We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cape Foulwind's hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carters Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Having stayed in Holiday Parks throughout South Island, our last stay before moving to North Island was the one at Westport. Very reasonable at NZ$100, this was the biggest room we had ever had (with a DVD player to boot). Very close to the seal colony, and on the way from Punakaiki enroute to Picton, Westport was a good stopover. The motel has a lovely ambiance and we met some great families there. Friendly and helpful staff made a good - though short - stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shahid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 149 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2011

We stayed for one night during our trip up the west coast and it was great. The Kitchen was very good , shower blocks good but best was the washer dryers ... Only down side that would have made it even better for a woman was a hairdryer fitted in shower rooms. Great stop over for visiting seal colony but lots of other things to do in close proximity.

Room Tip: All spots have good views over mountains behind you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C8201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

I travel on my own (business) and like it here - feel safe and secure. Rooms extrembly clean and so is the kitchen, showers/toilets, laundry. Warm units, clean sheets, comfortable beds. I enjoy walking down the beach (only 2 minutes to get there) and its only 5 minutes out of Westport. Only thing I'd like is a mirror in the room but thats me just being fussy!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ponymadaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

The motel park reception are really helpful and friendly and the chalets are really well self-contained. They could do with a bit of a clean outside, but inside they are really clean and nicely furnished. The location is great, with a short walk down the road to the (very quiet) town centre

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poopyscoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2011

This is a large comfortable camp site a few kms out of town. All facilities were clean and well maintained and pitches were large and well laid out. Check-in was easy and welcoming. Wifi is available and the signal is good. It is close to the beach and no doubt is popular with families during the peak season. Shops are some distance away although the airport (few flights) is not.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Our family of four paid $60 to pitch a tent for the night, and the tent sites were not fantastic. Otherwise it was nice. Good facilities, nice kitchen.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank miken32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

A great place to pitch tent and enjoy the sweet smell of freshly laid cowpats from the neighbouring paddocks. Apart from that, the kitchen and shower/toilet facilities are good and the location is fine, not far from town, the beach (complete with black sand) and local seal colony. The staff are very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dazza058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.3 mi away
Carters by the Sea Motel
Carters by the Sea Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
134 reviews
3.8 mi away
Omau Settlers Lodge
Omau Settlers Lodge
#1 of 12 in Westport
170 reviews
2.4 mi away
Buller Court on Palmerston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Bazil's Hostel & Surf School
2.4 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
350 reviews
2.5 mi away
Westport Spa Motel
Westport Spa Motel
#5 of 12 in Westport
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carters Beach Top 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carters Beach Top 10 Holiday Park

Address: 57 Marine Parade | Carters Beach, Westport 7825, New Zealand (Formerly Seal Colony Top 10 Holiday Park)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Westport
Price Range: $55 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Carters Beach Top 10 Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carters Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park (formally Seal Colony TOP Holiday Park) offers a range of accommodation from Park Motels to Tent Sites. Our Park is located on the beach front at Carters Beach, Westport. This 4 Star plus Qualmark rated Holiday Park offers a high standard of accommodation and communal facilities. Carters Beach TOP 10 Holiday park is the ideal base to explore the West Coast's breathtaking scenery and the famous Fur Seal colony at Cape Foulwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Carters Beach Top 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing