We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracous old house B@B”
Review of Archer House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Archer House
Ranked #6 of 16 Westport B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 28, 2014

If you would like to try something different this is a great experience. Staying in a fabulous old cat 1 listed building. the stained glass is the most amazing I have ever seen. The only things not old are the ensuites which are new and up to date. The hosts are very attentive and happy to help in any way and the breakfast is lovely with home made preserves.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 50 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2014

We were originally planing to stay one night only as part of our trip around the South Island. It's a charming historic house full of antiques from around the world. The rooms and bathrooms were excellent as was the continental breakfast that was provided. When we left after our stay the West Coast was battered by a severe storm which created havoc. Major roads were closed due to many tree fells. The town of Westport had no electricity. We were forced to go back to Westport. Despite no electricity, Jackie welcomed us back and treated us like family. This is what differentiates this place from others.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gkace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

This is an amazing house with a ton of character that has been turned into a comfortable bed and breakfast. Everywhere you look there are gorgeous carpets, woodwork, lighting, paintings, and stained glass. The gardens are just as beautiful. Hosts Jackie and Charles are really friendly and helpful, and happy to tell you about the house or help with travel plans.

There are 3 bedrooms, and each has an ensuite bathroom, although guests can use any of the parlors or sittings rooms in the house. The rooms are a good combination of antique charm in the bedroom, and modern/new in the bathroom. Our bathroom, which was for the Blue room, looked like it had been renovated yesterday, and had a huge shower, hair dryer, and heated towel rack, although not a lot of counter space. The bedroom was spacious with high ceilings, and the bed very comfortable. There is free wi-fi. My cell phone had trouble connecting to it from our room, but it worked great from the parlor, which must be closer to the router. There’s also a shared kitchen, and a really excellent continental breakfast in the morning. I loved the fruit salad in particular.

This is a real jewel.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank travelerfromsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

I found myself saying WOW a lot on our drive through the South Island in New Zealand because of the scenery but there is a WOW reserved for this B&B! I would go back just to stay at Archer House. It is stunning! The caretakers are so nice and professional, they really make you feel like the house is your home. Don't miss this one!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This is a B & B with a difference and definitely one for the slightly independent traveller. The house is owned by a fashion designer who uses it occasionally but in the meantime makes it available to travellers. The room we had was good, the bathroom excellent and in the evening we had a selection of rooms to relax in. We particularly liked the conservatory and TV room. Our hosts Jackie and Charles made us very welcome and arrived early to prepare breakfast. We enjoyed two beautiful days in Westport but I guess it could be a little bleak if the weather was unkind. One night we were the only guests and we thoroughly enjoyed the whole house to ourselves!! Charles is a very engaging conversationalist and we had some very interesting chats and learnt a lot about the history of Westport and the families that owned the house.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Robinhood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archerhouse, Manager at Archer House, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Hi Lindsay, we fully appreciate the time you have taken to write a review for Archer House and that you enjoyed your time with us. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in New Zealand and arrived home safely and have lots of happy memories. Hope you are not being affected to badly with the weather in England at present.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We found this place on line and ummed and ahhed about booking it. We are glade we chose it because it had the most amazing character to it. We had the whole place to our selves the fist night and had a good look around. What magical décor.
We had different home made muffins that Jackie produced each morning and she let us take some with us for the day. Yummy!
Charles was very informative about the area so make sure you ask him if you are in need of any info about what to do or where to go.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Arthur House is certainly different and very interesting. We stayed for one night before travelling over Lewis pass to meet up with friends. Jackie and Charles were excellent hosts providing a super breakfast and an insight to the history of the house. They manage the house on behalf of the owner and as we were the only guests staying, we had the house to ourselves! A strange feeling. A lovely house full of antiques and the owner's collections from his travels. Jackie had pre-arranged dinner for us in the one and only quality pub/restaurant just a brief stroll down the road. The garden was overflowing with flowers in bloom - lovely.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaybly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
2.2 mi away
Carters by the Sea Beachside Apartments
6.2 mi away
Omau Settlers Lodge
Omau Settlers Lodge
#1 of 12 in Westport
223 reviews
9.3 mi away
Birds Ferry Lodge
Birds Ferry Lodge
#2 of 16 in Westport
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Westport Motels
Westport Motels
#8 of 12 in Westport
86 reviews
0.5 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
357 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westport Motor Hotel
The Westport Motor Hotel
#11 of 12 in Westport
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Archer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archer House

Address: 75 Queen Street, Westport 7825, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range: $168 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Archer House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Archer House Offers, 3 large bedrooms, all with en suites.Sunny balconies and relax in a sheltered private conservatory or one of the two guest lounges.Category 1 New Zealand Heritage Home, with outstanding historic significance to the West Coast created by lead lighting masterpieces, fireplaces and antique furniture.Short stroll to all town amenities including restaurants. Or simply relax in a spacious idyllic setting to experience history and charm and be pampered with a sumptuous breakfast and with an afternoon or early evening sherry or wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Archer House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing