people get stuck here!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bridge2901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Bazil's was one of my favourite NZ hostels, comfy, clean, cheap, really cute and funky with a great atmosphere you don't get at some of the bigger chain hostels, gorgeous kitchen, and best of all, FREE WIFI which is pretty much unheard of in NZ! Awesome staff, cute cats.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TopOfTheWorld2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2014

good vibe, and you can rent a surfboard or get lessons. good vibe! i didn't give it a full 5 stars but i really did like it. i liked that they grow vegetables out front and herbs you can pick to cook with in the atrium. cool that people can pitch a tent and camp and yet still use facilities like a warm shower.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Only meant to be there 2 nights, stayed 5! Favourite hostel in New Zealand yet. Helpful, warm, friendly, free WiFi, free surf lesson with 5 night stay, chilled out n quirky place. Loved it. Fire places, lots of showers, kitchen in the room, tv, videos, use of all facilities.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MG19IOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Originally booked to stay for 1 night as a stopover (Westport isn't the most exiting place) but ended up staying for 5.
Hostel has a very homely atmosphere and although its huge you can't feel it due to its layout.

Dorms beds are comfortable and the whole place gets a thorough clean every morning.
Kitchen is fully equipped and decks are great to hang out and meet people.
Owners are very inclusive and want to make sure people have a good time and suggest lots of activities but without being in your face.
Facilities include fully equipped kitchen, launderette, Wifi, free bikes, surfboard hire and surf lessons.

If you have been travelling for a long time and need a place to just stop and relax for a bit this is the ideal place.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SGFstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.7 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
347 reviews
0.6 mi away
Buller Court on Palmerston
0.2 mi away
TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Carters by the Sea Motel
Carters by the Sea Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
129 reviews
2.3 mi away
Carters Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Havenlee Homestay
Havenlee Homestay
#3 of 17 in Westport
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bazil's Hostel & Surf School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bazil's Hostel & Surf School

Property: Bazil's Hostel & Surf School
Address: 54 / 56 Russell St, Westport, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bazil's Hostel & Surf School 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bazils on West Coast of the South Island. West Coast NZ - Top 10 Regions in the world to visit for 2014 as rated by Lonely Planet Stay awhile and find out why. We offer a variety of facilities & accommodation to suit everyone. Standard dorm rooms, fully self-contained rooms, twins, doubles & family rooms, powered sites, tent sites. Shared facilities; bathrooms, 2 TV rooms, 2 lounges with lots of Movies, Herb garden, Hammocks, Free sports equipment, bikes, Surfboards for hire, FREE Wifi, Laundry, large outdoor covered BBQ area which is also suitable to store motorbikes and bicycles and lots of quiet garden areas to sit and relax with a nice book. Come take a look - you'll love it. Come try our NEW BUSH BATH, complete with bubbles for winter. :-) STAY, PLAY & SURF WITH US: Stay with us for 5 nights & Receive a FREE SURF LESSON with Board silly at Bazils Hostel Surfing NZ Accredited Surf School, board & wetsuit included. Discounted board & wet suit hire any day you want to practice, Free transport to the beaches. We also have some great Mountain bikes and can arrange drop off & pick up to some great Mountain bike tracks. FREE WiFi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Bazil's Hostel & Surf School reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing