We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely stunning!”
Review of Archer House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Archer House
Ranked #7 of 17 Westport B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Absolutely stunning!”
Reviewed July 31, 2010

This is a beautiful home. I have stayed in a lot of B&B's around the world and this one stands out. It has high ceilings, gorgeous furnishings, warm and welcoming hosts and the wild back drop of the West Coast. You must give it a try and am sure you will want to return just as I do.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jomcalpine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
36
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Archer House is filled with character and interest plus with such a homely comfortable feel. Upon arriving, you never wish to leave............

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherinerosemary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2010

The house itself is stunning. The details of the architecture in the historic house are beautiful. The furnishings are so incredibly comfortable and luxurious. The house has so many nooks to sit - outside on the deck for a glass of wine, the main lounge after dinner, or the conservatory for breakfast and a book. The manager, Jackie is the most delicious baker and takes care of all your needs. She makes the stay that much more enjoyable; it's like you don't have a care in the world.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgemacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastal northeast Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2010

Archer House is situated within walking distance of Westport in a residential neighborhhood. The house is very old and beautifully appointed with many stained/leaded glass windows and antiques and set in a lovely garden. There is off-street parking available. Our bed room was very large and grand with a comfortable bed and modern bathroom.

Jackie and Charles Bruning, our hosts, were helpful with suggestions for how best to see the area. Charles is a local photographer and shared a great CD of pictures he had taken. Jackie helped us with our laundry, which we really appreciated. They hosted drinks and nibbles in the early evening before we went out to dinner. Breakfasts were continental, plus a cooked option. Charles set up a laptop for us for free internet access.

We recommend Archer House as a great place to stay when visiting the area.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbiehpvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.0 mi away
Havenlee Homestay
Havenlee Homestay
#3 of 17 in Westport
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Art Hotel
Art Hotel
#11 of 17 in Westport
16 reviews
6.2 mi away
Omau Settlers Lodge
Omau Settlers Lodge
#1 of 12 in Westport
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
344 reviews
2.2 mi away
Carters by the Sea Motel
Carters by the Sea Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
128 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westport Motels
Westport Motels
#8 of 12 in Westport
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Archer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archer House

Property: Archer House
Address: 75 Queen Street, Westport 7825, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Archer House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Archer House Offers, 3 large bedrooms, all with en suites.Sunny balconies and relax in a sheltered private conservatory or one of the two guest lounges.Category 1 New Zealand Heritage Home, with outstanding historic significance to the West Coast created by lead lighting masterpieces, fireplaces and antique furniture.Short stroll to all town amenities including restaurants. Or simply relax in a spacious idyllic setting to experience history and charm and be pampered with a sumptuous breakfast and with an afternoon or early evening sherry or wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Archer House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing