We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hostels in NZ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bazil's Hostel & Surf School
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I have been to stay at this place and can honestly say its not just the best place to stay in Westport but one of the best places to stay in NZ. Friendly, small, intimate and just a great place to "hang out" for a few days (or weeks, this place sucks you in!!!) whilst travelling down the West Coast of New Zealand. The guys that run the place are epic and the place just feels like "home" especially when I woke in the morning to find the cat asleep on the end of the bed (too cute) Put this down as a must stay place during your stay in NZ

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayrep81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
There are newer reviews for Bazil's Hostel & Surf School
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 389 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012

I spent 1 month in this hostel and it was so crazy ! People was so nice, they love to laugh, they have humor and they are very welcoming. Premises (rooms, kitchen and showers) are clean ... You have 2 kitchen and a great living room with a fireplace ... you feel at home, the setting is ideal for staying a few days!
I had a great time with them !
I miss you

See you a next time

Cathy (frenchie)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathycat56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

There's nothing wrong with Bazil's, it's friendly, clean enough and it's in Westport. If that's what you want, that's what you'll get. The showers and toilets are mixed though, and there are a few older types looking for mine work which might creep out a single person. The free internet is only for 30 minutes.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quidity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bazils, Manager at Bazil's Hostel & Surf School, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thanks very much for taking the time to review our Hostel. We appreciate your feedback and try our best to improve every day. Yes we do have mixted showers but we also have private ensuite rooms which may have suited you better.
We welcome people of all ages from all around our planet and the "few older types" you refer to are lovely intelligent humans. If you had taken the time to talk to them you would certainly not have been "creeped out".
Thanks again for your feedback please come again.
Bazils Crew=]

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Where to start?? We had an easy check in and felt relaxed and at home right away. The room was warm and cosy, the beds were the most comfortable we had stayed in from starting our whole trip. Ray was always happy to help and take the time out to have a chat with you. We were offered an amazing dinner option and bacon egg sandwich for breakfast (it was delicious!!). You can guarantee to see me again in the near future guys! Thank you so much :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rayza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I got to experience Ray from Bazil's hospitality when I went there and i gota say it rocks. Great location and he was super helpful. I'll definately go back next time i'm in Westport. Legend! paul, northland nz

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loooosiegoooosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I have stayed her several times when I pass though westport and will always stay with these guys as they are very hospitable. They are owner/operators so they always want to make sure that everyone has the best stay as its in their direct interest. They do a really good bacon and egg sandwich for only a few extra dollars for breakfast which they claim is the best and damn it they are right!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night whilst travelling, the guy at reception couldnt do enough for us. Very warm and friendly atmosphere. More than ample facilities and 2 baths!!!!!!! As good as home! :) Cheers guys - Rach xx

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachelmifsud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
6.0 mi away
Omau Settlers Lodge
Omau Settlers Lodge
#1 of 12 in Westport
163 reviews
2.1 mi away
Carters by the Sea Motel
Carters by the Sea Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
130 reviews
0.6 mi away
Buller Court on Palmerston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport
0.7 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
348 reviews
2.3 mi away
Carters Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bazil's Hostel & Surf School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bazil's Hostel & Surf School

Address: 54 / 56 Russell St, Westport, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Westport
Price Range: $45 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bazil's Hostel & Surf School 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bazils on West Coast of the South Island. West Coast NZ - Top 10 Regions in the world to visit for 2014 as rated by Lonely Planet Stay awhile and find out why. We offer a variety of facilities & accommodation to suit everyone. Standard dorm rooms, fully self-contained rooms, twins, doubles & family rooms, powered sites, tent sites. Shared facilities; bathrooms, 2 TV rooms, 2 lounges with lots of Movies, Herb garden, Hammocks, Free sports equipment, bikes, Surfboards for hire, FREE Wifi, Laundry, large outdoor covered BBQ area which is also suitable to store motorbikes and bicycles and lots of quiet garden areas to sit and relax with a nice book. Come take a look - you'll love it. Come try our NEW BUSH BATH, complete with bubbles for winter. :-) STAY, PLAY & SURF WITH US: Stay with us for 5 nights & Receive a FREE SURF LESSON with Board silly at Bazils Hostel Surfing NZ Accredited Surf School, board & wetsuit included. Discounted board & wet suit hire any day you want to practice, Free transport to the beaches. We also have some great Mountain bikes and can arrange drop off & pick up to some great Mountain bike tracks. FREE WiFi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Bazil's Hostel & Surf School reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing