We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Sweet" smelling camp ground”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carters Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“"Sweet" smelling camp ground”
Reviewed January 19, 2011

A great place to pitch tent and enjoy the sweet smell of freshly laid cowpats from the neighbouring paddocks. Apart from that, the kitchen and shower/toilet facilities are good and the location is fine, not far from town, the beach (complete with black sand) and local seal colony. The staff are very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dazza058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    56
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
39
75
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
135 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2011

Spacious cabin with double bed and small sink area in front room and bunk bed and a single bed in back room. Toilets were close and looked new. Common kitchen was spacious with plenty of sinks, hot plates, microwaves and an oven. Across road from Carters Beach. Very quiet area. Short drive into Westport and to Cape Foulwind to see sea lions.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBorts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, NZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2010

No kitchen (under renovation)
No game room (machines off, pool table felt torn and no cues)
Wireless from room has 2 bars

Top 10 Travel Parks are generally a great way to stay when you are touring New Zealand. Low priced rooms with nice amenities (kitchen, game room, wireless, laundry room, etc.). We've stayed at Top 10 Kaikoura (great); Top 10 Blenheim (great) and Top 10 Picton (great). So when we traveled to the West Coast, of course we looked for the local Top 10. It is a great location at the top of the West Coast... a stone's throw from the beach and 5 minutes to town (Westport). Unfortunately, the place is either a construction zone (kitchen) or crippled (walk to shared kitchen to get full wireless service) or nonfunctioning (game room). Our advice? We like Top 10 because it makes traveling on a budget a breeze. But... unless things change A LOT, skip this one! Oh yeah, and did they mention ANY of this when we signed in for the night? Sorry guys, this does NOT get it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francis_and_Wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2010

We stayed in a 2 bedroom motel unit for 1 night in Jan 2010. The location was great - very quiet, walking distance to a nice beach, and a seal colony is a short drive away. Small shop/diary was also close by. Cooking facilities in the unit were great. Units were nicely decorated and relatively modern. Car park was covered. Other facilities (eg. internet, games room) were shared with others staying at the holiday park. Staff were friendly. Overall, very good value for money (this was the cheapest nights stay on our trip).

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markcanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.3 mi away
Carters by the Sea Motel
Carters by the Sea Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
128 reviews
3.8 mi away
Omau Settlers Lodge
Omau Settlers Lodge
#1 of 12 in Westport
152 reviews
2.8 mi away
Westport Holiday Park & Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
344 reviews
2.5 mi away
Westport Spa Motel
Westport Spa Motel
#5 of 12 in Westport
97 reviews
8.4 mi away
Birds Ferry Lodge
Birds Ferry Lodge
#1 of 17 in Westport
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carters Beach Top 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carters Beach Top 10 Holiday Park

Property: Carters Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
Address: 57 Marine Parade | Carters Beach, Westport 7825, New Zealand (Formerly Seal Colony Top 10 Holiday Park)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Carters Beach Top 10 Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carters Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park (formally Seal Colony TOP Holiday Park) offers a range of accommodation from Park Motels to Tent Sites. Our Park is located on the beach front at Carters Beach, Westport. This 4 Star plus Qualmark rated Holiday Park offers a high standard of accommodation and communal facilities. Carters Beach TOP 10 Holiday park is the ideal base to explore the West Coast's breathtaking scenery and the famous Fur Seal colony at Cape Foulwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Carters Beach Top 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing