We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bazil's Hostel & Surf School
Certificate of Excellence
Mauchline, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

Had an awesome stay at Bazils. Great rooms at a good price. And where else can you randomly get asked to help prepare a seafood barbeque, where you get to try crayfish, deep fried shark and octopus? And my mate actually helped catch the fish!

Its also one of the places you can drink alcohol in which is pretty cool, its got a really laid back atmosphere as well. I'd recommend it to anyone doing a tour of New Zealand, well worth checking out.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    58
    23
    5
    7
See reviews for
11
51
97
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westport
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

i had a beautiful time staying at bazils, the bathrooms and kitchens,etc. are cleaner than the ones of the other hostels i stayed at and the owners are helptful and funny.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schmaddi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

Excellent hostel,great owners.These guys were great let us park our motorcycles undercover safe and secure,wish we had more time to stay another night.Cheers.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare
Level Contributor
356 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

Really nice hostel. Rooms are spacious and have heaters. Really nice TV room with lovely fire. Kitchen nice and big. Very clean hostel and staff very friendly.

Room Tip: Make sure that you choose a room that is close to the bathrooms/ showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voilareally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

Bazils was one of the best hostel's we've stayed in. The owners were instrumental in our having a amazing time in Westport. Would recommend to anyone heading to Westport who wanted a great time in a friendly environment

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Bazils. Both staff members - Ray and Steve were really friendly and have excellent knowledge on what there is to do in Westport and the surrounding area. The rooms were warm with comfortable beds and a very homely atmosphere made for a great stay in Westport. We will definitly stay here again when next in Westport.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarndra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

We arrived in Westport with no plan of where to stay and saw Bazil's sign. We pulled in and met Steve and Ray and enjoyed our time at Bazil's. The accommodation was good, breakfast was good, and we loved the grounds of the hostel. All in all a great experience. Ray gave us some awesome suggestions for what to see around Westport and they accommodated breakfast for our early morning departure.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelliott92306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.4 mi away
The Westport Motor Hotel
The Westport Motor Hotel
#9 of 12 in Westport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.6 mi away
ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge
0.2 mi away
TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
2.1 mi away
Carters by the Sea Motel
Carters by the Sea Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
2.3 mi away
Carters Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bazil's Hostel & Surf School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bazil's Hostel & Surf School

Property: Bazil's Hostel & Surf School
Address: 54 / 56 Russell St, Westport, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bazil's Hostel & Surf School 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bazils on West Coast of the South Island. West Coast NZ - Top 10 Regions in the world to visit for 2014 as rated by Lonely Planet Stay awhile and find out why. We offer a variety of facilities & accommodation to suit everyone. Standard dorm rooms, fully self-contained rooms, twins, doubles & family rooms, powered sites, tent sites. Shared facilities; bathrooms, 2 TV rooms, 2 lounges with lots of Movies, Herb garden, Hammocks, Free sports equipment, bikes, Surfboards for hire, FREE Wifi, Laundry, large outdoor covered BBQ area which is also suitable to store motorbikes and bicycles and lots of quiet garden areas to sit and relax with a nice book. Come take a look - you'll love it. Come try our NEW BUSH BATH, complete with bubbles for winter. :-) STAY, PLAY & SURF WITH US: Stay with us for 5 nights & Receive a FREE SURF LESSON with Board silly at Bazils Hostel Surfing NZ Accredited Surf School, board & wetsuit included. Discounted board & wet suit hire any day you want to practice, Free transport to the beaches. We also have some great Mountain bikes and can arrange drop off & pick up to some great Mountain bike tracks. FREE WiFi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bazil's Hostel & Surf School reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing