We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely site but out of town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carters Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
752 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“lovely site but out of town”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

its a great campsite we had a powered site there was plenty of room, the facilities were good. the site is very near the sea, you can smell the fresh air so it can be a little windy, but it is a good distance from the town of Westport

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandr268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    56
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
39
75
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Top 10's are renowned for their reasonable pricing and locations all over NZ. I stayed here with a bunch of friends while road tripping around the South Island.

The location is along the beach and about 6 minutes drive out of town. It's njce and quiet, with a great takeaway shop/pub just up the road.

It gets quite cold at night (Nov) so make sure you take advantage of the extra blankets and electric blankets. The beds however are very uncomfortable - be prepared the next day!

The rooms are functional, but you will need to use the communal kitchen if you want to cook (or hit up the takeaway).

Great place to stay on your way somewhere or if you want a quiet getaway.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank droods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was our first time staying at a Top 10 Holiday Park. We could hear the ocean and smell the salt air in the self contained cabin unit which had bathroom and kitchen facilities, the linen, towels and soap were included. The standard was high and the accommodation clean and comfortable. We found it to be a quiet place to stay and only about 5 minutes drive south of Westport at Carters Beach. The dairy/bakery/pub was short walk and the food satisfying.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Pauline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulls
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

After many many years taking exvhange students on the South Island tour this placechas been our highlight of places where we have stayed. Sue and Bruce have been A1 hosts, nothing has been too much trouble, and who can ever forget the roast meal meal cooked by Bruce for 58.

I would high highly recommend the Seal Colony top 10 as one of the best in the South Island.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toeneey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

This was our first time staying at a Top 10 Holiday Park and based on this experience I would return in a heart-beat! We tented and since we were the only crazy ones doing so, (Canadians) we had the tenting area to ourselves. The kitchen and shower facilities were exceptionally clean and the staff was so friendly. You can hear the ocean from the park so falling asleep to the sound of the waves and sipping wine under a full moon made our stay absolutely lovely.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We tried to use Top 10 sites wherever we stayed in New Zealand. The standard was always high and the accommodation clean and comfortable. We used self contained cabin units which had bathrooms and limited kitchen facilities sufficient for a breakfast or a takeaway evening meal. Linen, towels and soap were always included. They were also easy to book ahead and would undertake to book local attractions for you. Although not close to the seal colony this site is on a long beach outside Westport with a pleasant pub serving meals within easy walking distance

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fhdCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

The seal colony was clean and tidy, well maintained. We camped for 2 nights, between Christmas and New Years. Although we had 1 full day of rain it was still a pleasurable stay. The kitchen is well equipped.
-Be really careful in the loo/shower blocks as the floors are EXCEPTIONALLY slippery!!!
-Dont forget your Sandfly spray

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSmithNZ2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.3 mi away
Carters by the Sea Motel
Carters by the Sea Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
128 reviews
3.8 mi away
Omau Settlers Lodge
Omau Settlers Lodge
#1 of 12 in Westport
152 reviews
2.8 mi away
Westport Holiday Park & Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
344 reviews
2.5 mi away
Westport Spa Motel
Westport Spa Motel
#5 of 12 in Westport
97 reviews
8.4 mi away
Birds Ferry Lodge
Birds Ferry Lodge
#1 of 17 in Westport
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carters Beach Top 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carters Beach Top 10 Holiday Park

Property: Carters Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
Address: 57 Marine Parade | Carters Beach, Westport 7825, New Zealand (Formerly Seal Colony Top 10 Holiday Park)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Carters Beach Top 10 Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carters Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park (formally Seal Colony TOP Holiday Park) offers a range of accommodation from Park Motels to Tent Sites. Our Park is located on the beach front at Carters Beach, Westport. This 4 Star plus Qualmark rated Holiday Park offers a high standard of accommodation and communal facilities. Carters Beach TOP 10 Holiday park is the ideal base to explore the West Coast's breathtaking scenery and the famous Fur Seal colony at Cape Foulwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Carters Beach Top 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing