We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice suprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bazil's Hostel & Surf School
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Nice suprise”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We did a detour to Karamea and stopped here for one night on the way back.

It is a very cosy little place, and has a great homely feeling from the moment you walk in. The receptionist was nice and we were given a nice room at the end of an outdoor separate building. The kitchen is lovely, it is similar to a home kitchen, a little small but the atmosphere is so relaxed you font mind waiting for facilities. They have a huge shower area and a tv room too which was nice as the weather was not great.

The price was good and overall we were happy with this little suprise.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    61
    27
    6
    7
See reviews for
11
53
108
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Bazils is exactly how I pictured it to be and didn't disappoint. Good location, nice kitchen, open courtyard, big social area, laundry, clean simple rooms. Overall a good vibe with nice, helpful staff. Stayed in a private double.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMJtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This hostel was good value with very friendly and helpful staff. We stayed in a private room, not the backpackers accommodation and it was more like a hotel with the additional bonus of having a fully equipped kitchen area and spacious bathroom. We ate our self-prepared meal at the picnic table outside our room

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Great hostel in a great part of NZ.
Steve and Ray looked after us well, went mountain biking, surfing, fishing, kayaking, great fun!
Would recommend staying here to anyone. West coasters are the friendliest people. Don't miss the brewery.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottyFerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This hostel was so cosy and stunning!
I was in the lounge, which is a big dorm with good beds and a tv-place, a fire place and lot of space. There were a lot of film which you could watch while yourself are sitting on cosy sofas.
And in the kitchen you can find spices, sugar, tee and coffee :)

Room Tip: The Lounge;) is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights in a double private room as a couple, lovely smiling faces when we arrived and very friendly owners, the bed was very comfy the best one we slept in in New Zealand :) we were on a tight budget so were limited on activities we could do, we really wanted to do some fishing but everywhere we had been in nz was super expensive, we were getting disheartened until we got here, the owner offered to lend us his own fishing rods :) we were so pleased and enjoyed a lovely afternoon fishing and had lots of laughs :) however he was a little disspointed when we returned empty handed ! Unfortunately we don't catch our fish to kill and eat them in the uk so when we caught them we put them all back! I have learnt that fisherman in nz do quite the opposite! Sorry bazils! We caught quite a few at least ten! So was a good afternoon for us :) also Fish that were caught by the owner were offered to others for a taste which was very kind :) We also had the oppourtunity to go out on the fishing boat with the owner to collect the crayfish he had caught! Which was a fun experience! We saw dolphin and seals! We had a great time at this hostel, it was clean, there was always hot water, the kitchen was clean and had a good selection of utensils,the garden was colourful and had some hammocks you could relax in :) we would definitely come back here and recommend it to others, thank you bazils for a lovely experience in westport :)

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sarahkatie1477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I really enjoyed staying at Bazils - the decor of the place is very chilled and beachy (hammocks/surfing paraphernalia/shells etc).

Rooms were tidy and the kitchen was great and the staff were very friendly - lent dvds/were informative about West Coast attractions).

Facilities were great - including the outside bath-house (so awesome!).

Went surfing with the hostel and that was amazing also!

I would highly recommend this place for anyone passing through the West Coast.

Room Tip: The front room is so lovely and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skymiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.7 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
346 reviews
0.2 mi away
TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport
2.1 mi away
Carters by the Sea Motel
Carters by the Sea Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Havenlee Homestay
Havenlee Homestay
#3 of 17 in Westport
100 reviews
2.3 mi away
Carters Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
0.6 mi away
Westport Spa Motel
Westport Spa Motel
#5 of 12 in Westport
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bazil's Hostel & Surf School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bazil's Hostel & Surf School

Property: Bazil's Hostel & Surf School
Address: 54 / 56 Russell St, Westport, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bazil's Hostel & Surf School 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bazils on West Coast of the South Island. West Coast NZ - Top 10 Regions in the world to visit for 2014 as rated by Lonely Planet Stay awhile and find out why. We offer a variety of facilities & accommodation to suit everyone. Standard dorm rooms, fully self-contained rooms, twins, doubles & family rooms, powered sites, tent sites. Shared facilities; bathrooms, 2 TV rooms, 2 lounges with lots of Movies, Herb garden, Hammocks, Free sports equipment, bikes, Surfboards for hire, FREE Wifi, Laundry, large outdoor covered BBQ area which is also suitable to store motorbikes and bicycles and lots of quiet garden areas to sit and relax with a nice book. Come take a look - you'll love it. Come try our NEW BUSH BATH, complete with bubbles for winter. :-) STAY, PLAY & SURF WITH US: Stay with us for 5 nights & Receive a FREE SURF LESSON with Board silly at Bazils Hostel Surfing NZ Accredited Surf School, board & wetsuit included. Discounted board & wet suit hire any day you want to practice, Free transport to the beaches. We also have some great Mountain bikes and can arrange drop off & pick up to some great Mountain bike tracks. FREE WiFi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Bazil's Hostel & Surf School reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing